02/18 Tinka bouncing today? 241 AMPS, 274 +5, 268 +9, 248 PMPS, 248 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, we had a very active cycle with Tinka yesterday on 02/17 with her surfing low greens throughout the eve and us monitoring to 4am. I thought she would maybe drop below 50 to earn reduction but she just surfed above for the night. Great healing greens for her. Today we've seen yellow the whole day though. I'm assuming this is a bounce? Can I continue to maintain her dose?

We are kind of sticking with 2.5u at the moment as its said when nadirs are under 100 to maintian the dose at least 10 cycles. For Tinka its been 16 cycles, but we have had food and steroid changes taking place. We are planning to reduce steroid in the next week if skin flare calms and as we've also been seeing some great values even very low greens like like last nights 56 so I was thinking to maintain the dose a little longer. I am following TR method. But if I increase I'm concerned when we reduce steroid the dose will be far to high. We struggled with the 2.75 dose it was just proving very diffiuclt esp with steroid changes and the amount of monitoring. Is it ok to maintain her dose a while longer if we continue to see mostly blue and green? Today I'm hoping was just a temp big bounce from surfing greens the lagoon last night before. Also should I be testing for ketones when seeing a more yellows in a day? Thank you!

Here's my previous condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-lc-meal-65-4-5-65-5-56-5-5-61-6-70-7.173356/
 
Last edited:
It does look like a bounce, though the increase in steroid may also be influencing things. I think holding for now is a good idea, she got into the 50's last night, so not much margin for error, and has been clearing bounces pretty quickly recently(bounces lasting for 1-2 cycles).

If it's just a bounce I would perhaps expect her to clear it sooner rather than later, whereas if it's the steroids, then perhaps you would see her trend up, or linger for longer in the yellows.
ETA if it appears to be the latter then you may need to consider taking her up to counteract the effect of the steroids on her BG.

As for the Ketones, there's no harm in testing, though she hasn't been spending prolonged periods in high numbers recently, so the risk of developing ketones in an otherwise healthy kitty is less than when we see a kitty whose ss is a sea of pink and red.
 
I agree with Gill that it is a good idea to hold the dose, at least until you are sure whether these yellows are a bounce or a trend upwards. My money is on the former.

Sometimes you have modify the rules of TR a little to accommodate things like medications. Safety is always first.
 
It does look like a bounce, though the increase in steroid may also be influencing things. I think holding for now is a good idea, she got into the 50's last night, so not much margin for error, and has been clearing bounces pretty quickly recently(bounces lasting for 1-2 cycles).

If it's just a bounce I would perhaps expect her to clear it sooner rather than later, whereas if it's the steroids, then perhaps you would see her trend up, or linger for longer in the yellows.
ETA if it appears to be the latter then you may need to consider taking her up to counteract the effect of the steroids on her BG.

As for the Ketones, there's no harm in testing, though she hasn't been spending prolonged periods in high numbers recently, so the risk of developing ketones in an otherwise healthy kitty is less than when we see a kitty whose ss is a sea of pink and red.
Thank you so much Gill for this info it's really helpful:) I'll report back on her numbers tmrw (sunday). Hopefully she'll clear the bounce and the small steroid increase isn't affecting her BG. If it is we'll look to give a dose increase then. It's such a tricky one with the steroid. As really we prob need to up the steroid even a little more to get itch under complete control itch but then wean off. Which is a challenge to balance that with insulin dosing when aterpod is going up and down. But we'll just take one day at a time and I'll post back how she's doing tmrw and we can go from there. Thanks again for all your help, I really appreciate it :)
 
I agree with Gill that it is a good idea to hold the dose, at least until you are sure whether these yellows are a bounce or a trend upwards. My money is on the former.

Sometimes you have modify the rules of TR a little to accommodate things like medications. Safety is always first.
Thank you Tricia! I'm really glad you agree with Gill too as I really feel the same way too. That's good to know that modification to TR are allowed to accom onsite medications. It's a real balancing act with the steroid and insulin. Will create a new condo in the morning/aftern to share her new numbers. Hopefully we'll be back into blue and maybe even some green. Thanks again! Sleep well :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top