02/16 Sly AMPS 401/+2 287/+3 264

Deb and Sylvester

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-bounce-dosing-query.274199/

Good morning All,

I think I was able to grab the link from my Intro post above.

Just trying to wrap my head around this bounce, the reduction I mistakenly took on Tuesday night, and if I just ride this high flat wave out for the full 7 days? I haven't seen any yellow in several cycles, so I'm not sure if I just let Sly bounce back down and let the dose settle for that long.

5U did get us some good action initially, but we were still tweaking his diet, and everything coincided. Again another mistake on my part.
I got a little over confident, so I need some guidance to get through this.

I appreciate any and all input.

Thanks and have a great day!

Deb
 
Feeling a little better, just got a 287 at +2

Trying to update the SS, but it needs to refresh, I think. (Sometimes it says view only..?)

Deb
 
Last edited:
Hi Deb, welcome to the LBL forum! :-) Sorry you haven't gotten any responses here yet.

I might have missed this when I read through your intro post, but is there a reason you are feeding DM dry? DM canned is low carb at around 6% but DM is dry is high carb. Cutting that out could make a big difference to his numbers.
 
Hi there Bhooma, nice to meet your acquaintance

Yes, I know it would, it's been a difficult transition to the Young Again, as I'm also trying to regulate Sly's bowels. He is only getting a very small portion of DM, I was able to cut it back to less than 1/8 cup.

My goal is get him to enjoy wet food more, he's simply never been a fan, and in 10 years I have tried all brands, flavors, textures.

Everyday when he's looking for a snack (he definitely has a good appetite) I open a small pouch, or packet, he licks less than half and goes to his dry food dish..lol

Deb
 
I know what you are dealing with! My Bandit is a kibble addict and refuses to even look at wet food. I have tried several times and given up on transitioning her to wet food.

You can actually take Sly up to 5.25U from tomorrow. I know you reduced his dose for 1 cycle on 2/14 but you've been at this dose long enough to know what it is doing for him.
 
Oh ok,

Then I suppose I have a follow up question regarding the increase, because I presumed I would be holding this dose until early next week.

I have to go out to my folks on Sunday, so I'm nervous to increase because I won't be here during the time he usually hits nadir.

Would it be acceptable to wait to increase his dose on Sunday night or Monday morning?

I can start a new thread today, but his AMPS was 326,

Thank you!

Deb
 
How long will you be gone and does he eat from an autofeeder when you're not around? Not sure you want to wait another 3 days to increase.
 
I will only be gone for about 3 or 4 hours.

No auto feeder ( I'm the auto feeder.. lol), but I can leave some extra Young Again out for him. I was going to do that anyway, because since his DX, I can't free feed my other 2 indoor cats, because he loves to eat, always has,(constipation and diminished appetite were the indicators that made me take him to the vet initially). So I wanted to make sure they had something too, if they got hungry. Plus I can test up until I leave at 1pm, and then normally he sleeps the early afternoon until they get a wet feeding at 4:30-5, so I wouldn't be home much later than that anyway. I feed him most of his second portion of dry when I shoot at 7pm, so there's no issue of him not getting enough food into him at insulin time.

I'd rather wait for tomorrow morning to increase, as I can test more frequently in the a.m. cycle, to get a view on what the 5.25U might take him down to.

I did give him a fat 5U this morning, as I saw your post about the increase, when I was feeding. Just a little more than the dead on 5 units.
Deb
 
Back
Top