02/16 Rupert PMPS 156, +3/126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63736
todays recap: AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175, +11/153


glad he's down from the 500's! and I guess it's better he come down slowly. Gave 2 u this morning as per usual.
lessons being learnt here...hoping we can get him back to those nice greens soon, but maybe not quite so suddenly so his body doesn't freak out!

went out for his usual morning pee, came back quickly after, it's pouring with rain out there!
had his usual steak treats for his shot, ate about three spoons of cowboy cookout laced with a bit of snappy tom (he'll sell his soul for that stuff and luckily it's pretty much pure protein)...

he was up at 4am this morning hurtling about the living room and the stairs batting a tin foil ball and various other 'mice'. Despite the violent swings in his sugar levels, he seems in fine form and very happy.

Oliver (the new stray) slept on the chair in our bedroom (Sophie and Bumley sleep on the bed).... and Oliver SNORES! sigh, guess it's a sign that he feels truly safe if he can go to sleep so soundly after only being here a month! course *I* am tired out!
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364

Great WCR! Easy does it Rupert, the bean wants to see a nice slow slide back down today. Hmmm, a snoring kitty can't be as bad as my snoring DH! :lol: :lol:

"…... a bit of snappy tom" what is that food? I've never heard of it.
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364

what is WCR? sorry, just getting used to jargon

Snappy Tom is a food that is made in Australia, apparently. We get it here in Canada too.... is ALL fish (so he doesn't get a lot of it all the time!). mostly sardines, herring, salmon, cod mushed up together. you can actually see the fish 'parts' and they love it. it comes in pouches and also , more recently, tins. the tinned stuff is ridiculous! seriously, opened one the other day and figured that our cats are eating GOURMET! seriously, it had crab, calamari and scallops in it! we had Mac&Cheese for dinner of course! I did all the calculations on the carb levels on the stuff and it comes in at less than 3%, in some cases less than 1% so I don't feel too bad using it as a 'top dressing' on some of the other stuff. Sometimes Rupie turns his nose up at the 'Cowboy Cookout' from Merrick.

just tested Rupie, +2 and at 239 so I guess that's a 'nice' slide downwards?
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235

No kidding that's good stuff!! My cats don't particularly like fish (except for my semi-kitten who will eat anything as long as it's on my plate)

WCR = "whole cat report" because Rupert is more than just his test numbers.

That's actually a big drop by +2. If you look at the "ideal" curve in the New to the Group sticky, you'll note that the +1 is expected to be higher than your pre-shot due to the influence of food. The +2 is expected to be about the same as your pre-shot. When either the +1 or +2 are appreciably lower than your pre-shot it tells you that you are likely to be seeing an active cycle. If you look at Gabby's numbers from today, you'll see a similar, although a bit more dramatic, pattern.
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175

Nice 175 at lunchtime today. hope he doesn't rocket back up before next shot. He certainly seems to be feeling pretty darned good!
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175

that's an awesome number for Rupert! hopefully slow enough of a drop that he won't over-react and bounce up again.

ah, the joys of sleeping with cats in one's bedroom! :lol: a mixed blessing.

when you said it was pouring rain out - i glanced at your profile because i immediately thought "she must live in the northwest!" it's been raining here in western oregon all day. did you tell us you are in vancouver BC, maybe? am i remembering right?
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175

Vancouver ISLAND, BC.. you remembered almost right! yes. pouring here, we've had a not bad winter actually, but the grey/damp/fog/dismal seepage really gets to you sometimes! rather depressing, doubly so at the moment because both hubby and I are still heartbroken from last months' loss of his 'heart' horse to a tragic and very sudden colic attack. So the grey weepy weather doesn't help much!
Rupert's issues are lending a distraction which helps, and it's amazing how much more 'up' we feel when his numbers get closer to 'nice'. All a bit overwhelming at the moment really. Great to have the support of this board, I've become addicted already! Of course I'm hoping I won't have to stay here long (no offence!!!)
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175

no worries - we all get that! we call this The Best Place You Never Wanted to Be!!! that pretty much says it all.

we honeymooned on vancouver island - just a couple of years ago! hahahaha. it's so beautiful - one of my favorite places to visit. we camped at Little Qualicum Falls - i think that was the name. just a wonderful spot. once i stayed at The Empress for a conference - that was special too. the gray days are the cost of all of that beauty. we live just south of portland and share most of your weather.
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175, +11/153

+11 and 153......nice.....

thinking I will give him his regular shot at 6:30 and monitor closely. last time we skipped when he was a lot lower than this and he went thru the roof very fast....

right decsion???
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175, +11/153

Hi Pip:

Glad to see Rupert is coming back down. It looks to me like he might be clearing a bounce so if his PMPS is not higher than his +11, then you would be shooting a dropping number. If it's high like this, it's ok but you need to
be extra vigilant and get a +1 and +2. If numbers are dropping going into the PS, even with food on board, they could continue to drop afterwards.

Glad you and Pip are with us and hope you will learn a lot here. Sienne makes a great point and I try to pass on to all new members....get a +2 as many cycles as you can. It can tell you whether the cycle will potentially be active. Like she said, if it's not close to the PS, be vigilant.

LOVE LOVE LOVE BC!!! We spent two weeks there a couple years ago...also stayed at the Empress in Victoria...what a great vacation it was. We meant to go there for our honeymoon but didn't make it until 25 years later but it
was worth the wait.

ETA: thanks for the profile....if I didn't already thank you :roll: :roll: :-D Great profile....what a beautiful fur family. Sending many condolences about Small Gee......I can understand your pain and sorrow. How great to have a super DH...he sounds like mine :-D We both grew up on horses....quarter horses for me; thoroughbreds for Mike as he is from Kentucky and racehorse country. I've spent nights walking a colicky horse....what a horrible condition. Sending you both hugs.
 
Re: 02/16 Rupert AMPS 364, +2/235,+6/175, +11/153

he's gone up to 156... not a massive jump.. but still on the rise and he hasn't had a lot to eat yet , ...going to go with 1.75u and fingers crossed. I'm not too worried given his previous numbers and how fast he jumped when we did skip a shot at a much much lower number..... I have to go out for a riding lesson but I"ll be back just after 8pm. Stu will keep an eye on him in the meantime. Had a really hard time getting this second earpoke within half an hour.. he was NOT happy and his ears are looking pretty sad. poor fella. hopefully I can get one when I get home.
 
thought about doing a 1.75u shot at 6:00, but since I don't yet have 1/2 unit syringes my best 'guess' was more like 1.5. Probably just as well. He's doing really nicely, happy. just tested at +3 and he's at a very nice 126, so he has some room to go down a smidge although I've found his nadir is usually around the +4 mark... have given him a 1/3 of a can of Merrick Ocean Breeze which he ate happily, but not ravenously. Now sitting on the back of the couch having a nice clean. Hoping he doesn't have a huge bounce tomorrow. He's done a huge slide downwards today but seems to be holding.........fingers crossed!
 
hi pip! great numbers for rupert today, that's for sure. we like seeing numbers in the blue 100's! could you please have rupert say a word to punkin for me about that!? :lol:

just a little fyi about how lantus works - whenever you change the dose or the time of the shot by more than about 15ish minutes, some cats will give "wonky" numbers. lantus likes consistency - it is a long-lasting insulin that will really flatten out numbers over time. i think of it as sort of "timed-release", although that's not exactly how it works. when a dose gets changed it can take a while for numbers to settle down again.

in general, for best results, we would encourage you to hold the dose the same unless rupert goes under 50. lantus dosing is based almost entirely upon the low point (nadir) of each cycle rather than upon the preshot number. the preshot number tells us if it's safe to give insulin - the low point tells us if the dose needs to be increased or decreased.

if i were you, i'd return to the 2.0 dose in the morning and stay with it unless rupert goes under 50. the numbers should stabilize so that you're not seeing numbers from 59-534 within 24 hrs. no promises, because cats like to keep us on our toes, but it will definitely help. the bouncing will clear and then we can see what rupert needs. if you feel more comfortable holding the 1.5u from tonight, that's fine too. you can always increase back up if it turns out to not be enough. the important thing is to hold the dose steady for at least 3 days, same dose am & pm, unless rupert goes under 50. you'll get the best BG control for rupert that way.

no worries about all of it - it's all a learning experience, an "opportunity to gather data" as people here like to say! you'll find people will try to give you a Lantus 101 as the information seems needed. there's so much to learn that we try not to overwhelm new users and just give info as it's appropriate.

now i have to go read your profile! sounds interesting! have a great evening, pip! scritches to rupert cat_pet_icon
 
thanx Julie! yes, I wondered about the dosing.. definitely will use 2.0 again tomorrow. I want to try and find what he needs regularly. Right now we can't go away at all because I can't expect the cat sitter to do BG tests all the time. She's great for giving shots etc. so if I can find a comfortable number for him that would be good. We don't have to go away anytime soon, but I have a few big horse shows later this year that will involve 3 to 8 days away from home! Course, if Rupie isn't regulated by then I'll have to find a way to either go by myself and leave Hubby at home, or we'll just not go at all! This year is very up in the air now. Specially since hubby's horse passed away and we had huge plans for major shows for him this year. Going with just my horse really isn't as much fun so maybe staying home to take care of Rupie is a good 'excuse' to slow the horse showing thing down a bit (and save some money!)

see you in the morning!!!
 
what a wonderful profile! lovely pictures, too - i have a candlestick that has the same little mouse reading a book! i'm so sorry about Small Gee . . . that's a terrible loss. sienne has a link to a lovely reflection about those of us who choose to love animals, knowing they will never live as long as we do.

so glad you and rupert are here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top