Mumf is stuck within a range of 250-350 - give or take 10-15% for meter variance. And he has been in this range for over a month now. What you are seeing is glucose toxicity and the longer he is allowed to stay like that, the more insulin it will take to break through into good numbers.
I am really wondering what your vet knows about feline diabetes. Considering that he has allowed Mumf to stay over the renal threshold for over a month.
With TR, you increase every 3 days till you start seeing nadirs below 200. If nadirs are over 300, the increase is by 0.5U, otherwise increases are in multiple of 0.25U.
right, that’s what I thought. Thank you.
My vet really just looks at the data I send her and then she’ll give me some feedback but she’s content with numbers between 200 and 300. sometimes she doesn’t call or email back at all.
And after what she told me yesterday about her happiest patients being those that don’t even home monitor and just give the same dose every day, I really don’t know if I need her for anything other than emergencies.
Unfortunately, tomorrow will probably be the last dose increase for this week because I just found out I have to attend two 8 hour seminars on the weekend (I was on the waitlist forever and had forgotten about it).