02/16 Gizmo PMPS=310, +1=307, +3=167, +4=142, +5=130, +7.5=211

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
02/15 +11 307

AMPS 333

I guess we are still on for this dental today - Dr. P was supposed to call me yesterday/last night to discuss the bloodwork, urinalysis and panc test - she e-mailed about 6p and said she was still waiting on the panc test. I did not get a phone call or e-mail so I don't know if she was expecting yesterday or she meant she wasn't going to have it until today. Not sure if the panc test shows a flare that we will still go ahead (I hope so).

I sure was hard shooting a reduced shot with the AMPS.

I am already sick to my stomach and my nerves are on fire.

Gizmo had a nice poo deposit beside the LB this morning, So all P's in place (except for play but it is early). He is being all lovey dovey this morning.

Going to make a note to take with me when I drop him off with food/shoot schedule along with the questions I have.

Questions:
1. Heart - is it ok and strong enough? Murmur concern?
2. Antibiotice for after? Prefer Clavamox if necessary
3. Pain meds for after? Prefer Buprenorphine
4. Will there be an x-ray before procedure?

Anything else?

Please pray for Gizmo (and me). This is really hard for me. I really want to get this done so double edge sword.
 
Did you have to fast him this morning? That is always tough with FD kitties especially.

Keep in mind that sometimes anesthetic makes BG drop, so you might end up not shooting tonight, especially if he's not eating. I always had baby food on hand for the night after dentals. Harvey wanted to eat, even though the vet said not to feed him.

Sending good dental and vetty vines.
 
Sending lots of vines to you and Gizmo for his procedure today. I understand the nerves on fire ; I am always the same way.

Your list of questions are good ones. I would also make sure that they know that you do NOT want then to give Metacam or the Convenia injection. You might have all ready told them that and it might all ready be recorded in his chart but I always reiterate it anytime Bubba is having anything done.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would also make sure that they know that you do NOT want then to give Metacam or the Convenia injection.
Thank you! I added it to the email and the note I am leaving when I drop him off.

I gave him his +2.5 snack at +2 right after I tested - so he can have it settled in his tummy before we jump on the road.

He just ran up stairs and used the litter box! YAY.

Going to go get the car warming up (cold here this morning) and try and get his towel in the carrier without "alerting" him - he is already acting jumpy.
 
Thank you! I added it to the email and the note I am leaving when I drop him off.

I gave him his +2.5 snack at +2 right after I tested - so he can have it settled in his tummy before we jump on the road.

He just ran up stairs and used the litter box! YAY.

Going to go get the car warming up (cold here this morning) and try and get his towel in the carrier without "alerting" him - he is already acting jumpy.
Hugs!!
 
Sending successful ,easy dental prayers to Gizmo:bighug::bighug: and peace of mind for you. So totally feel for your nerves over this...I am currently debating getting Elmo in for a dental so I get where u are coming from emotionally :bighug:....praying peace and calm for your heart :bighug:
 
Just seeing this.... stopping to lift up some prayers right now for easy dental and smooth recovery for Gizmo and peaceful, comforting vines for you. I know that feeling where every nerve in your body is on edge. I get the same way. Hoping it will be over soon and Gizmo will be home with you with nice sparkly toofies! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:Yippeeeee and yahooooo:):):):).....been thinking and sending prayers all day !!!! Thanks for update, Lizzie......so, so glad for Gizmo and you :kiss::bighug::cat:
 
No x-rays were taken. They said no need. They did give me before and after pictures.

Went ahead and shot full dose (1.25U). Should I wait a full 6-8 cycles to consider a dosecease (because of the reduced shot this morning)?

Another bonus is we shot only 1 hour late tonight so I will be able to get back to schedule in just a couple of days!

Bloodwork all looks good. I haven't added it to the labs tab yet but did upload it. Tagging @Marje and Gracie :bighug::) to have a look see.

Link to BW: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1cD6gcp78I7cGc5UjN3ZFhLd2M

Pancreatitis test is a little elevated and could account for the flat cycles.

Thank you all so much for your support, vines and prayer. The day was busy at work so that help.
 
I don't have any answers. But yay for the experience being over. :cat::cat:
The bottom fell out from under me around 3p. I am just exhausted. Been dealing with something sinus for two days and taking Sudafed and that doesn't help.

I couldn't be more happy with this whole experience. Thrilled he didn't require any extractions. Tech said all the plaque easily flaked off in whole pieces. No antibiotics. No pain meds. Shot full dose. Gizmo is famished but going slow with the food tonight.

I am off tomorrow (vacation day) and Monday is a holiday so really hoping I can get rest and get some stuff done around the house. I have just been really busy the past week.

Need to go check Osha's condo. I haven't had much time to keep up with everyone.:bighug:
 
I’m glad it all went well! Be sure you watch him closely tonight because we’ve had many cases where the BG dropped fast the night after anesthesia, especially if your vet did not use one of the newer induction drugs that doesn’t seem to result in that effect.

I looked at the labs. His creatinine and BUN are nice and stable. His P came down (YAY! Nice work!!). His potassium also came downed I really think you need to talk to your vet about supplementing potassium. Here’s why: research indicates that whatever the serum potassium level is in a cat with CKD, the cellular potassium is even less and in the cells is where they need the potassium. So it’s often smart to start supplementing potassium when the serum level drops below 4. And his has gone from 3.7 to 3.5. His Ca is nice and stable. I can’t tell on his HCT since they haven’t run once since July but his HCT looks pretty darn good for a CKD cat. Lymphocytes indicate a bit of inflammation and perhaps that came from maybe some gingivitis? Hard to say. I would agree the specfPL indicates maybe some pancreatitis. I’d watch it especially if he doesn’t have any symptoms right now.

He was on the 1.25u almost a week (one day shy) and he had a couple nadirs in the 90-149 range but I still think you have room to increase the dose as long as you can monitor. What I might do, if he were my cat, is run a curve before you make a decision.

Hope you can get some rest and he doesn’t do anything crazy tonight!
 
@Marje and Gracie :bighug:

Thank you so much. I agree on the potassium. It was really my only concern. I will call tomorrow and see if Dr. P is in. If not I will send an email. I do have the potassium powder so it is just getting her input in dosage.

I will get a curve tomorrow but it won't be a good representation due to the 1/2 dose this morning. Getting ready to get a +3.
 
+4=142

Question - due to the anesthesia - will this be like a normal active cycle where he will reach his nadir and come back up or will he continue to drop though out the night?
 
+4=142

Question - due to the anesthesia - will this be like a normal active cycle where he will reach his nadir and come back up or will he continue to drop though out the night?
We've seen in some cats who have had anesthesia that the low numbers can go for quite some time. See Maggie's SS on 5/24/11. This was unlike Maggie, after a skipped shot in the morning, and just 1 drop at night which was a reduced dose. This is just one example; I'm blanking out on some of the others but it's not uncommon especially if propoful or similar induction drugs are used. Alflaxalone seems to not have this effect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top