02/16 Chaos PMPS 287, +3.5 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36834

last night: PMPS 310, +4 231

Good morning, everyone! Grab your ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) !

Chaos was waiting outside the bedroom door as usual, but I snuck two sessions with the snooze button in there and he didn't seem to mind. Patient kitty! Everything went as usual, happy, happy kitty with his breakfast... I still don't see much action here... he goes down around 60-90 points in the first three hours after a shot, it seems, but doesn't go down much after that. If he doesn't budge today, this will be the third day of higher numbers after that glorious green we saw on Sunday. I wonder if he's telling me he needs more juice? I seriously hope it's not an infection of some kind because there is no money for the vetty bean right now. I have no idea how we are managing as it is; a tax refund is not forthcoming and unemployment payments are a joke. How they expect a person to get by on half their former income is beyond me. :roll:

My meds increase yesterday went fine- no fireworks, no ZombieLand, just intermittent bouts of what I call the "brain fizzies". It's a strange sensation and it's only happened when I first started the drug and yesterday when I increased it. I guess that's what neurotransmitters adjusting feels like...I learn something new every day!
 
Re: 02/15 Chaos AMPS 273

Good morning guys ... Nice yellow chaos .. but let's show your beanz some green before you get any more of that extra juice that's being threatened ... I'm glad your meds didn't effect you to much and I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 02/15 Chaos AMPS 273

Yellows are much better than pinks...and hopefully, that means he is coming down again.
Good luck with the numbers today and with your meds...sending hugs... :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/15 Chaos AMPS 273

I think your brain fizzies made you lose a day :lol: (psst its the 16th ;-) )

Chaos is such a sweet boy letting you sleep extra this morning. I had Chatty Kathy drinking and telling sad stories with Maverick, and lots and lots of wet cold nose against the face last night. He's sleeping contently right now with his eyes half open - FREAKY.

Hope your meds start working for you quickly.
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273

ack! :oops: Thank you, Karrie! I guess I was in "groundhog day" mode. Subject line corrected! Meanwhile, Chaos is spazzing aimlessly around the house, making me giggle too much to eat my Cheerios. I guess he's feeling pretty good today!

Cold nose against the face... what a way to wake up!
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273

I've heard about brain zaps but thankfully have never experienced them. I think you only have to hold a dose for a few cycles don't you? What does the protocol say for increases?
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273

Yeah, I've heard about brain zaps before from other people and that's probably what I had. They're finished now, no biggie... but it is awfully strange while it's happening. Maybe it was worth it; we'll see how I am feeling about my incision scars today. Normally they itch or burn so much I want to rip them out of my skin at least once a day, so an improvement would be welcome.

The protocol says to hold the dose for 3 days if nadirs are >200 and <300, so I could increase Chaos's dose tomorrow if he doesn't come down. I had one blue reading in there, so maybe I should hold for 4 or 5 days ("Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose"). My big concern is that he may still be clearing a bounce, since those can last for 72 hours, I'm told. If it's a bounce and I increase too soon, I could wind up giving him too much juice, right?
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273

One point I think you missed -- that 48 on 2/13 would have earned Chaos a decrease. He just crossed the threshold on Valentine's Day for being over 1 year FD. I wouldn't decrease at this point, though.

I don't think that Chaos really bounced. I think you're fine if you want to go ahead an increase his dose. Generally, with holding the doses for longer than 3 days, you want the nadir to be primarily blue or green. Right now, Chaos' nadir looks to be more yellow than blue/green.
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273

Good morning to you both and Chaos your Mama Bean is thinking dosecrease so lets show her the blues or its more juice your way :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201

Good point, Sienne. That one low day should have earned a decrease, but what do you call it when he shot straight back up into the pinks, if it's not a bounce? The PMPS that night was so high that I would not have thought to decrease at that point. At any rate, we're going to go with 1.75u tonight and see what happens. Unless, that is, he decides to come down more this cycle, but I don't think that's likely. His nadir seems to be early most days.
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201

When you get a # that could earn a decrease, a bounce up is not unusual. You have the option of shooting your "old" dose through the bounce (one cycle only) and then starting the reduced dose. It rationale is that by shooting the old dose with a bounce, you're helping the numbers to come down. However, if you go for a few days without having reduced, you really can't take the reduction after that much of a delay. Also, the Tilly Protocol specifies that you can wait for 3 drops below 50 for a reduction or one drop below 40. As a longer term diabetic, this is the process you may want to consider. For our kitties that are past the one year point, we try to make them really work for reductions.
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201

Sienne and Gabby said:
Also, the Tilly Protocol specifies that you can wait for 3 drops below 50 for a reduction or one drop below 40. As a longer term diabetic, this is the process you may want to consider. For our kitties that are past the one year point, we try to make them really work for reductions.


I agree with that, as I am more comfortable waiting to see multiple low numbers before reducing. A little consistency before decreasing, you know? Chaos hasn't shown me a consistent run of good numbers yet. All the greens and blues lately are separated by yellow cycles.
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201

Looks like Chaos is trying to come down for you. He is almost blue...come on Chaos...make your bean happy!

I hope you guys have a great day today!
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201, +6 145, +9 238

Well, just when I'm thinking dosecrease, he goes lower than he has been in a few days. 145 at +6, and then waaaay back up to 238 at +9.

I'm thinking it should be OK to go ahead with the increase to 1.75, considering he spent very little time on the blue floor today. What do you guys think?
 
Re: 02/16 Chaos AMPS 273, +3 201, +6 145, +9 238

Done. He got 1.75u tonight and at +3.5 I just got a 117. :mrgreen: So things are happening. Good boy, Chaos!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top