02/15 Haley PMPS 99, +2 112

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

Good morning! Nice start to the day haley ... very nice shade of blue here .. have a great day!
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36780
I just wanted to link yesterday's thread here. It is very helpful if you put the link to your previous day's thread to the first post of the day so other's helping can go back and read without searching.

Did you happen to read Libby's post to you last night? She wanted you to post your number before shooting.
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

Beautiful AMPS, especially with no shot last night. I'm glad you will be around to monitor.

Nice numbers overnight....did you feed dry with her dinner last night or not? Just curious for the sake of the experiment.
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

Mat -

There's a decent chance that Haley may not really be diabetic. That's why Libby suggested you skip last night and do a "pancreas test." From what Haley's numbers looked like, there was no food spike. Haley has been hanging out in normal BG numbers. Generally, a vet can confirm a diabetes diagnosis by a fructosamine test -- it gives an average of BG over a period of 2 - 3 weeks. (It's a parallel to a hemoglobin A1C test in humans.) That's why we asked about the test.

Please keep a close eye on Haley's numbers today. I know it seems like a small amount of insulin but if it's not needed, then it could drop Haley's numbers. Frankly, if you were able to get rid of the dry food, I think there's a very good chance that Haley won't be here long. If you can get the crunchy treats Libby linked for you yesterday or switch out the DM (it's really poor quality food and it's too high in carbs - 13% for the dry) for EVO or Wellness Core if the dry is really, really the only way to get Haley to eat, it may help. FWIW, Gabby is not a fussy eater. She hated the D/M canned food. Take a look at the ingredients -- animal by-products are first on the list, not muscle meat. Fancy Feast is a better quality food and lower in carbs. Canned D/M is 7%, Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets is 3%. (Wellness Turkey is 4% and is human grade food if you want the high priced spread, which would probably still be cheaper than D/M.)

Also, if you could put the actual amount you shot on Haley's SS that will prevent any confusion. If you want to see some of the notation, take a look at Gabby's SS for one style of doing this.
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

Sienne is right about the dry food. If you can possible switch the dry food out, Haley might not need to be on this forum too much longer. :razz: The numbers can spike for any number of reasons without the kitty really being a diabetic. Vet stress alone can send my Raja 100 points higher.
Welcome to you and Haley anyway....hope you will have a short stay since the numbers are really looking so great! These folks here know what they are talking about from lots of experience. You are doing a great job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106

@ +2 Haley is up a bit to 113. I haven't given her any dry food since yesterday afternoon (and even then it was a small amount) I had read about the DM food before and wondered if I should switch or not, but worried that would have a bad affect on her results. Hoping to get her off the dry food for good!

Thanks :smile:
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106, +2 113, +4 81, +6 86, +9 81

So Haley is in the low numbers again this evening, I'm wondering if I should skip tonight's dose? The vet wants us to keep giving her the insulin for another two weeks (to get a curve), and then she talked about weening her off of it. I really don't know what to do-especially if it is possible she doesn't even have diabetes?!? If in fact that is the case...is the insulin hurting her in anyway? :?
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106, +2 113, +4 81, +6 86, +9 81

let's see what the preshot number is first... BEFORE you shoot anything, k?

edited to add: several of us have been discussing haley. we'd really like to see what she does between now and shot time before suggesting a dose.

you might want to practice drawing up 0.25u and 0.1 unit. she's done with the skinny 0.5u dose.

0.1 unit:
01unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 02/15 Haley AMPS 106, +2 113, +4 81, +6 86, +9 81

hey wow! the gang's all here today! :lol:
looking great!
and doing very well!
this is such an awesome dose, hard on the eyes, but it does wonders!
we like this choice :mrgreen:

good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top