02/14 MISSY PMPS 313, +2 245, +5.75 65, +6 58, +8 74, +10 81

Elise was suggesting going easy on the MC and see where it takes us. If Missy sees more/lower greens. Maybe start by stopping MC at PS and giving it only at +1 if she is flat or lower?
 
Elise was suggesting going easy on the MC and see where it takes us. If Missy sees more/lower greens. Maybe start by stopping MC at PS and giving it only at +1 if she is flat or lower?
Ok I will do that...
I was just thinking myself about this. Will she only earn a dose reduction if I happen to test her and find a reading under 50? Reason I am asking is I test often so I don't have any surprises or really low numbers (especially if I have to leave the house between +1 and +2). Also we started the MC because she was taking such big and fast dips and that seems to have minimized and now she eases into the green. Also her bounce yesterday wasn't super high either so I am assuming thats because she didn't have a big sudden dip and also she is getting more used to being in lower numbers. Do you think she is clearing her bounces faster?

I guess what I am wondering is I think it would be safe to assume she would have very likely dipped below 50 if I hadn't been feeding MC. So can she earn a dose reduction based on that or does it actually have to happen? :)
 
It is balancing act between preventing fast drops (which she does and which do trigger bounces) while still allowing her to see long stretches of greens. It is all trial and error. We want her to earn a reduction when she is good and ready and I don't know if she is there yet. Using high carbs earlier in the cycle to prevent dives and also to keep her at a good dose is okay - it's too much intervention with high carbs when you have to keep feeding high carbs to keep them above 50 in a cycle.

We will just have to play around with the carb% and feeding times to see what works best for her. :-)
 
It is balancing act between preventing fast drops (which she does and which do trigger bounces) while still allowing her to see long stretches of greens. It is all trial and error. We want her to earn a reduction when she is good and ready and I don't know if she is there yet. Using high carbs earlier in the cycle to prevent dives and also to keep her at a good dose is okay - it's too much intervention with high carbs when you have to keep feeding high carbs to keep them above 50 in a cycle.

We will just have to play around with the carb% and feeding times to see what works best for her. :)
I hear what you're saying Bhooma.... you explained that perfectly. So then I will continue to give a little MC at PMPS if she has a low PS number then just stick to LC and see how she fares with that. Would you say this is correct?

Also at +3.25 she is 149 (she was 151 at +2).
Do I have to feed LC or can I wait for an hour and see how she is? Thanks for all your guidance... :)
 
PMPS 313....
She was at the beach for most of the day :cool:
I'm not to sure whats going on... another bounce I presume.

I was just going to feed LC at PMPS. Do I need to feed LC at +1 as well?
Thanks for you help... :)
 
I'm not to sure whats going on... another bounce I presume.
Some cats go high before they break a bounce. Hopefully this is that.

I was just going to feed LC at PMPS. Do I need to feed LC at +1 as well?
Yes. I think you should feed at PS and +1 in all cycles. She tends to dive at onset. Even a dive from 313 to 150 (which is not low per se) could trigger more bouncing.



When she starts a cycle lower, you could either:
(a) test at +1 and feed MC when needed or,
(b) feed a mix of MC-LC (so that would be like LC with a higher carb%) at PS and +1.

We can try all combos and see which works. :)
 
Some cats go high before they break a bounce. Hopefully this is that.


Yes. I think you should feed at PS and +1 in all cycles. She tends to dive at onset. Even a dive from 313 to 150 (which is not low per se) could trigger more bouncing.



When she starts a cycle lower, you could either:
(a) test at +1 and feed MC when needed or,
(b) feed a mix of MC-LC (so that would be like LC with a higher carb%) at PS and +1.

We can try all combos and see which works. :)
Good morning Bhooma...Great ideas... I will make note of these. I will feed at +1 and test at +2.
Have a wonderful day! :)
 
Missy is 65 at +5.75.... :woot:
Was not expecting this. I just woke up and thought I better check her. Going to give some MC... I hope I am doing the right thing. I can't see anyone on the forum right now.
 
65 was my most recent test just not even 10 min ago.
65 is pretty safe and LC would have been fine. Sorry I wasn't around! Did you test again?
I gave 1 tsp of MC when she was 58. She had dropped from 65 to 58 in 10 min so I thought I better do something. I didn't want to give MC seeing she was almost mid cycle but I was like eeeeeek... now what?? Needless to say I woke up pretty fast :woot:
 
It takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect the numbers, so next time you feed, test after 20 mins to see how food has affected the numbers.

And I know it's scary but 65 and 58 are flat if you consider meter variance :-)
 
It takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect the numbers, so next time you feed, test after 20 mins to see how food has affected the numbers.

And I know it's scary but 65 and 58 are flat if you consider meter variance :)
I just tested her at +6.75 and she is 65 still.
I'm glad I caught it but I'm also a little disappointed she missed earning her reduction. Oh well like you always say better to err on the side of caution. At least she's ok.. that's the most important thing. She'll get her reduction when its time ;)
 
I just tested her at +6.75 and she is 65 still.
I'm glad I caught it but I'm also a little disappointed she missed earning her reduction. Oh well like you always say better to err on the side of caution. At least she's ok.. that's the most important thing. She'll get her reduction when its time ;)

So she's flat after eating 15% that late in the cycle? How long since she was fed? 45 mins?
 
So she's flat after eating 15% that late in the cycle? How long since she was fed? 45 mins?
She was fed 1 hour ago... so she was 58 when I fed her and just few minutes ago was 65. That was my concern she takes a while to initially respond to carbs. Should I give her some LC now seeing its been one hour?
 
She was fed 1 hour ago... so she was 58 when I fed her and just few minutes ago was 65. That was my concern she takes a while to initially respond to carbs. Should I give her some LC now seeing its been one hour?

It's not that she takes time to respond to carbs. All carbs take the same time to affect numbers. She was clearing that bounce and heading downward with some momentum, so ever higher carbs did not take her levels high (like they would have in a "normal" cycle). You can give her LC and test in an hour. No sleep for you, huh? Think you can set an alarm a take a nap? She should start heading up soon.

ETA: Did you feed 1sp MC or 1sp MC-LC mix an hour back?
 
It's not that she takes time to respond to carbs. All carbs take the same time to affect numbers. She was clearing that bounce and heading downward with some momentum, so ever higher carbs did not take her levels high (like they would have in a "normal" cycle). You can give her LC and test in an hour. No sleep for you, huh? Think you can set an alarm a take a nap? She should start heading up soon.

ETA: Did you feed 1sp MC or 1sp MC-LC mix an hour back?
Yes I fed 1 tsp of LC with 1 tsp of MC. She doesn't really like the MC so I added some LC to it to make sure she ate it all. I figured I needed something to get her up quickly. I almost reached for the HC but I heard your voice in my head and said nope :facepalm: not yet.

I'm used to no sleep so its all good. I can nap a little here and there and I set about 5 alarms just incase.:D
 
You were right to feed the LC-MC mix and not the MC or HC that late in the cycle. Good show!

Take a nap. See you in an hour! :)
 
Hey Bhooma
I know its too soon to tell but check this out... +10 Missy is only 87.
I found this cycle to be unusual, for me at least, so I got up and wanted to see how she was (as I also rarely get a +10 so I thought it would be helpful). At +8 she was 74 and I also fed her a little LC and now two hours later only 87. :eek:

Will you be around for her AMPS because this time I am a little nervous to shoot a low number because this seemed like a cycle that surprised us. :woot:
If its still around 87 or even under 100 what are you thinking? If I shoot will it be too much? Just wanted to give you some time to think about this. :)
 
Hi Tammy, she is heading up and you should definitely shoot. With ketones in the picture, you should not skip. And you have shot double digits before.
Do not feed so that we don't get a food-influenced AMPS.

Let's see where she is at AMPS and decide on feeding accordingly. I will be around.
 
Back
Top