02/12~Luna~AMPS 129/PMPS 198, +3/72, +4/77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronnie & Luna

Member Since 2009
Yes! We're old now, oldtimers. :lol:
Good morning Lantus Land,

(I have alot of catching up to do!)
Been a while since we've taken out a rental, so it's about time cuz bean (me) needs feedback.

WCR: Luna, Luna, Luna...sigh...has been busy repairing his wagon this past week.
We began fresh juice just over a week ago, and have seen some good results.

We are now on month # 3 of back on the juice. As you can see in our SS (see Current SS link in our siggy) Luna has had a complete turn-around since starting the fresh juice.
This past week has been insane diving and surfing in the 50's. We began adding gravy to slow the drop, but whatever, he doesn't seem to be affected by it.

As for what's happening in the AMPS cycle? Not sure seeing as our PMPS have been a bit higher than AMPS. Curving the kitty today to see what's up.
Curve? What's a curve? We don't do curves here, we are bionafied testaholics, and you know if I was home during the day, like them olden days, I would be on those ears like testing was my full time job! If only Luna paid me for it - he sure has wasted enough strips!
Luna's been fussy with testing (gee I wonder why?), weirdness on the One Touch meter one night, in the span of 3 hours we kept hitting the same number (52), retested with a back up meter (iTest) and seemed to be ok.

We are currently on a skinny .25u, I shaved the regular .25u the other day cuz bean got a little nervous about the AMPS cycle and we are not home during the day. Dose measuring is as accurate as can be, I check my sample regularly, so I'm fairly confident he is getting the skinny .25u.
Automatic feeder works well, then again, not always eaten.

I suppose Luna is considered an old diabetic, so according to the protocol sticky, we are looking for numbers under the 40's. We haven't caught any, but a lot of 50's and a few 40's. Thoughts?

I'd consider bringing him down to .10u, because we are not home during the weekday, BUT, coming up to the PMPS number, he is a bit higher... want to see a couple of AMPS cycle numbers on the skinny .25u and see what's up.
If nothing happens this weekend, I suppose will hold the skinny, but honestly, this week's evening cycles have been exhausting for bean. I'm surprised he is hanging around the 50's, his usual from the past have been the 70's and 80's.
Do I sound like I know what I'm doing? Feedback from the wise ones would be really appreciated! ;-)

Anywho, Luna is eating well, sometimes picky, so he gets the chicken dust (freezed dried chicken treats). Litter box action on track, furry purry, playing, running around, alert and so on. All good things.

Have a great day everyone! Now I go read some condo's and play catch up (in between spotchecks hee hee)
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +3/135 oldtimer update :)

Hey Ronnie, I'm worn out just reading your report!! Gotta get back to you later 'cause I have to go out now. But just wanted to say hi to you and Luna.

Rusty sends love,

Ella
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +3/135 oldtimer update :)

Hi, Ronnie & Luna ... great update cat_pet_icon
I saw the wagon on facebook but don't understand the meaning behind it :?
Anyway.. Luna is not on a lot of juice & you just have to be thrilled with the numbers. I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +3/135 oldtimer update :)

Hi Ronnie and Luna,
It's so nice to see a condo from you two today. I hope you get some advice soon. I can't dose advice, but I have a reputation on being a great meter user adviser. Just ask Pat!! I'm surprised you only have two meters to compare. I am ahead of you with three meters. And...no names mentioned, but some here have 5 or 6 meters!!! Have a nice Caturday!
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +3/135 oldtimer update :)

PolicePutty-1.jpg


Officer Putty here just checking up on you. Plenty of spot-checks, great WCR...lookin good in this condo.

As far as dose....hmm..not sure. Are you having a hard time keeping Luna in the 50's? Does it take a lot of HC to keep him there? If that is the case then I guess you can try lowering the dose. See what those "smart" people think. ;-)
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +3/135 oldtimer update :)

No advice from me....Just wanted to stop by and say hello.

Hoping Luna stays in the safe numbers range.
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +5/100 oldtimer update :)

Oh my gosh! I got a visit from Officer Putty!
For a moment there I thought we didn't spot check enough :lol:

Officer Putty: yes we have a hard time getting Luna out of the 50's, he just likes it there ohmygod_smile
we used up to 2 tsp of gravy on top of his food and he just surfs there.
I'm only giving him his regular Wellness turkey and chicken, cuz it's the only brand that he doesn't react to with allergens.
Can't do much fishy foods either, so he gets gravy on top.

but go figure, so far today he is taking his sweet time
AMPS 129
+1/180
+2/172
+3/135
+5/100
gonna catch a +6 and snack him up and go do grocery/strips shoppin'
I'm hoping we can help him along after the +9 snack to bring his PMPS down since we are home.
Hard to say if he actually feeds himself when we are not here with the auto feeder, plus there's his piggy sis who hogs the food, so who knows.
If that works then he is one of those kitties that goes lower at nite. Ya think?! :lol:

Ann: I actually have 3 meters right now :lol: Freestyle, iTest, One Touch

Nicole: falling off the wagon, in other words, back from the falls, or maybe someone there gave him the boot!
Thanks for the visits everyone!
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +5/100 oldtimer update :)

Three meters, eh? Well, guess you and Ann are tied with the same number. Meter Madness! :lol:
Nice to see a condo from you two this morning! Very nice report.
Luna is one lucky kitty to have you for his Mama! He is looking good...
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +5/100 oldtimer update :)

Hi "oldtimer" Ronnie and Luna. :-D
I can't believe it is 3 months already. the time goes very quickly.

At least he is on such a little dose .
You're really not using 3 meter are you?? lol
Thise are great numbers he is throwing.

With regards to that afternnon snack, Sienne mentioned in a condo I was looking at this week
that maybe feeding only through the first 6 hours and not that +9 anymore as the insulin wears off. Times have changed for us oldtimers. Ask her though okay??

Great to see you though, even if it is in a condo.
Miss you lots.
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +5/100 oldtimer update :)

+9/169 and snack...yes Randi I am hoping Sienne comes by with that info!
I am considering eliminating the noon time snack, we'll see how it goes.

I am not looking forward to tonights diving thou, well, a little, fresh strips and gravies on hand :lol:
What the heck Luna Looney Tunes, why can't you do your funky 50's surfing when I am home during the day?
At least we still have tomorrow to see if this is the norm for him during the day.

Good to see u too Randi!
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +9/169 oldtimer update :)

HI, GUYS!!

Luna...keeping the bean mega-busy!! goodness, ronnie...i'd be exhausted if i were you.

jill mentioned the late cycles snacks also...that giving them often made the insulin "work harder" like riding a bike (wagon) uphill...

hope he retires the wagon quickly!

images
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +9/169 oldtimer update :)

I want to know if you're doing something different at night than you are during the day. You have these gorgeous green surfs at night and blues and yellows during the day. Are the PM snacks all LC?

As far as food later in the cycle, it was actually Jill who had discussed this in Marjorie's condo (I think). Like everything with food, you need to experiment. It doesn't look like food after +6 is a problem during the PM cycle. Although, the +9 snack may be boosting up your AMPS.

I'm really not sure what to tell you about dose. Luna is in the 40s on a regular basis on this dose.
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +9/169 oldtimer update :)

I have a question, if you don't feed HC in the 50s (use LC instead) does he still surf 50s, or is he dropping more? With Lucy, once she was on a tiny dose I had to learn to just let her surf 50s. She was going to do it whether I wanted her to or not, and once I learned that she could keep herself safe with low carb food I felt a lot better about the dose.

It's worth a try to move that late snack earlier in the cycle and see what happens. Adding the +9 snack is something we usually do right before a cat is about to go OTJ, to see if it stimulates the pancreas. If the pancreas isn't quite ready to come back from its vacation yet, then the snack can send the numbers higher instead of lower. You don't have much insulin action left that late in the cycle to counteract the food.
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129/PMPS 198

hi guys!
Thanks for the giggle Celi!

Libby and Sienne, lemme get back to you on your Q's...I gotta check my notes.

I be back!
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129/PMPS 198

Good to see your post Ronnie - I had been wondering how Luna had been doing lately. Sounds like it is all good. I really had to laugh when someone mentioned being "exhausted" after reading your post. Sounds like Luna is keeping you on your toes. Great job, and good to hear from you.

Judy, Jake, and Civvie Boomer
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +9/169 oldtimer update :)

ok I'm here to answer Q's in the bold....

Sienne and Gabby said:
I want to know if you're doing something different at night than you are during the day.

nothing at all...other than we are here in the evening and he gets a lot of attention...one thing I can think of is that he gets those snacks and MM's on schedule as opposed to the daytime when we are not here....even today it didnt make much of a difference feeding him at the set times versus the autofeeder


You have these gorgeous green surfs at night and blues and yellows during the day. Are the PM snacks all LC?

yes - wellness chicken, turkey 4-5% ...1 to 2 tsp (MM++) snack is 1 tsp


As far as food later in the cycle, it was actually Jill who had discussed this in Marjorie's condo (I think). Like everything with food, you need to experiment.

aw God noooo! more food experimenting?


It doesn't look like food after +6 is a problem during the PM cycle. Although, the +9 snack may be boosting up your AMPS.

I suppose...I guess I'm so use to it....I will give it a try tonight/overnite....and just do the midnite/bedtime snack - he doesn't always eat the +9 anyway if I'm not there to make sure he eats it.


I'm really not sure what to tell you about dose. Luna is in the 40s on a regular basis on this dose.
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129, +9/169 oldtimer update :)

ok Libby's Q's answered in bold:
(are u guys exhausted yet?)


Libby and Lucy said:
I have a question, if you don't feed HC in the 50s (use LC instead) does he still surf 50s, or is he dropping more?

no HC food, just the gravy on top of LC as soon as I see the diving (onset I guess which is too early for my liking) he eats pretty well at dinner/breakfast time, regular timed snacks along the way, bedtime snack around +5/+6,,,when he's been in the 50's even after snacks (1/2 hour to an hour, he varies up and down, in the same area, surfing eh

With Lucy, once she was on a tiny dose I had to learn to just let her surf 50s. She was going to do it whether I wanted her to or not, and once I learned that she could keep herself safe with low carb food I felt a lot better about the dose.

yes I do feel he can keep himself safe in the 50's too on LC...it's the 40's that worry me, cuz he reacts - fussy and whiny..in the 50's he is quiet, playful, alert, and chilling

It's worth a try to move that late snack earlier in the cycle and see what happens. Adding the +9 snack is something we usually do right before a cat is about to go OTJ, to see if it stimulates the pancreas. If the pancreas isn't quite ready to come back from its vacation yet, then the snack can send the numbers higher instead of lower. You don't have much insulin action left that late in the cycle to counteract the food.

yes, I think we can do that, as I mentioned above to Sienne, we can try it tonight/overnite.


thank you for your posts Sienne and Libby.
I'm gonna go poke now and make myself useful to his royal highness. :-D
 
Re: 02/12~Luna~AMPS 129/PMPS 198, +3/72

Alright, recaping our rental day:

AMPS 129
+1/180
+2/172
+3/135
+5/100
+6/111
+9/169
+11/228

PMPS 198
+1.5/127
+2.15/106
+3/72
+4/77

hahahaha! he is tormenting me and knows we talk about him :cool:
little pickle-butt!

So on that note, thank you for the visits.
WCR: furry purry, eating well, playing, bathing (P for preening) and chillin' in the 70's.
Many good thoughts and prayers for LL kitties not feeling too good. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top