02/12/11 Chirpie AMPS 25.1 Curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/12/11 AMPS 25.1 Curve today

Don't forget to put Chirpie's name in her condo title :) Everyone loves her name :)

You can switch to the US tab to get the US numbers which is what this forum uses. So go to that tab to find them to post.

Today AMPS is 452
+2 is not on your spreadsheet yet but is 376.2.
 
Re: 02/12/11 AMPS 25.1 Curve today

Hi Susan, Chirpie and fellow Canadians.

Welcome to Lantus Land. You are in terrific hands here.
Super that you are getting that help from Karrie. As she said, we use the US numbers here.
If someone saw the Candian equivalent of 25.1 they would panic and think Chirpie was hypo.
As Karrie said, go back to your first post, edit the subject line and call it:

2/12 Chirpie AMPS 452.
Have you checked for ketones yet? When you do it is good to make note of it in
your condo and in the comments section of your ss.

Great job with Chirpie. Hang in there.

If you want dose advice, you can put that in your first subject line as well.
 
Re: 02/12/11 AMPS 25.1 Curve today

Susan and Chirpie said:
....I am wondering if I should increase her insulin today. They don't seem to be Changing at all.

That's what the curve will do, you may even be asked to do another, it will tell everyone what the insulin is doing for Chirpie on the run, and based on that, the good people here will advise you to hold the dose, increase or decrease at some point. Even when you are not doing a full curve, tests during the run help give good info.

What are you feeding Chirpie?

Your doing a great job today, :YMHUG: hang tough it WILL get easier

As I said to you earlier, and others have also, it is important to get that keto test done, you just have to sneak up quietly ;-)
 
hi again, good you have a new condo...I posted these questions in your last one...some folks may be wondering about this, when u have a chance, let us know k?


-what dose Chirpie was started on back in December?
-how did you get to 1.50u?
-one more question, have you been testing for ketones? EDIT: GOOD - I see you have been checking for that.
Any history of it from vets?

and yes, change your Canadian numbers to the U.S format, whatever number you get on your meter, multiply by 18...so the numbers that you are recording on your spreadsheet should be the same as here in your updates.

As for increasing the dose, I'm a little bit on the fence because you are fairly new to home testing, and it would be beneficial for you to test a bit more frequently, especially in the evening cycle. But it is hard at times to do when you are just getting the hang of it.....Let's see what other input you get thru the day.
 
RE: Chirpie

She started out on Caninsulin...3 units and went to 7 units... with no change. The vet changed it 15 days ago to Lantus, at 1.5, and that is what she has been on for over two weeks...She had a curve sone at the vet 10 days ago, and she stayed in the high 400's and low 500's. So there hasn't been much change in over two months...Her hyperthyroidism is under control, that is why I was wondering about the insulin dose...she has been on it 15 days. Perhaps at the end of the day we can decide. Thanks.
 
I haven't been around much, so I don't think I have welcomed you to LL yet. Hello! Chirpie is a cutie. :smile:

Good job getting a curve today. If you can get a spot check or two after PMPS tonight, then we might have enough information to consider a dose increase. Curves are wonderful, but it's always helpful (and usually necessary) to see spot checks over at least two different cycles to be able to get a good picture of what is going on. Even better is to get at least one spot check per day. For me, since I work a lot and can't test during the day, that usually means getting a test right before I go to bed every night.
 
Well, I have her little ear just mutilated, but she doesn't even move. Her last read was the the highest today..460 @ +10....All she has done all day is sleep, my little baby....I will do the +12 read, and then do one around midnight...Susan and Chirpie
 
You are doing great. Hang in there Susan and Chirpie
sFun_cheerleader.gif
 
Re: 02/13/11 Chirpie AMPS 411

Good Morning all;

Today Chirpie runs from me...thinking OH NO, another needle!

AMPS: 411
Units: 1.5

spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=t0AKoyrXKOKSEUW5CwH0RCQ&authkey=CN37quUD#gid=0 :cool:
 
Susan:

Please start a new thread for today. We maintain one condo (it's what we call our threads) per cat per day. If you would, please link your Saturday condo to your Sunday condo. You just copy and paste the URL from your browser into the first post of the day.

Also, please do not post your BG levels in mmol/L (Canadian measurement). Very few people will understand the numbers. Please use the mg/dL notation (US -- since were measurement centric here -- most of the members of the forum are from the US).
 
Susan - multiply your Canadian number by 18 when you post on the board. Its a pain but the vast majority of those on the forum go by US numbers.
 
Chirpie needs some help

All the greetings are wonderful but Susan is worried about the numbers being too high.

Can someone help her with her spreadsheet so that a column shows the Canadian metric BGs converted to US so she can get more help?

Thanks,
Rebecca
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top