02/11 Max pmps 158 +1~245

Status
Not open for further replies.

critterlover

Member Since 2012
Max was unexpectly low this morning. With the exception of the amps and pmps numbers yesterday he seemed to maintain a lower than usual day as well. He's still been bouncing all week so nothing has changed there. I worked thru the week so wasn't able to get in as much testing but am home today so will keep an eye on him. Fingers crossed that maybe he will be due for another decrease soon.

I started a new vial of Lantus last night. The old one wasn't empty but after watching Julie's video on storing and using I thought I better start with a new one. The tech at the vet told me to shoot it back into the vial if I got too much. That's what I was doing and there was a fair amount of air in it as well.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92

I see you got a +1 -- that's good. You might want to get a +1.5 and/or a +2. Do keep a close watch since your +1 was lower than your AMPS. It's already looking like this may be a busy morning for you. (Typically, your +1 is higher than your pre-shot since it reflects a food spike.)

Generally, because Lantus is a bit more fragile than other types of insulin, it's best to not inject air into a vial. It's not as critical if you are using a vial rather than the Solostar pens. (The pens work on a negative pressure system so injecting air is not recommended.) I think you also mentioned that your vial was several months old? If so, and you're seeing this kind of good response to a fresh vial, it does tell you your insulin may have been toast.
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +1.5 77

I agree with Sienne. It looks like you will have an exciting day. I'm glad you started the new insulin.
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +1.5 77

I hope you get just enough excitement to have a huge smile all day, not enough to cause a heart attack! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +1.5 77 +2 72

Go Max!! Beautiful start this morning! Hope he doesn't keep you too busy today!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +3~ 47

ok, now we're getting a little low. I'm going to give him 2 tsp of food to see it that bumps him up
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +3~ 47 +3.5~47

You might want to add some gravy to Max's food. It's still early so a bit of HC to bump the numbers up would be good.
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +3~ 47 +3.5~47 +4~41

max is keeping you busy! usually you want to pull them up above 50 and not let them skate along in the 40's . . . he's not in danger there, but it's your safety margin and you don't want him any lower. if you need a touch more you could add a drop of karo to the hc.
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +4~41 +4.5~55 +5~88

Looks like he's on the rise. I'm going to let the next test go to 1 hour and if he is still rising will check at 2 hour intervals.

He would normally get a snack at +6 but with the events of the morning he has already had the equivalent of his snack. Should I skip it for today? His next scheduled meal is at +12.

Also, since he dipped below 50, do I follow the protocol and reduce his pm dose by .25u?

Thanks for monitoring us on this exciting Saturday morning
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +4~41 +4.5~55 +5~88

Oh wow ! :mrgreen:

Yes indeed, he has earned a reduction - congratulations !

You still may need to guide the cycle with food, so don't let him get too full. Is he begging for food?
 
Re: 02/11 Max amps 92 +4~41 +5~88 +6~106

he's still on the rise so I'll go to 2 hour tests unless he drops again along the way.

He seems content so I'm going to skip the feeding for now.
 
looks like he's bouncing from hitting the 40's this morning. don't worry too much about it - it might take up to 3 days to clear, but it will. just hold your new reduced dose in the meantime.

if you have any extra patience, send it my way - i'm not feeling very patient about punkin's bouncing this week. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top