02/08 Chaos +7 231, vet triumph!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning, LL!

It's already been a long day. I had to get up an hour early to go to the hospital and Chaos was a little confused. He sort of hung back, watching and wondering when I was going to get the show on the road. I'm pretty sure I need to get Chaos some new insulin and see if that improves his numbers. It's very difficult to speak to my actual vet about this; all you get on the phone are assistants, etc. I have a feeling I'm going to be on the phone a lot today.

WCR: happy kitty, as usual. Purrs through tests, and did the happy kitty dance both times I fed him today. I was a little late with my second feeding and test but he didn't seem to mind and obviously his BG did not budge. He's happily grooming himself and will probably hit the couch for a nap soon. I increased to 1.25u, but we'll see. It's probably that his insulin pooped out.

Meanwhile, I was off to see my chronic pain specialist, who I am pretty sure is clinically insane. He's like House on ecstasy or something, there is no way I can explain him. He's nuts, but he's a genius; he's the one who finally gave me a diagnosis and some relief. I got a dosecrease today too! More frequent injections, more frequent pills. We'll see how it goes, hopefully I won't turn myself into a gabapentin zombie by accident.

(I am trying everything I can to insert a lolcat here but can't figure it out. How does Celi do it? Oh well, follow the link if you want: http://icanhascheezburger.com/2009/12/1 ... s-dr-phil/ )
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

Chaos is still flat at +7 and I am waiting for someone from my vet's office to call me back. I have a feeling it's going to be a while.
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

That had me laughing out loud too. I'm glad you are seeing a great doctor for your pain Violet.

Good luck with the new insulin (after you hear back from the vet). Did you find a place that sold it individually yet? Crazy that insulin may be a bit cheaper in Canada. Everything else seems so crazy expensive compared to the US.
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

your pain management Dr sounds about like mine ;-) hope you feel better and lets see Chaos break out of the yellows to some blues soon
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

Well, no one around here sells the lantus pens individually so I have to come up with the money for a box of 5. At least I can probably use 3ml before it poops out on me, as opposed to 10 ml vials. The pens don't expire for a loooong time if they're unopened, so using all 5 wouldn't be a problem. You just draw your dose with the syringe from the place where you're supposed to put the pen's injection needle in, right?

So the next step is to get the vet to change my scrip and call it in to my pharmacy. The pens cost the same everywhere I checked. It may not be till next week that I can even afford to do this. :sad: Somehow those "bill" people don't understand my priorities as I think they should be! :lol:

Next week, by the way, is Chaos's birthday- the 13th- and on that day, I will tell the wild and wacky tale of Chaos's origins. It's got everything- arranged marriage, gender bending, and surprise plot twists!! :o

As for my crazy doctor and all that, today I learned that the rear end is a much better injection site than the arm. ;-)
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

Yah, your butt feels it a WHOLE lot less than your arm does. Which I had believed my doctor LOL. My arms used to be sore for days.

Glad you are going with the cartridges. We did too because of how little insulin we used per shot. I think we will save a lot more money than if we had gone with the 10ml bottle. The cartridges don't expire until 2012 or 2013 even. The catridges I think are just like a mini vial. Draw syringes up the same way except you can't shot excess insulin/bubbles back into the cartridge like I believe you can with the vial.

Can't wait to here about Chaos' origins on his BDAY. *Clapping*
 
Re: 02/08 Chaos AMPS 226, +4 224, +7 231

Violet, you may be able to save a little money on the box of pens, there is a coupon that will save you up to $25, and there are also prescription discount cards that you can use. I'll look for the links for you and post them later. I don't have them saved on this computer.
 
Violet, With your vet's Rx you can buy Lantus online from Canada and save a bundle. Check this out:
http://www.canadadrugsonline.com/DrugMoreInfo5636.aspx

Your order arrives in about 2 weeks and is well packed. But if this really cold weather continues, I would wait a bit until the danger of the insulin freezing is over. I have ordered the Lantus cartridges from CanadaDrugsOnline and was very pleased. The cost is half what it is for a box of 5 in the USA.

Yes, you draw the insulin from the cartridge or pen the same way you do from the vial: just insert the needle in the gasket and draw.

You have to register with CanadaDrugsOnline first and then get your vet to write the prescription. You can use your cat's name: they don't care as long as you say he is a dependant (don't say he's a cat!). Your vet can either fax the Rx to them from his office, or you can mail his original prescription (not a copy) yourself. Some vets don't approve of this process, so don't tell him that you want to order from Canada. Just say that you need the prescription to take to the pharmacy yourself. That you want to check out the prices at different pharmacies before you have the prescription filled at one of them.

Hope this helps.

Ella
 
Hey, everybody!! Watch your drinks and move anything you don't want knocked over, I'm doing my victory dance again!!

I got someone on the phone at my vet and got her to call in the scrip for the pens. But I am amazed- she thinks Chaos's numbers are great and that there's no way to regulate a cat. She also thinks you don't need a prescription for insulin!?! Really, lady, 'cause the pharmacist says I do! I told her I was home testing and gave her some #s off his SS and told her I changed his diet, and she seemed OK with that. She didn't know it was possible to use the pens for cats, so I'm I was made aware of that here. While she may seem a bit clueless, the good thing about this vet is that she trusts me and my research and has done what I asked. However, when I find a new job, I think I will also embark on a search for a vet with more education about FD. For a vet to work with me and this protocol, he/she has to believe that a cat can be regulated in the first place.

So now I have the scrip, and don't laugh, have texted mom for a loan lol!! You never stop calling mom, do you?

Laurie, thank you- I'll google around for coupons too and see what I get.

Ella, that's awesome. I'll definitely start working on the Canada thing once the weather breaks.
 
WHOOOO HOOOOOO bean triumphs over vet!! Great that you are getting the pens--I LOVE them--easy to handle & hold onto, I had a box of 5 since the summer & will be using my last pen soon..Excellent!-Take off the top & put the syringe right into the rubber top of the pen! They are plastic & wont break if you G-d forbid drop it, &they last & last--You & Chaos GO!!! :mrgreen:
 
LOL Roni, I wanted to put "bean: 1 vet: 0" as my subject line but thought it would be mean! :lol: :lol: :lol:

In more good news, my wonderful mother has agreed to float Chaos a little B-day loan. It's ON, I'm picking up pens for him tomorrow!
 
You and your mom both ROCK!
049.gif
 
My mom does rock! Even though she is a grandmother and a great-grandmother to some beans (2nd great-grandbaby boy is due in April! :mrgreen: ), my mom takes her duties as a Cat Grandma very seriously.

Karrie, that rocker smiley is to die for!
 
Violet:

If you have hospitals that are nearby and have outpatient pharmacies, call there. They will often sell a single pen. Because the hospital pharmacy department supplies the patients in the hospital, they often have to split up the boxes of pens. A couple of people here have found they can purchase a single pen this way whereas Costco or Sam's Club won't split up a box.

FWIW, my vet and their staff didn't know about the pens, either.
 
Violet, do you have a Costco nearby? I just picked up the pens, and the pharmacist offered to sell them to me individually (and you don't need a costco membership to use their pharmacy... it's a legal thing.). Made things a lot easier financially! :)

Had to chuckle at your pain management doc... but hey, if he works, then that is awesome! Good luck in the future with getting a new vet. We're still in transition, so I know the feeling!

I was just on the Lantus website, and it looks like folks will probably only have pens or vials as an option in the very near future. As of 3/31/11, Lantus cartridges will no longer be available for opticlick pens.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top