02.07 Rufus AMPS 144! First time this low! +1.5 381, +3 449, +8 550 PMPS 569

Status
Not open for further replies.
I asked in the main forum, but i'll ask here too and then delete whichever doesn't get a response. Ketone test strip. Came back inbetween neg and trace. Hard to tell. At which reading do we get concerned?
I recommend you always post here in L&LL first - lots of folks here very experienced in all things FD...and who now are becoming familiar with Rufus. If it's an emergency (life threatening) tag your condo header with the 911 icon. If no response here by all means cross-post in Health.

Anything above trace warrants a call to your vet. You do not want to delay taking action.
Please incorporate at least 1 ketone test each day into your new routine. Ketones can quickly develop to life threatening levels. I found it helpful to read the strip near a window - the natural light made it easier to tell if the reading was negative or trace...there is a certain 'glow' the strip takes on when the reading is 'trace' that is not present if negative.
My BK once went from 'negative' to 'large' in 24 hours (below is a snippet from his ss) things quickly developed to DKA and he almost lost his life.

ketone development.png
 
I recommend you always post here in L&LL first - lots of folks here very experienced in all things FD...and who now are becoming familiar with Rufus. If it's an emergency (life threatening) tag your condo header with the 911 icon. If no response here by all means cross-post in Health.

Anything above trace warrants a call to your vet. You do not want to delay taking action.
Please incorporate at least 1 ketone test each day into your new routine. Ketones can quickly develop to life threatening levels. I found it helpful to read the strip near a window - the natural light made it easier to tell if the reading was negative or trace...there is a certain 'glow' the strip takes on when the reading is 'trace' that is not present if negative.
My BK once went from 'negative' to 'large' in 24 hours (below is a snippet from his ss) things quickly developed to DKA and he almost lost his life.

View attachment 34092
Oh wow! Glad you caught it in time!
 
Bonito flakes are tuna so they are on your "stay away" from list.

Orijen and ZiwiPeak make boar and lamb treats, respectively.
We've tried 4 or 5 brands, and different proteins. He has zero interest in these freeze dried treats. The ZiwiPeak looks interesting. Kind of like a beef jerky?
 
So yeah, I'm super confused. AMPS 144, give insulin and numbers go high, high, higher. If it was a bounce, wouldn't they at some point gone down? I'm going to try real hard to get a late pm bg, but I have a 4 hour interview tomorrow and don't want to sleep bad tonight.
 
The bounce will break...eventually. Sometimes it can take up to 3 days, though. The thing is, when a bounce breaks, it can be sudden, so you don't want to become complacent just because you see a high number at shot time. We know that this dose can get Rufus down to at least 144, if not lower, so you definitely should get at least a before-bed test in tonight, and if that is notably lower than his pre-shot, you'll want to test again to make sure he's safe. If you recall, Sienne mentioned earlier that her kitty could go from 400 to 40 and back up to 400 all in one 12-hour cycle.

Good luck with the interview...fingers crossed Rufus helps you out!
 
The bounce will break...eventually. Sometimes it can take up to 3 days, though. The thing is, when a bounce breaks, it can be sudden, so you don't want to become complacent just because you see a high number at shot time. We know that this dose can get Rufus down to at least 144, if not lower, so you definitely should get at least a before-bed test in tonight, and if that is notably lower than his pre-shot, you'll want to test again to make sure he's safe. If you recall, Sienne mentioned earlier that her kitty could go from 400 to 40 and back up to 400 all in one 12-hour cycle.

Good luck with the interview...fingers crossed Rufus helps you out!
Thank you! I'll definelty get another test in, in about 2 hours, I guess this is the time I don't want to see a huge drop. (I feel really horrible typing that :( )
 
We've all had that thought...we say our kitty gave us a permission slip to do something (go out, go to sleep, etc) when they don't dive on us. Of course, though a nice non-black surf would be nice to see here!
 
True, pinks would great right about now! This really isn't a good time to be without a vet. Rufus 1st appt with the specialist is next Wed. I'm going to be relying on the nice people here for help :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top