02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194 +2 245 +6 214 +11 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
When Vyktor decides to get with the program he really decides to get with it, bounce cleared in record time and a nice blue night for Vyktor :-D

I have looked at my schedule every which way and there's no way I can do the +2 and +10 ends without reducing my work hours. It seems to me that, the way Vyktors numbers have been going, these tests are becoming pretty vital so I'm going to talk to my boss about reducing my hours today, of course that will mean less money coming in. I haven't done those calculations yet but I think we should be able to manage, at least temporarily - where there's a will there's a way :lol:

Thanks for everyone's thoughts re timed feeders yesterday. I think reducing my hours will solve that problem too, if I'm going to make sure I get those +10s then I will be able to just take the food way. I may get to a whole new level of zombie for a while but I'm sure I will then be able to perfect the art of the nap, also berocca can become my new best friend :lol:

This is the first time in my life I have regretted not settling down with a partner :lol: :lol: :lol: Although with my taste in men even if I had done they probably wouldn't be at all useful for this anyway :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hanging around for his +2 this morning.

Recap:
AMPS 347
+6 277
+10 298
PMPS 252
+2 243
+4 166
+7 131

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62955
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194

Lovely blue start Vyktor!
You'll figure things out and once you and Vyktor get into a routine it won't be so hard.
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194

Well a few things to keep in mind for your own scheduling purposes...

The new dose of lantus doesn't start to have an onset until around +4, so a +2 reading is really just checking how the last cycles dose is wearing off. I still grab an "out the door test" to determine if I will be leaving an extra meal right there and then for Atlas. If Atlas is down in the green numbers I drop an extra meal of medium carb or high carb food. For him that is generally Nature's Variety @ +13% or Taste of the Wild. If he is running below 70 I will often delay leaving by half an hour to make sure he is starting to come back up. After that he is on his timed feeder and I have to trust him to be like Pavlov's Dog.

So I would think if Vyktor is running lower than you would like...having some high carb canned fuds to drop for him before you leave will keep him safe until you get home, without disrupting your schedule too much. Before we had the timed feeder, I had a wonderful neighbor who come over and just check his food status. I didn't ask her to test, but did have her call me with a behevior update. Did he greet her when she came in, is he being Mr. Lovebug etc. or is he just laying there sleeping. I never had to have her do karo etc. ...and if he wasn't up and about I crack of the FF can brought him running...so I never worried too much as long as I knew he ate.
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194 +2 245

On that +2 it's safely off to work we go...

I am very very lucky that I am in a job where I can change my hours around and if that is going to be what's best for Vyktor and for trying for remission then that is what I will do. Isn't it better if I can avoid carbing him to keep him safe so I keep him in those healing numbers as much as possible? Or am I getting over the top about it? Do feel free to give it to me straight beans I prefer directness and will not be offended by any advice offered :-D
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194 +2 245

You've probably seen this but I think it is important:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Because ECID, there are some cats that do onset earlier and nadir earlier...check out Checkers and Gabby. I think +3 is a generally accepted time for onset but I do think the +2 does, in fact, give you a ton of info. BUT...is it worth losing money that you might need to live on or take care of your beloved babies? That is certainly your decision.....I'm wondering if your work will allow you to work from home for a bit in the mornings so you aren't working less...you are just telecommuting for a bit each morning? I know every company is different but I've done that many times with Gracie when Mike is gone and I need to get some extra work hours in.

So glad to see these nicer number for Vyktor!!!
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194 +2 245

Vyktors Mum said:
On that +2 it's safely off to work we go...

. Isn't it better if I can avoid carbing him to keep him safe so I keep him in those healing numbers as much as possible? Or am I getting over the top about it? :-D


Those are good questions! As I said, I drop higher carbs if Attie is in the greens. So the question is really to understand where those "healing numbers" really are.

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for . The mas much of the day as possiblea majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing...

...200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

So it is those lovely blues and green that are healing ranges for most cats. When I drop carbs for Atlas rarely does he rise to pinks only on those carbs. Those pinks are often caused by the liver dumping glucose too. So, Mr. L, can really be the culprit for the pink bounce. The dance then is knowing what that trigger point is and using food with carbs to heal your cat and keep kitty safe while you are away.

It is also important to grasp the idea is a brief visit to the pink floor isn't going to cause as much damage as a brief visit to a hypo-event. Both cause some damage, just one is deadly and one is slow. A kitty spending 75% of their time below 200 is doing great. To get 'healing' you need to stay below renal threshold and you can use keto strips to help determine where that is for your particular cat. While we do them recommend to monitor for ketones, you can also use the keto stix to determine the appx. point at which your cat starts to dump excess glucose. There is enough difference in cats that many expert opinions can vary by 100 points or more.
 
Re: 02/07 AMPS Vyktor 194 +2 245

Hi Serryn-

To answer your question about the auto feeder over in Trix's condo...for whatever reason, she never caught on to it, despite many weeks of "AutoFeeder Bootcamp". I was hoping that she would hear it (it is loud) and run to it for food, since she luvs to eat. I tried having her sit right next to it right before it would go off, hoping she would make the association with the sound and the food; she'd eat the fuds under those circumstances, but when I would set it up for when I wasn't around, she never went near it. I thought for sure she'd eventually put 2+2 together, but the light bulb never went off for her. Many cats do pick up on the feeder, though.

Vyktor is a lucky boy that you will reduce your hours to care for him. I'd do the same thing, if I had to...you are definitely LL kind of people!!!

Have a great day!!!

Amy
 
:evil: I had written I think my longest post ever and responded to everyone but must have got logged out halfway through when Vyktor demanded to go out the front for 5 mins so the whole thing vanished when I hit submit :evil:

I can't bring myself to type all that out again now so I may post my specific thoughts/queries in individual condos later and here's the abbreviated version - love youse all and thanks for being here and sharing your knowledge and experiences :-D
 
That's weird, because I just wrote that I lost a big ole post that I had written yesterday. I thought I had hit submit, and then it was gone. I wonder if there is some sort of time limit. Because I had started one, came back to finish it, didn't like what I wrote and rewrote it, hit submit, and poof, nothing, nada, all gone.
 
I hate when that happens!!

Good news for me: a cupcake shop has opened 5 mins walk from my house - how is that good news for a vegan you ask - 7 or 8 different varieties of vegan cupcakes is how - whoo hoo!!!

This is REALLY cool!! I love to cook, but I LOVE to bake - and I love proving to the world that vegan baked goods don't use weird ingredients, and they don't taste like cardboard. One of my all-time favorite cookbooks is "Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World" (Brooklyn Brownie Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache and Peanut Butter Butter Cream...O.M.G.) Right now, I'm working my dream job (I co-own a bead store), but in my next life, my fantasy is to open a vegan bakery and sandwich shop.

Enjoy the cupcakes, and have a great day/evening!!!
 
Nice yellows for Vyktor! He is indeed a very lucky little guy that you would be willing to cut your hours down. I agree with Marje on asking if maybe you could work from home a couple of hours. The autofeeder never worked for Tarragon. He is very skittish and ran and hid when it went off and wouldn't come out. We just free feed. However, luckily, they usually eat it all up by about +8, so that solves the eating before shot dilemma.

Yum on the cupcakes. I am not vegan, but do like to try vegan food. Have a wonderful night!
 
Hi guys .. I have to agree with what everyone else has already said .. vyktor is very lucky to have such a devoted bean .. I hope your new work schedule can be arranged so you aren't losing to much money .. and yay on the vegan cupcakes! Have a good night!
 
Nice sunny summer yellows for Vyktor!

Great discussion on your condo about test times and food. We often get +1, +2 and more if Zener is taking a dive and jumping on the express train. He often likes to drop over 50 at +1 so we check that to see if we may expect a cycle with some action. We use HC food early in the cycle if there is more than a 50 point drop at +1 because he tends to bounce off of big drops regardless of the numbers color - if we seem him drop 100 between PS and +2 we expect to see a bounce in that cycle or the next. But of course, he is consistently inconsistent. Mr Liver has big trust issues. Zener is a bouncer and a diver, and for cats with flatter cycles so many early tests may not be necessary - ECID. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top