02/06/20 Thomas J. AMPS 349, PMPS 393

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/05/20
I did start using a designated place which is the bathroom. Not the best sounding place but he's usually calm in there and it's a small space so I'm not running around chasing him and making him extra stressed like I had been. I cooked a plain chicken breast and give him pieces of that as treats.
I'm using the lancer without the cap on it to poke him, it does work a little better but he twists his head almost every time I poke which I'm sure makes it hurt worse. May have to just get a better grasp on his ear so it doesn't cause as much harm when he twists. Scraping the blood off then testing seems to work well for me.
He did a bit better today, I gave him a treat after pretty much every action I took today in the poking process.
He's still doing well with injections but due to his high numbers I'm wondering if I'm injecting in the correct spot or if it's all just stress. I part the hair, lift the skin, inject in the hollow area fully inserting the needle, hold for 3 seconds then pull it out. He doesn't react to it so I don't think I'm hurting him but am I doing it correctly? I thought I was. I don't smell insulin at all so I believe it's getting in there. The first day his numbers looked decent, the past 2 days they've all been high. I'm not doing super frequent testing but I'm trying to work him up to it. Maybe I'm just testing at the times it's higher, I don't know.
All in all we did better today and I didn't feel as anxious. Thank you everyone who's been helping me and giving me encouragement! I hope everyone's week is going well but if it isn't I hope that it gets better for you.
 
Hi!

I'm sure a more experienced bean (human "bean" ;) ) will be in soon enough to comment, but it sounds like you're doing everything perfectly! It's only been a couple/few weeks for both of you. TRUST ME, it gets easier!

His body is adapting to the insulin, so his numbers will be potentially all over the board. If you're not smelling insulin, then you're getting the full dose in him, yay! As for "in the bathroom", heck, ANY place where you're both comfortable and he can't hide under the bed is the PERFECT place! LOL

My guy can be a bit wiggly too, so I get him in his bed first, then tend to put my left forearm against his body (on his left side) and then hold his ear with my left hand. I do hold his ear fairly firmly, he's gotten used to the fact if I've got his ear, he can't wiggle too much. That blood is precious so if I hold his ear/head a little more firmly, and don't have to poke him a second/third/fourth time, I'll do it.

But honestly, sounds like you're doing GREAT!!!

Hang in there ;)

Darcy and my boy Jonesy
 
Hi!

I'm sure a more experienced bean (human "bean" ;) ) will be in soon enough to comment, but it sounds like you're doing everything perfectly! It's only been a couple/few weeks for both of you. TRUST ME, it gets easier!

His body is adapting to the insulin, so his numbers will be potentially all over the board. If you're not smelling insulin, then you're getting the full dose in him, yay! As for "in the bathroom", heck, ANY place where you're both comfortable and he can't hide under the bed is the PERFECT place! LOL

My guy can be a bit wiggly too, so I get him in his bed first, then tend to put my left forearm against his body (on his left side) and then hold his ear with my left hand. I do hold his ear fairly firmly, he's gotten used to the fact if I've got his ear, he can't wiggle too much. That blood is precious so if I hold his ear/head a little more firmly, and don't have to poke him a second/third/fourth time, I'll do it.

But honestly, sounds like you're doing GREAT!!!

Hang in there ;)

Darcy and my boy Jonesy
Thank you for the encouragement!:)
 
In the morning I can't as other people are sleeping but I'll definitely do that during the rest of the day, perhaps it will help. Thank you!
Doesn't have to be loud, even a soft hum, but something very "light and happy". More than anything else, it calms YOU so any nervous energy isn't being transferred to your Thomas!
 
It sounds like you're getting the shot in fine. If the bathroom works than it's a great testing place. As you do more testing you'll both get used to it and he won't mind as much. Furball knows it's testing time and normally sits still for me as I test. There are still some days she is squirmy though. I give her some loving before each test and a treat afterwards to help make it a special time for her. It's normal for the numbers to go up and down as you are working toward finding a good dose.
 
I think the bathroom is a stellar location! You're right it's smaller, no chasing involved and if he's happy in there, terrific! It matters not where you test, as long as it's the same place every time - these cats seem to really like ROUTINES - Luci knows when she hears the timer on my phone ring with her alarm - that she's going to be tested - it's the strangest thing - but these cats are a lot smarter than I think we realize and she's fully aware of the 'routine' of the day - she will come and sit down in front of DH at the same time every night - waiting for him to test her - he told me that was happening every night at 9:30 and I didn't really believe him - but sure enough - that was her 'routine' and once they get the hang of that routine things will get easier and easier for you.

If there are people sleeping, just whisper to LT that you're only doing this to save his life - I used to tell Luci that every day - neither of us like the whole wrangling and testing process - but I knew that if I didn't do it, she was going to die - so I'd tell her that this was the only way I could save her life - seriously! Soon she calmed down and accepted it...

And yes, you are doing the shot correctly. Just keep doing what you're doing. As for the numbers, try not to get too numbercentric right now. The numbers can go up and down and all over the place in the beginning...

One thing you'll want to do is get a test before going to bed at night - many kitties go lower at night - so that's important.

Also, since it appears you've decided to follow TR you can increase every 6 cycles by .25. (that's every 3 days without seeing any greens or low blues)...

It looks like LT is ready for an increase. Do you have syringes with 1/2 unit marks or possibly have you considered using calipers to help you measure your dose more accurately? Consistent dosing is important, no dry food, same dose at the same time twice a day 12 hours apart. I've added another column to my SS so that I can record the time - sometimes we get off track due to circumstances and that helps me get back on track as soon as I can - because we can only change the dose time in 15 minute increments.
 
I think the bathroom is a stellar location! You're right it's smaller, no chasing involved and if he's happy in there, terrific! It matters not where you test, as long as it's the same place every time - these cats seem to really like ROUTINES - Luci knows when she hears the timer on my phone ring with her alarm - that she's going to be tested - it's the strangest thing - but these cats are a lot smarter than I think we realize and she's fully aware of the 'routine' of the day - she will come and sit down in front of DH at the same time every night - waiting for him to test her - he told me that was happening every night at 9:30 and I didn't really believe him - but sure enough - that was her 'routine' and once they get the hang of that routine things will get easier and easier for you.

If there are people sleeping, just whisper to LT that you're only doing this to save his life - I used to tell Luci that every day - neither of us like the whole wrangling and testing process - but I knew that if I didn't do it, she was going to die - so I'd tell her that this was the only way I could save her life - seriously! Soon she calmed down and accepted it...

And yes, you are doing the shot correctly. Just keep doing what you're doing. As for the numbers, try not to get too numbercentric right now. The numbers can go up and down and all over the place in the beginning...

One thing you'll want to do is get a test before going to bed at night - many kitties go lower at night - so that's important.

Also, since it appears you've decided to follow TR you can increase every 6 cycles by .25. (that's every 3 days without seeing any greens or low blues)...

It looks like LT is ready for an increase. Do you have syringes with 1/2 unit marks or possibly have you considered using calipers to help you measure your dose more accurately? Consistent dosing is important, no dry food, same dose at the same time twice a day 12 hours apart. I've added another column to my SS so that I can record the time - sometimes we get off track due to circumstances and that helps me get back on track as soon as I can - because we can only change the dose time in 15 minute increments.
I've been whispering to him that he's a good boy and petting him. I was wanting to add times to it, I will now. I was an hour late one day so I'll give it the entire week before increasing as I think that may have thrown it off.
Yes, I have half unit syringes. No calipers though. I agree nightly testing is important, he likes to hide from me unfortunately and put up a fight. I'll try to coax him more to get a before bed test.
I tried getting a mid day test earlier with no luck after 5 pokes. There was too little blood and then when I did get a good poke he was attacking me and squirming away. I got enough blood but I guess it had already started drying after 5 seconds despite appearing liquidy so it wouldn't go into a strip. He was fully attacking me so I gave him a treat and released him. He wasn't letting me touch him anymore.:(
 
I tried getting a mid day test earlier with no luck after 5 pokes. There was too little blood and then when I did get a good poke he was attacking me and squirming away. I got enough blood but I guess it had already started drying after 5 seconds despite appearing liquidy so it wouldn't go into a strip. He was fully attacking me so I gave him a treat and released him. He wasn't letting me touch him anymore.:(
We went through this too at the beginning. Our little buddy was not happy with being tested initially so we did give him a bit of a break as to not traumatize him with the process. So for the first few days of testing we did miss some readings, which at the time didn't seem like a big deal to us as we had already gone 6 months without doing any home testing anyways. Initially I thought that we would never be able to to figure out the whole home testing thing but now it has just become a part of our regular routine. FA went from moving/biting/clawing at us for the first few days to now sitting patiently as we test his BG (and sometimes blood ketones at the same time). He is not a cuddly cat, and usually doesn't like being touched too much, but he has somehow learned to sit very still during testing (and lets me give him a big hug once we're done :D). So all that to say, that while it may not seem like it, it will get easier! And you just have to figure out what is best for you!
 
We went through this too at the beginning. Our little buddy was not happy with being tested initially so we did give him a bit of a break as to not traumatize him with the process. So for the first few days of testing we did miss some readings, which at the time didn't seem like a big deal to us as we had already gone 6 months without doing any home testing anyways. Initially I thought that we would never be able to to figure out the whole home testing thing but now it has just become a part of our regular routine. FA went from moving/biting/clawing at us for the first few days to now sitting patiently as we test his BG (and sometimes blood ketones at the same time). He is not a cuddly cat, and usually doesn't like being touched too much, but he has somehow learned to sit very still during testing (and lets me give him a big hug once we're done :D). So all that to say, that while it may not seem like it, it will get easier! And you just have to figure out what is best for you!
Thank you, that gives me a lot of motivation!
 
He did quite well for his PMPS. Very proud of him. I think I did better too even though I still had to do 3 pokes. I was getting enough blood but it wasn't getting sucked up into the strip. I think it's clotting too quickly.
 
He did quite well for his PMPS. Very proud of him. I think I did better too even though I still had to do 3 pokes. I was getting enough blood but it wasn't getting sucked up into the strip. I think it's clotting too quickly.
Good job! Know this, after awhile the ear "learns" to bleed. It sounds strange, but it does. So it WILL get easier.

I know you said you're using the lancet but without the actual lancet device? Is that correct? Personally I looooove the lancing device. I just hold his ear pretty firmly and hold the device down against his ear. I've found that when I have tried "free handing" it, I basically went too hard :( So I love the little thingamajig! But I know it's not for everyone.

You're doing great!
 
Good job! Know this, after awhile the ear "learns" to bleed. It sounds strange, but it does. So it WILL get easier.

I know you said you're using the lancet but without the actual lancet device? Is that correct? Personally I looooove the lancing device. I just hold his ear pretty firmly and hold the device down against his ear. I've found that when I have tried "free handing" it, I basically went too hard :( So I love the little thingamajig! But I know it's not for everyone.

You're doing great!
Thank you! I also prefer the lancer. I've done free handing with the lancets and recently tried the lancing device but without the protective cap on, sorta freehanding like that but it makes the poke a little too rough on him so I went back to just using the lancer(lancing device, lancing pen, the whatchamacallit) again. It's easier in my opinion as well, although it does seem to bruise more easily that way on him. Then again he's white so you can see the bruising really easy.
 
A lot of failures today. I tried getting a test before bed but I'm just not getting enough blood and most of it bleeds into the fur so when I go to grab it it just smears all over instead. I've tried adding a small bit of vaseline to try to help form a drop but it seems to block off the blood instead of helping. Not sure what to do about that other than attempting shaving his ears or something. He got upset so I released him and gave his nightly feeding. Hopefully I have better luck tomorrow, I only managed to get his AMPS and PMPS today.:banghead:
 
Good job! Know this, after awhile the ear "learns" to bleed. It sounds strange, but it does. So it WILL get easier.

I know you said you're using the lancet but without the actual lancet device? Is that correct? Personally I looooove the lancing device. I just hold his ear pretty firmly and hold the device down against his ear. I've found that when I have tried "free handing" it, I basically went too hard :( So I love the little thingamajig! But I know it's not for everyone.

You're doing great!
What lancing device do you use by the way? Does it work well for you?
 
Back
Top