02/06/13 Chester AMPS 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB & Chester

Member Since 2012
I know that's high because we didn't shoot last night. I don't shoot anything under 200, and there have been a few numbers like that lately.
We've been tweaking food lately and I think it might be having a positive effect on Chester's numbers. He's still eating the Friskies and Fancy Feast, but we've switched the other cats over to Young Again Zero Carb dry. That way, if/when Chester gets into their food, it's not so bad for him. I suspect that might be helping his BG numbers.

I'm thinking about backing down Chester's dose until I get something I can shoot twice a day. I want to do a good curve, but that seems pretty hard to do when every few days we're skipping shots. He's only on 2 U twice a day, but I want to walk it back until I can shoot consistently. Does that make sense? I know Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, but I don't know how to get a solid nadir when I'm skipping shots.

Poor little guy. He's such a trooper!
 
Have you considered instead of reducing the dose, reducing your no shoot number and start shooting low to stay low? Since it looks like he is still well above normal numbers even on those skipped shots preshot numbers you could try reducing your no shoot number to either 175 or 150. Sure he is getting into the blues but very seldom does he make it to the greens, so possibly by reducing your no shoot number not only will you be able to get more consistant shooting but keep him from going high from the skipped shots.

Personally if he was mine I would reduce my no shoot number and start shooting low to stay low. You have enough data on how he handles that dose to shoot a lower preshot than 200, unless there is a reason why you don't want to shoot below 200.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I get nervous about shooting low because I have to work, which keeps me out of the house in case something were to go awry. My husband is usually there, but I'm just not sure he'd notice if anything were wrong. At night I sleep VERY soundly, so I might not wake up if there were a problem. I'm absolutely paranoid about hypo's.
How do you guys get over that fear?
 
You just have to take a leap of faith...Usually the first time you shoot low to stay low I try to do it when I am going to be around for a few hours or in the evening when I can stay up if I need too. Trust me it terrified me the first time I did it, I was like a nervous expectant mom. But then I learned Autumn would be fine, that she need this if we were ever going to get her down on dose and hopefully OTJ. Now I can shot a full dose into a 51 and feed her and walk away without worrying because I know she will come up on her own. But the flipside of that is I also know that she can go as low as 20 without any outward signs of hypo other than she is bugging me to eat, which she doesn't do unless she is low or it is 15 minutes before her normal mealtimes.

It takes a lot of data, knowing your kitty and how they handle both insulin and food. and then just a huge leap of faith.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top