02/05 Max dipping again AMPS +7 40 +8 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

critterlover

Member Since 2012
Got up a 2:30am to check him out since he's been going low thru the night and he's dropped to 36. He's doing fine. I woke him up to test him and he's his usual self, where's my treat and scratches.

I gave him a few HC treats this time but so far he's showing no signs of hypo.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 dipping again

Hi there :cool:

Please test again 30 mins from this reading and post. You may have to guide the cycle for a bit - you want to get Max above 50 and keep him above 50.

...and tomorrow morning reduce the dose by .25u.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 dipping again

thanks Sandy, this is first time he's been this low when I tested and wasn't sure how often I should be testing. He's in my lap as I post, I think wondering why I'm up this late.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 dipping again

:shock: nothing like a number like that to wake you up!

Congratulations on the dose reduction Max but you've earned it now so no need to stay down that low.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +7.5=70

45 minutes later he nudged up to 70. I had some Purina DM dry that I stopped feeding about 3 weeks ago so I have him about 5 pieces of that just to help him along.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 dipping again

Can you please update his number in the subject line.

Also - you're not off the hook yet. You will need to retest in another half an hour
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +7.5=70

Below is from the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky in the upper section of this forum:
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

Do you have HC wet food? Dry food will take a long time to leave his system.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +7.5=70

I do a have a can of Friskis Chicken Dinner in Gravy I can use if i need it. he's creeping up slowly
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +8=70 + 9=106

I think you are OK now - the dry will not leave his system soon. Also, there is likely to be a pretty hard bounce on the way.

save your can of HC for the next time :cool:
wet food gives you better control during times like this, when you need to guide the numbers with food.
You just want to feed enough to bring kitty to safe numbers.

great catch on that 36 tonight!
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +8=70 + 9=106 +9.5=166

he had his usual 1/4 can at 11PM last night. He's still rising. Due for breakfast and insulin in another two and a half hours.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +8=70 + 9=106 +9.5=166

~O) ~O) ~O)

I see you hung on to the 1.0u dose this morning and Max is already down to 193 at +4.
With both the TR and SLGS protocols, that 36 you caught last cycle indicates it's time for a decrease in dose. So next shot should be .75u.

Congratulations! going down the dosing scale is what you want to see. :cool:
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +8=70 + 9=106 +9.5=166

Good morning!!

Great job with Max and super catch! You've gotten some great info on how to work those low numbers. I have the "Handling Low Numbers" sticky linked in my signature block...it's probably a good idea to print it and have it
handy for the times when it's slow in LL (middle of the night) but we are lucky to have Serryn on the opposite side of the world and also glad Sandy was up!

Once you get some rest, if you can take a few minutes, we'd really appreciate it if you could do a profile for Max. It allows us a quick reference to see his history, meds, foods, etc. so when we're helping you, if there is anything we need to be aware of, we can find it on his profile. Here are the instructions: Creating a Profile

If you have any problems with the instructions, please let me know and I'll help you.

Also, if you could link your previous day's condo in the current day's condo, we'd appreciate it...it allows us to go back quickly and see any info from the previous day. All you have to do is copy the browser address from the previous day's condo, bring it to the current day's condo, put your cursor in the text box, click on the [url} button and paste it in between the two url boxes so it looks like this: paste your link here

Here's yesterday's condo: 2/4 Condo

Hope you get a few hours to rest! Please let us know of any questions.
 
Re: 02/05 Max +7 = 36 +8=70 + 9=106 +9.5=166

thank you all for your help and suggestions. I'll get his profile set up and see if I can't figure out how to link the previous days condo.

He's dipping again this afternoon but it was his normal feeding time so I went with that and am watching him.

I was considering lowering his pm dose if he stays low.

Thanks also to those who were up at that time. It was long couple of hours.
 
Dawn:

I think you missed Sandy's note last night indicating that Max's numbers warranted a dose reduction. You'll want to reduce by 0.25u.
Sandy & Black Kitty said:
Please test again 30 mins from this reading and post. You may have to guide the cycle for a bit - you want to get Max above 50 and keep him above 50.

...and tomorrow morning reduce the dose by .25u.

When a newly diagnosed cat (i.e., within a year of diagnosis) drops below 50, it's an indication that the dose needs to be reduced. The info on dose reductions is in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky.
 
great catch, dawn! we thought he might be doing that and i'm so glad you were able to catch a number and move him up to a safer zone. really, really glad his dose wasn't increased earlier based upon the high numbers that were popping up.

the way cats go OTJ is through the process you're seeing now. they go below 50 on a particular dose, you bring them up over 50 for safety, then reduce the next dose by .25u.

stay at that newly reduced dose until you see a BG below 50 again.

that process gets repeated (if you're lucky) until the cat has worked off of insulin.

and yes, it's so nice to have someone experienced stay with you when you see low numbers for the first time! isn't this place great?

you're very lucky to be getting a quick response from max like this! wahoo and congrats!!! dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top