02/03 - Bandit - Shot 4 units instead of 2 - PMPS (265) +2(246) +3(235) +4(242)

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Had to increase her dose to 2 units tonight. Used a different syringe without half unit markings and misread the markings and gave her 4 units instead of 2.

Anything to be done except monitor her and give her HC food/honey if she drops?

Considering it is a depot insulin and it is only 1 dose, can I hope that there will be no life-threatening consequences?????

PMPS - 265
 
How far is the vet or emergency vet? Have the number on hand, be ready to go, ideally with another person (one to drive, one to administer honey). In a hypo situation, they can put a cat on a glucose drip and monitor much more closely than you could to keep the cat safe. You may be able to handle this at home, but you should get all the options lined up before the situation goes critical-- this is all stressful enough without searching for phone numbers and all-night vets in the moment!

That said, yes, the fact that it is Lantus means that, while this kind of OD is scary, it might not even result in low numbers tonight. Sometimes, mistakes like these turn into non-events, believe it or not! The thing to do from here is to monitor closely, which I'm sure you are planning to do. Because it is Lantus, if you start to go into hypo territory, it can last for a really long time-- 12+ hours, so factor that into any decision making tonight.

It will be a couple hours before the typical onset for that big dose. Definitely get a +2, maybe even a +1 (it will let you know if she was headed down when the shot came, and influence your decision whether to go to a vet 'early').
 
Hi Bhooma,
I agree with Nan that you should have an emergency plan and that you should monitor carefully and get a +2 so that you can determine if this will be an "active" cycle. Be prepared for a hypo, but don't panic. You know what to do. There have been many instances of mistakes in dosage and almost all of the time the cat was fine. I remember one where a petsitter misread her instructions and gave 30 Units instead of 3.0!
 
Thank you all. Hoping it turns out to be a non-event. Will be monitoring her closely.

She is one bouncy cat, so hopefully her liver will also help out. Though I won't count on that.
 
Echo Sandy. Make a run to store now. Get plenty of higher carb foods and strips. Honey and Karo syrup.

Hope it's not needed but none of it goes bad.

There was a person last year giving adequen and each time (I think it was 3 times) the cat hypo and ended up in ER. Turns out he was giving 40u of R insulin by accident because bottles looked the same.
 
Last edited:
Make sure you have :
  • plenty of strips
  • Some high carb (20% or so) food
  • Karo syrup or honey
if not now is the time to run to the store.

Please post every test result -we will be watching and waiting.

keep calm. Plenty of folks here to guide you
:cool:


@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) I remember that situation-I believe it was Sherman...

+2 is 246. So far so good. :cool:
 
Glad every thing turned out all right. Not to bring you down, but couldn't that extra dose affect the depot for awhile though?

I could definitely see myself doing the same thing because for some morning shots I'm still groggy. Thank goodness for my calipers!
 
Glad every thing turned out all right. Not to bring you down, but couldn't that extra dose affect the depot for awhile though?

I could definitely see myself doing the same thing because for some morning shots I'm still groggy. Thank goodness for my calipers!

You could very well be right and I haven't overlooked the possibility. Plan to monitor her closely for the next couple of cycles.
Thanks for the thoughtful reminder!
 
Yes, it turned out to be an uneventful night, thank God! AMPS - 233

Cannot thank every one enough for your advice and support. :bighug:

Keep a close eye on this next cycle. It’s said a flat yellow cycle can be a heads up that an active cycle is ahead. The action of the double dose may sneak up on you this cycle.

Please also update your spreadsheet and try and keep it current. It makes it easier for folks to quickly size up the whole picture.
 
I presume Disco has approved the new screens and is supervising as you replace them? ;)
10:43pm 260 and this is Disco’s current supervisory position
image.jpg
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 198
I swear I haven’t even been able to determine what Disco’s nadir is since he started on Insulin,

Likewise with Bandit. I think she nadirs around +4 itself. But there are times when she is breaking a bounce and she is low at AMPS/PMPS or sometime before. I have not been able to make any sense of her numbers or predict any patterns. I don't know if that's because she has no fixed meal times (is a grazer) or if I haven't tested enough!
 
Answering your question from Disco's post yesterday:
in situations like this, would a token dose (say 1 unit or less) be preferable to a skipped shot? asking for myself in advance!
Teri is following TR, you are following SLGS - so there are differences. Ideally, if you can monitor, have plenty of test strips and high carb food, shooting full dose is best, provided you have the data and experience to do so. Lantus is great at keeping low numbers flat. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle will still act like you had shot full dose, even if you do shoot a partial dose. And a partial dose depletes the depot and interrupts the cycle count. However, it can be an option if your are nervous, or not able to monitor more than the first part of the cycle. Another option is to delay until numbers rise to a value you are comfortable shooting, provided your schedule can take a delay. The following shot will have to be delayed as well. A delayed shot can act like a reduced dose too.
 
Answering your question from Disco's post yesterday:

Teri is following TR, you are following SLGS - so there are differences. Ideally, if you can monitor, have plenty of test strips and high carb food, shooting full dose is best, provided you have the data and experience to do so. Lantus is great at keeping low numbers flat. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle will still act like you had shot full dose, even if you do shoot a partial dose. And a partial dose depletes the depot and interrupts the cycle count. However, it can be an option if your are nervous, or not able to monitor more than the first part of the cycle. Another option is to delay until numbers rise to a value you are comfortable shooting, provided your schedule can take a delay. The following shot will have to be delayed as well. A delayed shot can act like a reduced dose too.

i think i test often enough to be able to follow TR but Bandit eats YA kibble. also, i have been unable to identify any patterns in her BG - either her behaviour is really random or I am not looking properly!
 
Back
Top