02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 PMPS 290 back to U of M tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Afternoon,

Tuesday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35785

Since Whiskers numbers have come down we have a problem. We have 5 pets. How do I leave food out for Whiskers and make sure the other pets don't eat it?

Any Ideas or suggestions are appreciated.

Whiskers AMPS was a little high because we overslept again this morning.

Have a great day. :razz:
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

I am not sure. Are all pets able to get up to higher heights than Whiskers?
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

I've got no answers on the feeding question, but just wanted to drop in and say how great it is that Whiskers' numbers are coming down!! :)

Hope you guys are having a great day!
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

Hi, Cheryl & Whiskers.. great news on the #s.. I gave my input when you asked this question yesterday.. hopefully someone will have some suggestions.
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

don't know if it will help but what i do is feed Mousie on the kitchen table and the others on the floor. this worked for years as Mousie was the only one who would get up on the table. with these treacherous treedweller cats I have now, ohmygod_smile it doesn't work as well as I have caught them up on the table but Mousie still seems to get her fair share.

also, i freeze wet food (mixed with a little water) in ice cube trays. right before we leave the house in the morning i put 2 or 3 frozen cubes on each food plate. as they thaw, the kitties have lunch......
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

I have only one other kitty, and she is a food hog.
Knowing my kitties well, and knowing how to "trick" the civie, I leave extra bowls out in spots where Luna has his naps.
I also stuff the civie first before leaving for the day and when I see her having her bath, I know she is down for the count.

A couple of auto feeders might help too, leap frogging each other, so food is always available at different times., stuffing one kitty at a time, so to speak, lol
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

ronnie...rotflmao!

Cheryl, i have to separate mine, due to Smudge's piggish nature her years of neglect ensure that she eats ANYTHING she can get to, even after she's stuffed
...if i leave, the girls stay in the bedroom.
of course, i'm also a little worried that they'd fight...

best of luck with it!
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

I have no answer for you. I too have multi pets, and have yet to some up with a solution. Mannie is fed on the table as the eldest does not go there, but it didn't take the other long to figure out that his food is up there. Short of having Whiskers in his own space/room i just don't know... I wish you luck!

I think it was you that asked the other day in Mannie's condo about the nanners. My apologies if not. I had meant to answer the next day, and then the board crashed... anyways - I found mine through amazon. here's the link - it describes them fairly well. NANNERS
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 How do I leave food out w/multi

Hi,

Karrie - All the cats can get up as high as Whiskers, in fact Whiskers will catupult herself across one counter top to the other counter top where we put two civvie bowls just to get at them (Whiskers finds it diffucult, but can get on breakfast countertop because there are counter high chairs at the breakfast countertop)

Michelle - I looked up the Nanners, I can see why Mannie loves them (and guards it) :lol: .

Celi - we too have a couple pets with piggish natures (unfortuantly Whiskers is one of them) :lol: :lol: .

Cindy - I think I will try the frozen food in ice cube trays, I'll let you know if it works. I'll test it on a weekend and see who ends up with it. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ronnie - I'd also like to give the auto feeders a try. Does anyone know where they have the best prices?

Thanks everyone, Have a wonderful night :razz:
 
Re: 02/02 Whiskers AMPS 295 PMPS 290

Hi,

Whiskers AMPS and PMPS are so close to pink today. I know it is the nadir that matters, it seems like when we increase the dose she does ok for a couple days, than the numbers start to creep up again. I just don't want her body being used to those higher numbers.

We go back to the U of M tomorrow to recheck her electrolyte levels. I did a little checking on line and one reason for electrolyte imbalance can be the use of corticosteroids. Whiskers ear meds, first Zymox hc for 10 days, than Mometomax for 7 days, both contain steroids...so I ask the vet. We finished the Mometomax last night. It is so nice to see pink ears, so pretty (instead of brown gunk)

She is also having an abdominal ultrasound. If you can keep us in your prayers we appreciate it.

Our hearts go out to Claudia and Rocket, and Ele and Blackie, and Denise and Shakes.

Have a nice night. cat_pet_icon .

P.S Miss Witty just jumped up on the bed and started to purr, I think we are going to turn in for the night.
 
hi again Cheryl

I believe PetSmart may have the best prices for the autofeeders...check online when you have some time.
I got lucky up here, since I have no Petsmart near me, I ordered it via my local pet store for about $65 (Canadian$$)

here is the link to the PetSafe...I have both of these...the two meal is pretty good, but it doesn't make much "noise" when it pops open...the 5 meal is more soundable to kitties and they come running to it. You can use wet food in these, they have space underneath for a little cold pack too.

http://www.petsafe.net/Products/Feed-an ... matic.aspx

I hope everything goes well for you guys today. (((((hugs))))
 
Good luck at the UofM today!!! Will be watching for updates. You should ask about the RO water when you are there so we can see what the specialist thinks about this for non renal kitties.
 
I would also let the vet know that you were feedig a raw diet without the additional supplements.

Also, remember to start a new condo for today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top