Laurasboyz
Member Since 2020
Hi!
I haven't posted for months now, but I do check in to read the board time to time.
I changed from TR in September and Toeby's been doing pretty well.
Currently, if his preshots are 144 (8 mmol/L) or less, I proceed with caution - I either give him a minimal amount of insulin, or I skip the dose altogether.
I'm not recommending this to anyone - this is not SLGS protocol, but it's what our vet feels comfortable with, and this explains some of the numbers on his spreadsheet.
Pre-op urinalysis we did this week showed no sugar in his urine, which was good to hear.
He's dropped low into bright green on two cycles since the New Year and I made reductions in his base dose.
He's been doing very well on 1 mg of budesonide every other day for his IBD symptoms.
I had to wait 3 months for a cardiologist to check his heart and make recommendations for anesthetic for possible dental surgery, and having had that appointment 2 weeks ago, he's having a full dental and probably some extractions tomorrow. Today he got some subQ fluids to help protect his kidneys.
I am wondering if board members might have any advice for me on what I might expect as a result of the anesthetic and surgery, as far as his blood sugar is concerned.
I'm sure his appetite will be affected, which will mean perhaps having to be more careful with giving him insulin?
If anyone could give me the benefit of their experience, or advice, I would love to read it.
I hope everyone is keeping well.
Laura
I haven't posted for months now, but I do check in to read the board time to time.
I changed from TR in September and Toeby's been doing pretty well.
Currently, if his preshots are 144 (8 mmol/L) or less, I proceed with caution - I either give him a minimal amount of insulin, or I skip the dose altogether.
I'm not recommending this to anyone - this is not SLGS protocol, but it's what our vet feels comfortable with, and this explains some of the numbers on his spreadsheet.
Pre-op urinalysis we did this week showed no sugar in his urine, which was good to hear.
He's dropped low into bright green on two cycles since the New Year and I made reductions in his base dose.
He's been doing very well on 1 mg of budesonide every other day for his IBD symptoms.
I had to wait 3 months for a cardiologist to check his heart and make recommendations for anesthetic for possible dental surgery, and having had that appointment 2 weeks ago, he's having a full dental and probably some extractions tomorrow. Today he got some subQ fluids to help protect his kidneys.
I am wondering if board members might have any advice for me on what I might expect as a result of the anesthetic and surgery, as far as his blood sugar is concerned.
I'm sure his appetite will be affected, which will mean perhaps having to be more careful with giving him insulin?
If anyone could give me the benefit of their experience, or advice, I would love to read it.
I hope everyone is keeping well.
Laura

