02/02 Eddie AMPS 238 +3 212 +5 194 PMPS 374 +2 +4 245

Poor Eddie, hopefully he'll get over his vet stress soon with some cuddles from you. Sorry to hear he's red at the shaved area. My vet tries to draw blood without shaving.

I tried not to laugh at yesterday's vet trip drama. It reminded me of the time Neko peed on the vet's shoe as she was trying to draw blood and urine. Not her favourite vetty.
 
Poor Eddie, hopefully he'll get over his vet stress soon with some cuddles from you. Sorry to hear he's red at the shaved area. My vet tries to draw blood without shaving.

I tried not to laugh at yesterday's vet trip drama. It reminded me of the time Neko peed on the vet's shoe as she was trying to draw blood and urine. Not her favourite vetty.
LOL! I have to say Eddie was really well-behaved when we were at the vet, given that he had never met this particular vet. I have had to go to a regular vet in the same clinic as the internist because he can't seem to fathom that I need to deal directly with him. I have to admit to being disappointed in this vet. I had brought the SS and she didn't "have time" to look at it. I also described TR to her and she kind of gets it but will have nothing to do with talking about IAA ("I don't really know") and the internist dismisses it. She was pressing me about getting a CT scan and that it should be done by a specialist not done in a clinic and sent off for interpretation. I reminded her that even if I was going to get a CT scan that all the roads were absolutely treacherous and she said, "Well, you can go when the roads clear", as if it was just a matter of hopping in the car with Eddie. She told me when she came into the room that she had "just read" Eddie's file and admits his is a "complex" case. I feel disgusted by the lack of actual care. I got more from the vet tech who came into the room prior to the "exam" (looked in mouth, said teeth need attention but acknowledge dangers of anesthesia), looked at coat, listened to heart ($86.00).

She was saying that everything to do with Eddie ought to be done by the original diagnostician, which just happens to the internist who saw the tumour on the pituitary but couldn't make a definitive diagnosis because he "doesn't do acromegaly". The CT was sent to WSU and they recommended the hypophysectomy and then afterwards, radiation (could not get all of the tumour). Where is the originator? No one. The vet said "there are too many cooks" and "you may be one of them." I said, "well, it's my kitchen and I'm with Eddie trying to navigate and ensure his care. I am so annoyed with them. None of them, except the vets at WSU (Tina Owen, Annie Chen-Allen, Linda Martin) and at VCA Victoria (Genevieve Hammond). All I have to do with these folks is send them an email and they offer to help in one way or another. Why? Not because they have treated a cat. But because they have treated Blue and now Eddie. These cats are unique individuals to them and they go beyond the call of duty, in my books.

The only thing I was able to get from yesterday is the blood draw and urinalysis being sent to IDEXX. And for that? Approximately $700.00. If I could do without them I would. But they write prescriptions and authorize tests.
 
Ugh! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Hypophysectomy followed by SRT is rather unique, so I can see that point. But it shouldn't stop them from trying and reaching out to other vets who do have experience.

You know my thoughts on a CT scan, which is still the same danger as the anaesthesia needed for dental. Do you have a vet dental specialist in your city? If his mouth is inflamed, that would explain a rise in numbers.
 
Ugh! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Hypophysectomy followed by SRT is rather unique, so I can see that point. But it shouldn't stop them from trying and reaching out to other vets who do have experience.

You know my thoughts on a CT scan, which is still the same danger as the anaesthesia needed for dental. Do you have a vet dental specialist in your city? If his mouth is inflamed, that would explain a rise in numbers.

Actually, the point is that they are not taking the time to read all of the relevant materials regarding Eddie's particular issues. And, when I attempt to get answers it's usually a kind of "that's not my department" attitude. Remember the internist said I needed to bring Eddie to see a regular vet (same clinic) because his involvement is limited to internal medicine. One question I asked about BG was met with, well, that's more [the internist's purview] and he's the one, you might recall who is there two days/week and is the only internist in BC interior.
There is a dental specialist: I was already warned against her by the internist who says (rightly, I think) that her usual surgery is about 3 hours and that's too long to be under anesthesia. it's damned if I do and damned if I don't. I do believe his numbers are associated in one way or another with his dental issues but what can be done. Anesthesia for a CT scan is 20 minutes, for dental work, far beyond.

But of course they can say his dentals need attention while saying that anesthesia is really risky.
 
3 hour dental surgery! :eek: Neko's were a lot shorter. Including the one that involved taking a growth off her jaw bone. (acro related). Too bad it's too long a drive to Vancouver.

Sometimes you can find general practice vets who have a special interest in dentistry. I know of one here.
 
My head is spinning just reading all that. Pippi had a dental done by our regular vet and had 2-3 teeth removed and it was a very quick thing. 3 hours... yikes.

Anyway looks like a nice day for Eddie!
 
My head is spinning just reading all that. Pippi had a dental done by our regular vet and had 2-3 teeth removed and it was a very quick thing. 3 hours... yikes.

Anyway looks like a nice day for Eddie!

I should have checked Eddie after +5 but I was working. It was @ +5 194. Who knows if he went lower and he probably did. Anyway, this might be the bounce, I guess.

As for the 3 hour surgery: apparently this is what's involved when removing lower canines because they are part of the jaw, which can be tricky. I don't know if this pertains to Eddie, but I do know that he needs dental so I'm going to have to figure out something...
 
He didn't drop much in the two hours from +3 to +5, if he went lower it wouldn't have been by much.

Too bad the vet couldn't have taken a better look at the mouth and given a quick idea of what was in there.
 
He didn't drop much in the two hours from +3 to +5, if he went lower it wouldn't have been by much.

Too bad the vet couldn't have taken a better look at the mouth and given a quick idea of what was in there.
Actually, the vet said there were some teeth subject to resorption. As I mentioned, she was all about "he needs dental" but then warning about anesthesia. I'm going to see if I can find a vet here in Kelowna that might be able to do a better evaluation of Eddie's dental condition.

P..s. given Eddie's insulin dosage 8u, do you think we ought to be considering a small increase after a few more cylces?
 
Back
Top