02/01 Casper AMPS 428, +3 269, +6 342, +9 378, PMPS 402

Yuling & Casper (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning all,

Made the switch from Alphatrak 2 to human meter Contour NextOne today. Casper's BG was quite high last night, even at PM +6, pet meter read at HI.
This morning AMPS with Contour is 428, gave him 0.5U as scheduled, if his BG remains high today, shall we adjust the dose to 0.75U again? Plan to give him Sub-Q fluid later today as well. The Miralax works well btw, only gave him 1/16 teaspoon yesterday, along with his daily probiotic.
Previous thread
 
Good morning all,

Made the switch from Alphatrak 2 to human meter Contour NextOne today. Casper's BG was quite high last night, even at PM +6, pet meter read at HI.
This morning AMPS with Contour is 428, gave him 0.5U as scheduled, if his BG remains high today, shall we adjust the dose to 0.75U again? Plan to give him Sub-Q fluid later today as well. The Miralax works well btw, only gave him 1/16 teaspoon yesterday, along with his daily probiotic.
Previous thread
Given the low #s on the 30th, per TR guidelines I don't think he's earned an increase just yet...but I know he's had a rough week so interested what others have to say. It looks like he might be coming off the bounce though!
 
I don't think he's earned an increase just yet.
No problem. Won't change the dose unless we all agreed, let's see how's his BG today. Hopefully, he's coming off the bounce.
I will do the fluid and keep him up with his kidneys' needs, those "HI" readings just make me extremely nervous. Other than that, he's eating, drinking quite well, been up this morning walking around like normal.
 
Now lock your pet meter away :joyful:

Glad the miralax worked out! I'm not sure on dosing though you are right that you are at 6 cycles - no idea if you need to hold for the initial 5-7 days since you are somewhat restarting - I'm sure @tiffmaxee will stop by when she can.

How's Casper feeling? Still eating on his own? Hopefully he's on the mend :bighug:
 
Now lock your pet meter away :joyful:
That pet meter gave me some gray hair in the past month, I have no problem putting that away whatsoever.
We are on the 6th cycle, we can hold it for couple more days, just in case if he's coming off some sort of bounce. His BG has been crazy like this, every time I see the hopeful shining light, there goes the changes.
Casper is doing well today, he still wouldn't eat by himself if it's not shrimp or FF chicken fillet, he's drinking well; walked around quite a while this morning, now he's resting on his post and staring at the dog with the contemptuous look...
 
You aren’t really starting over. Did you totally discard your old ss? I’d like to look at it.
 
If you do not see better numbers today or tonight I would consider an increase tomorrow morning but let’s see all the numbers today and tonight. The bg readings will be a bit lower on the human meter so switching meters is not a concern for me.
 
Ok Thanks. I would go back up either tonight or tomorrow morning, whichever you prefer in case you get a big reaction to the first or second cycle unless you see a bg change today.
 
He’s coming down so I think we will probably hold for tonight but let’s see what happens.
 
Last edited:
Actually that’s not true. Some cats nadir as early as +4 and some late in the cycle, even at preshot! When are you feeding him, how much each time , and what percent carbs? I would start keeping track on your ss in the comments section.
 
Today he is eating Royal Canin Renal Support E, yesterday he was eating Blue Natural KM which suppose to have no-carb, still, his BG was high all day.
We gave him 2 tablespoons at +3 and +6, BG check before feeding.
 
*S!!!!!!!! That's the whole issue!!!!! Thought that has no carb. according to Tanya's low phos food. My fault! Switching now! Thank you Elise!!!!!
Go back to regular food but add phos-bind?
 
The Royal canin is 27% carbs. The Blue she wrote NA because she didn’t get the carbs from Blue. All kidney food will be lower protein and higher carb. If it turns out the kidney disease is really advanced it will be needed. His phosphorus is not high at this time but slightly above 5.0 so you dint want it higher. I’m honestly not sure what his main issue is yet. With a creatinine of 2.0 and bun only slightly above normal I dint know that a kidney diet is needed yet. I’d be feeding a food with phosphorus around 1.0 and the lowest carbs you can find that has a lowish phosphorus. See what his levels are as he recovers. How is he acting today?
 
The Blue she wrote NA because she didn’t get the carbs from Blue.
Thought I ruled out the ones she did not get any response. Anyway, thanks for the detailed explanation.
He has been doing great actually, eating, drinking, grooming, wants attention all the time, walks around the house, and smacked the dog a couple of times.
My old vet and Dr. Hadar were saying his issues were caused by high bg. When his BG is not under control, excessive toxins are released to his kidneys; especially when he is dehydrated, which puts him even at higher risk for chronic renal failure. I Will save these cans for low readings and I can always offer them to my other 16-year-old kitty, she had CKD back in October, we put her on a kidney diet since then.
 
I agree with Elise...looks like the wrong food. Maybe once you switch to a low carb - hopefully something like Fancy Feast pate's? Those numbers will come down.

Also, if you could please put your spreadsheets back together - it's difficult for us to get a picture of everything that's going on when we can only see one month at a time...

And one more tiny request - if you could label your SS tab - if you right click on it you can write 2021 there and save it...should appear then as the year rather than BG...

Thank you so much! This will make looking at Casper's SS easier in the future for everyone. Let's get that fellow back into some better numbers soon.

Have a great evening!
 
I think the food is contributing to the higher bg. I’m still wanting him to be normal long enough to see if his kidney values get even better. When bg is above renal threshold for long periods it can effect the bg. That’s why when vets say it’s fine for them to be over 350 it makes me crazy. It takes time for most but the lucky to get regulated. That’s not going to hurt the kidneys long term.
 
Now that. Know he’s been eating hc we might not increase in the morning. How many days has he been eating this food?
 
Since the 29th, except the 30th (He had Tiki succulent chicken on that day) That's what is written on his discharge papers: Kidney veterinary diet is required with daily probiotics.
Stopped the kidney diet food right away after 3PM today. He licked ff, walked away.
 
You think he prefers the renal food? If so it’s important that he eat so if necessary feed him that and we will adjust insulin as needed.
 
You think he prefers the renal food
Hell no! Just like any diet food, he is not crazy with them at all. Before he becomes diabetic, he eats fancy feast pates and Nutro pates. We can stick to the FF, I will make sure he still has the ff chicken fillet as late night dinner. No more kidney diet.
 
The ff pates are high phosphorus so it it turns out Casper does have CKD you will need to find other regular lc foods he likes that are lower phosphorus. For now let him eat lc and enjoy his food until you are sure where things stand. That’s what I would do anyways.
 
Back
Top