02/01/2022 Leo AMPS 317/ PMPS 385

Thanks, everyone, for all the feedback and help. 1.25 tonight. Those earlier better BG range numbers looked so promising. Now to look over the suggested SS so I can get a better expectation and not be such a cry baby.

THANK YOU!

PRIOR: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ps-492-3-577-6-377-9-431.258659/#post-2908026
Hi you still need to decide what dosing method you want to follow, I know members will keep asking you so
That way when you’re asking for help adjusting the dose, you’ve got some idea of whether you need an increase or have questions etc.

With TR you really need at least two tests per cycle which you are already doing for the morning. You need some mid cycle tests to catch the nadir as well.

You really need to be getting some night time test in during that cycle, most cats drop lower at night
whether you pick TR or SLGS, getting those before bed tests sure can help fill in some details. Many kitties like to go lower at night, but hard to know without getting those tests in. , right now you are just seeing half the picture. It might be that he's having some lower numbers at night and bouncing during the day.

The more data you have the better, mix up the testing times, like filling in pieces of a puzzle
@Mom of 3 Fur Babies











.
 
Last edited:

Thank you.
I found a comment by Becky Van Cleave:
"SLGS means start low, go slow. This is what is recommended for all newbies! You have a great starting dose (low) and so now you want to keep it at that dose for 7 days (slow). In that time get your tests whenever you can- the more the better, but do what you can. After one week, you pick a day (weekend or a day off) and you do a ‘curve’ on your cat. That is where you will test every two hours from the AMPM (morning preshot test) to the PMPS (nighttime preshot). For the curve, you stop feeding you cat as usual the 2 hours before the AMPS, then after the shot you let your day go as normal. You will test every two hours, so at +2,+4,+6,+8,+10, WITH HOLD food, PMPS- done. During the day it’s perfectly fine to feed your cat! Just make a note of when they ate so you can see the affects of the food on your cat. Then, based on the curve, you and your vet (or the admins if you first them) will decide if it’s time to raise the dose. We usually go in 0.25U increments, but if a cat is very high or dropping too low, 0.5U may necessary. Then you hold the dose for another week and repeat the curve. Once you get the hang of testing and you get a lot of data on your cat, you can look into TR (Tight Regulation). That’s a much more aggressive dosing protocol where you increase/decrease doses faster- BUT you MUST be able to test as the cats can drop quickly and may need intervention. However, TR has been shown to have a good success rate of getting cats into remission ((those that have no other health issues th
SLGS means start low, go slow. This is what is recommended for all newbies! You have a great starting dose (low) and so now you want to keep it at that dose for 7 days (slow). In that time get your tests whenever you can- the more the better, but do what you can. After one week, you pick a day (weekend or a day off) and you do a ‘curve’ on your cat. That is where you will test every two hours from the AMPM (morning preshot test) to the PMPS (nighttime preshot). For the curve, you stop feeding your cat as usual the 2 hours before the AMPS, then after the shot you let your day go as normal. You will test every two hours, so at +2,+4,+6,+8,+10, WITH HOLD food, PMPS- done. During the day it’s perfectly fine to feed your cat! Just make a note of when they ate so you can see the affects of the food on your cat. Then, based on the curve, you and your vet (or the admins if you first them) will decide if it’s time to raise the dose. We usually go in 0.25U increments, but if a cat is very high or dropping too low, 0.5U may necessary. Then you hold the dose for another week and repeat the curve. Once you get the hang of testing and you get a lot of data on your cat, you can look into TR (Tight Regulation). That’s a much more aggressive dosing protocol where you increase/decrease doses faster- BUT you MUST be able to test as the cats can drop quickly and may need intervention. However, TR has been shown to have a good success rate of getting cats into remission ((those that have no other health issues that would make it not possible))."

I can see going SLGS for a little while longer, and then TR. Does this happen very often?
 
Back
Top