01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155~+4.5 64~+5 48!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning LL
+3 351

Yesterday's Excitement

So Max and I are late posting our condo this morning because Max decided to throw a 97 at
+4 PMPS, whith 2 hours more to go before his usual nadir. +4 was 11:00 pm last night.
Condsidering the pink day he had I just took his BT reading and thought I was good to go.

Nope, Max had other plans for us. All I can say is that "the low number instruction list" that
I was planning on working on for DPS, and myself easier is now with first hand experience.
With amazing support through the wee hours of the night, Max and I controlled this beautiful green surf down to 59 by feeding 2tsp LC and testing every 30 minutes, until finally we saw the rise at 91. At 3:15 am so after his shot this morning, this bean went btb!!

Needless to say, Max's AMPS did not register on the Relion this morning.
WCR: Max was and is totally amazing after the pokefest we had going last night. Back and forth between the kitchen and his chair for testing. I have to say the he towards the end of it he was trying to push my hand off his ear with his paw.
It will be interesting to see how hard and long he will bounce.
Oh and BTW, we have LB action, both kinds. I found my cat attract sprinkles!

WBR: Going to need lots of coffee today and will be insearch of advils for the lovely headache now.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI

Sounds like the bean needs more btb time!

I hope Max clears the rebound quickly. At least you don't have to worry about his numbers for a little while. You did great last night.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI

Nice work last night!
His +3 is already better than AMPS.....
You know what today is.... (or likely is) it's Save-a-strip day!
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Well I decided to give Max a bit of a break after last night's session.
He has been sleeping all morning on his chair.

+3 351
+6 266

I am very happy with these nice slow downward numbers considering how long he was green last night. I think his body is learning we can do it!!

Just carried him into the kitchen for food. I want to retrain him to come for the food rather than being brought to him. I can't always be here to feed him. lol
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Goodness, what a nite that must have been!

It's good to see that Max gave those :mrgreen: a good sample, and also good that he's coming down nice and slow from that huge bounce.

Max,
Those :mrgreen: are your goal. Go nice and slow, but that's where you're headed. We know you can do it now, so let's try a few more.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Goodness, what a nite that must have been!

Was it ever. For sure I won't complain but man did he have to do that to me at 11:00pm??
I was up until 3:45 than back awake at 6:30 to do the morning routine. I went btb after that but woke at +3 to see where he was heading. That's one thing I don't like about the Relion over the OTU. It stops at 500 so I have no idea how high he really is.

I am glad I was so wide awake last night. No nerves but I guess the adreniline kicked in. We had a great system going and he knew it too. I'm glad I was able to log on to my daughter's FB and play her FV, she has more neighbours than I do so I was able to occupy myself and stay awake between the food and tests.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

What a nite you had!!! I was working but sorry I missed the action!--So glad to see this wonderful change in Max--
That's because of you! Great job Randi! Now let's see where Maxie goes! Hugs~! you need em" :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Hi Randi

just want to remind you...u can't ask kitties to do what you want when you want silly!! :lol:

I'm very glad he choose a Saturday nite thou - and very impressed with your handy work. Glad u had the help when u needed it.

Well done! :thumbup
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

verra good night last night, Max, let's do it again!

Good job Randi, now you know how you can control Max's numbers with food, now you have the power!
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Libby and Lucy said:
Good job Randi, now you know how you can control Max's numbers with food, now you have the power!

So now I want to prepare a "cheat sheet", aka, instructions for pet sitter.
I think what happened last night is good for me to follow but all of this happened early in the cycle, before nadir.
Is there anything I need to know if numbers ar low in the second half of the cycle or just let him surf?

Also, don't think I'm crazy but tonight is 10th cycle at 5.75 and we gave seen a lot of action.
Am I holding this for tomorrow AM shot or increase to 6u?
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Hold this dose, it gave Max green so there's no need to increase. We want to see if he can get back to green again once rebound clears.

When handling low numbers later in the cycle, the main difference is that usually low carb food is all that's needed to stop a drop or bring up a low number after nadir. You should still feed, then test again in 30 minutes or so to be sure it worked.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Randi,
You DO know why nothing happened till 11pm, right? You likely looked really tired and you were on your way to bed; what better time to mess up the bean's schedule? haha_smiley
I think by now you know to expect the unexpected.
Thank goodness for FV on FB! haha_smiley

Max,
We would like to see no bouncing, and just a nice steady downward heading string of numbers.
Please let your bean know what sort of incentives will be sufficient for you.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

What a night you guys had last night. Now Max, we know you can hit those greens so let's go slow and steady and work back towards them. No more plummets though and no bounce either :-D

FV is a godsend to calm you down when you are stressed. Keeps the mind occupied.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266

Gayle, he so knew I was going to bed. Smarty pants that he is.
He showed me all right. Lets give Mommy bean lousy pink numbers all day, start off red and
then I'll show her who's the boss. :mrgreen:

I'm so glad it was me for the first time. I just wrote out my cheat sheet so i can leave
it for DPS tomorrow morning.

Is this done all the time when they hit these numbers??
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

So do you know the saying be careful what you wish for, your dreams might just come through?

Well after last night's event, Max's PMPS is 289.
Should I be testing him every hour to see where this is going ?
This is the 3rd time that I have shot a yellow number and never a PMPS.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

+1 (up to u)
+2 I would
+3 of course!
+5 and or +6 yes!

can u set an alarm tonight for the late one? might be worth it :mrgreen:
God I wish I was there - I'm itching to test Max!!


AWESOME MAX!!! just the bestest PMPS!!!
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

Ronnie & Luna said:
+1 (up to u)
+2 I would
+3 of course!
+5 and or +6 yes!

Come on Ronnie, are you slacking. What happened to +4???? :lol: :lol:

I wish you were here too to test him. I need sleep tonight.
But you know me, I will be up as long as it takes
I'll be updating his ss as I go along. Hope I can find him. Guess he's feeling better because
he took off and no clue where he is yet. (in the house)
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

I've never liked +4

too square
:lol:

the ball is in ur court, are ya ready to play?
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

Ronnie & Luna said:
I've never liked +4
too square
the ball is in ur court, are ya ready to play?

I like my +4. lol
Am I ready to play? No. I am low on my pure snacks after the testing frenzy yesterday and did not get a chance to pick up more today. Guess I will be frugal with my doling them out, plus DPS will need tomorrow. Might have to pull out some tuna tomorrow if this continues.
Okay, +1 coming up!
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

don't let Ronnie corrupt you! You don't have to test every hour in the 200's. :smile:

My favorite test for Lucy was +3 because that showed me whether we were going to have an exciting evening or if I could go to bed. Of course if you shoot lower you have to test earlier but in the 200's or 300's I would usually aim for +3. Any earlier than that and you risk seeing pink from a food spike. :lol:
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289

Libby and Lucy said:
don't let Ronnie corrupt you! You don't have to test every hour in the 200's.

She already has, lol.
You're right about food spike, He's up a bit at +1 to 304.
I'll see what happens at +3. That's when he usually kicks in too.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155

+3 done, dropping nicely to 155.

Might see green again. I have a question though.

I know Max needs to be monitored but does this mean I start trying to function without sleep? I really don't know how to word this but is there a point reached where it stops?
I will do what I need to do for Max...Am I making any sense?
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155

I really don't know how to word this but is there a point reached where it stops?
I will do what I need to do for Max...Am I making any sense?

yes there is a point where u can feel comfy enough to go to bed, and that comes as u learn how to "handle" those low numbers and the more u do it the more comfy u get and after all - u know ur cat best.

study ur SS after those things happen, u'll see his habits and patterns, not to say he wont pull a fast one on u, cuz he will and he already has :lol:
but the more it happens, the better u get at handling it.
It helps too, to look in on some other condo's where the bean has been thru this before and you'll pick up on when "they" feel its ok to go to bed or leave.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155

Thanks for the pep talk Ronnie.
I'm used to studying spreadsheets but never thought they would be BB testing ones, lol.
I think I'm understanding Max better, or as well as a bean can of a cat, just the thought of managing on 3 hours of sleep per night with kids and word, yikes.
We will see what happens at next test.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155~+4.5 64

Oh yeah Ronnie. (not)
Looks like Max is planning on giving me another sleepless night.
Work will not be fun tomorrow.
I don't know how I'm going to function. Yikes!!

Fed 2 tsp LC and will test in half hour.
I guess I gotta do what I did last night. Keep him surfing these greens until he turns?

Any condos that you know of that I could start trolling ss's so I could learn some more?

You see +4!!!! Got to love those square numbers.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155~+4.5 64

you always have the option of feeding HC if you need to go to bed and he's surfing lower than you want. If you HC, then you would be looking for a good rise, or preferably 2 rising numbers before sleepus.

Otherwise once he starts surfing it's usually ok to sleep. Like right now I wouldn't because he dropped a lot in an hour and a half, but if you get two more tests and both are in the 60's or 70's then ni-ni.
 
Re: 01/31 MAX AMPS HI~+6 266~ PMPS 289~+3 155~+4.5 64

Someone said it the other day -
Sleep is highly overrated haha_smiley

Good luck with the numbers and hope you are able to fit in a short bean nap tonite.
 
Ugh, sorry. It looks like you will be up for a bit.

Max is a bit late with his drops huh? He waited till 11pm last nite I think.
It's a good thing you just went through this situation, so it's all fresh for you.
Hope the foods helps to slow Max down.
 
ps. I think Max has earned a dose reduction! If he bounces high in the morning you can shoot the old dose one more time, then reduce in the evening.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
ps. I think Max has earned a dose reduction! If he bounces high in the morning you can shoot the old dose one more time, then reduce in the evening.

How did you know I was thinking of that Libby.
I have a print out of J&A and cant' find the food I have. I have tuna feast with gravy and chicken with gravy but don't know that carb content. Fancy Feast. Whcih do you think is better?
Going to test again. 15 minutes and I'm getting a tad nervous.

Okay 5.5 we are at 60.
 
Okay the tuna says grilled - it is shredded and has gravy.
The chicken says marinated, chinks in gravy too. He ate the tuna.

What do I do now. do I give him some more food now?
 
I was looking back to last nite's adventures, dunno where everyone went...I guess to bed :o when this was happening to be at this point, I would give a bit LC, as they say - to put him on the surfy board.
 
Yup looks like they all went to bed, except us.

+6 78. We did it. Nice little rise, controlled with food. 2 tsp of LG maybe tsp of Gravy from the tuna, OKay I let him have bit of the tuna.

Going to feed him again and leaved fod for whatever is left of the night.
I'm going to go to bed too. It will take a while to wind down from this.

Thanks for being here.
 
So Randi...know much about power napping?
:lol:
You get a good alarm clock and set it hour-by-hour. It is not easy though ....
it's exciting...but it's not easy. I am glad for Max but I can totally relate to what you are going through....
((Randi))
sometimes when they get a dosecrease, it takes awhile before the totally exciting fun comes again... ECID...
you might get rests in between but you always have to get the crucial checks just in case....
then, like Ronnie..you will be done with shooting. altogether..
Great job tonight!! :YMHUG:
 
Max earned the reduction. If you want to sleep, you can give some MC or HC and call it a night. If you want to stay up all night with Ronnie, feed LC. (Just kidding Ronnie!!)
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
So Randi...know much about power napping?
That will so look good at my desk Pat. Just lock my door and snooze, lol.
I can't believe I'm saying this but its good that my girsl aren't here or I would have to deal with all the school and carpool.
Ronnie & Luna said:
oh thats it?
its over with?
oh
You are so funny. I picture a little girl holding a balloon that just popped. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Or. something else but I heard this site was rated G, lol.
My good friends, thanks for sharing this. I actually did not want him to hit the 40's and get a dosecrease. Jill said last night that he was not on this dose that long and considering his past pinks and reds its good to hold a dose that is working. Guess we shall see what tomorrow brings.
Sienne and Gabby said:
Max earned the reduction. If you want to sleep, you can give some MC or HC and call it a night. If you want to stay up all night with Ronnie, feed LC. (Just kidding Ronnie!!)
Oh Sienne, you have me cracking up. That is hysterical. I'll go for the combo and call it a night. 5 hours of sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top