01/31 Kabosu 338 AMPS no nadirs below 300

Dasha and Kabosu

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone,

After 6 cycles at ~2.5 units of Lantus, I'm not seeing any nadirs below 300...

Kabosu's pancreatitis test came positive again, he is now on Canigest gel 3ml twice a day, Losec Mups 1/2 tablet twice a day, Gabapentin 1/2 capsule twice a day, subcutaneous fluids 10ml 2-3 times a day. He has also received an antibiotic injection on Thursday for his UTI: he was previously on doxybactin, which was upsetting his stomach.

He's a shared cat, his other humans have many other cats, and sometimes don't prevent him from stealing other cats' milk/food. I know that, because when I take him from there his BG is usually around 400.
Here he is only on wet low-carb food: currently Lilly's Kitchen Catch of the Day and Bozita Fish. We try to keep with us as much as we can, but honestly, even on the days he is only here his nadirs are very high.

Is it time to try 3U?
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-27-kabosu-311-amps-362-pmps.242190/#post-2728970
 
Does he eat dry food at all? If so you don’t want to increase until 7 days at a dose. He has a lot going on and eating all these different foods won’t help his IBD/lymphoma either. You are in a tough situation.
 
Last edited:
Does he eat dry food at all?
He does not eat dry food here, but every couple of days the neighbours take him (he loves being at their place, and he's a neighbourhood cat who actually started visiting them before us, so we don't really have any moral right to keep him from seeing them), and I believe he may sometimes steal something inappropriate there.
 
Maybe you need to have a conversation with neighbours? I inderstand what you are saying, but perhaps they will agre with you that if keep him for a while he might get better? Who pays the vet bill?
 
If you can control 90% perhaps TR will work. I do think he needs an increase to 3.0. Id take it and see what we can do about his meals and treats once he’s in better numbers. The longer he’s high, the more juice he will need to bring him down.
 
Maybe you need to have a conversation with neighbours? I inderstand what you are saying, but perhaps they will agre with you that if keep him for a while he might get better? Who pays the vet bill?

I pay the vet bill, but they are much more experienced cat owners. They've probably had more than 10 cats in the last few years, but their philosophy is a bit different. They think Kabosu has lived long enough already, and it's not worth torturing him with all the medical procedures. Unfortunately, for me he is the only kitty, and I really don't want him to die so soon.
 
He’s young! Max lived to 19 and I consider anything under 16 too short a life. Thank you for caring for him.
 
I pay the vet bill, but they are much more experienced cat owners. They've probably had more than 10 cats in the last few years, but their philosophy is a bit different. They think Kabosu has lived long enough already, and it's not worth torturing him with all the medical procedures. Unfortunately, for me he is the only kitty, and I really don't want him to die so soon.
He's only 9! I've never had a cat pass before 15
 
Back
Top