01/31 Binx AMPS 220, +2 297, +4 304, +6 331

Briana + Binx

Active Member
Last post

It's been a while since I last posted... hope everyone and their kitties are doing well!

Binx and I are having a weird time currently. He earned a nice reduction on Jan 14 (that looked like it was going to hold) and then I got horrifically sick until Jan 18 and we had a BCS (didn't have the energy to watch closely) and a fur shot all in that time period. Since then, he's had two increases and we still haven't seen his numbers come down.

At the same time that his numbers started increasing and his dose needed to increase is also the same time I started a new insulin vial. This is the first new vial for me while using the TR method. So I'm wondering, could this new vial be related or is it just the ebbs and flows of feline diabetes? *I realize I also had a fur shot 6 cycles ago and this could be related to that.

Would love to hear others' experience. Thank you!!
 
I also used the Units cell to mark if I did a fur shot, so I could see that in relation to the other units given. I'd mark the dose as 2.5FS or 2.5 PFS for partial fur shot. The RS and FS notes could be put in the Remarks, as which side you shoot does not impact dosing.

I see that there are several cycles where you haven't been able to get a second test that cycle. Without that data, it's harder to see what is happening and whether or not you are missing some lows. For example, I suspect there was a lower number somewhere on the 29th, most likely after +1 at night. Don't know what he did during the AM cycle, and the PM +1 test was before onset so likely he went down even lower. Then there was a bounce the following day which confirmed either a low or a fast drop.

In the past 3 and a half days (including today), you've missed mid cycle tests on 4 of those cycles, or over half. If life circumstances mean you cannot get the testing required to follow Tight Regulation, perhaps SLGS dosing would be a better fit for you. This is a safety concern. A couple weeks ago 2.75 units got him to the 30's, and now you are at 3.0 units. I don't think it's the vial, the amount of testing has also reduced since the vial switch.
 
I also used the Units cell to mark if I did a fur shot, so I could see that in relation to the other units given. I'd mark the dose as 2.5FS or 2.5 PFS for partial fur shot. The RS and FS notes could be put in the Remarks, as which side you shoot does not impact dosing.

I see that there are several cycles where you haven't been able to get a second test that cycle. Without that data, it's harder to see what is happening and whether or not you are missing some lows. For example, I suspect there was a lower number somewhere on the 29th, most likely after +1 at night. Don't know what he did during the AM cycle, and the PM +1 test was before onset so likely he went down even lower. Then there was a bounce the following day which confirmed either a low or a fast drop.

In the past 3 and a half days (including today), you've missed mid cycle tests on 4 of those cycles, or over half. If life circumstances mean you cannot get the testing required to follow Tight Regulation, perhaps SLGS dosing would be a better fit for you. This is a safety concern. A couple weeks ago 2.75 units got him to the 30's, and now you are at 3.0 units. I don't think it's the vial, the amount of testing has also reduced since the vial switch.

Thanks, @Wendy&Neko - I think that is a fair observation and appreciate you pointing it out. Admittedly, after I recovered and saw the high numbers (as well as the FS/BCS), I took it as an opportunity to give his ears a break and in hindsight, that was an inappropriate decision with the TR method. Thanks for flagging - I'll improve the testing and continue to monitor. I've also just got Emla cream from the vet and Ledum ordered, so I hope that will help with the ear pricks.
 
Back
Top