01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 +3 149 +6 228 +9 254 PMPS 308 +3 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,

Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35548

Whiskers has not had an AMPS this low in a couple months. One thing we have done is change the injection site, for better absortion. We used to inject the insulin in her hind quarters, trying to vary the injection shots in a circular pattern. The IM Vet said to enlarge the injection sit to prevent scarring(not absorbed as well), and for better absorbion. Something is bringing her numbers down. We have been waiting for this day, but I'm actually a little concerned and nervous, We are so used to having Whiskers numbers be a lot higher, I'm just not sure what to do with lower numbers. Is it ok?
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225

Hi, Cheryl & Whiskers.. great to see her in better #s.
I shoot Baby in the side of the chest & belly.. alternating both sides, etc. I also believe this is important to not shoot the same area always :-D
Have a great day!
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225

Cheryl & Whiskers said:
Something is bringing her numbers down. We have been waiting for this day, but I'm actually a little concerned and nervous, We are so used to having Whiskers numbers be a lot higher, I'm just not sure what to do with lower numbers. Is it ok?

You just gave Whiskers an large increase in dose. That would most likely be the reason for the lower numbers. :mrgreen:

The lower numbers ARE good AND ok. But you do need to monitor to make sure they are not going too low and that Whiskers is getting too much insulin.

Are you around to do another curve today?

Here is a good link with photos of possible places to inject:
http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx?cat=7001&id=7374
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225

Hi Carolyn,

Thank you for the link to injection sites, it is very helpful. Yes I can do another curve today.

I hope you and Duchess have a nice sunday. cat_pet_icon .

P.S. can anyone give me some examples of which foods to feed if she goes to low. We have Karo syrup onhand, but I would like to pick up a couple cans of other foods to feed if we should have numbers that are to low. Thanks again/
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225

Well I just cleaned the pee off the bathroom tile floor again. Me scrubbing on my hands and knees is pretty much a daily occurance. Remind me again why I do this......oh yeah unconditional love :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think I'll brush my teeth after I shower. Yuk :roll:
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225

Glad you can do another curve!

Here is a link to Janet and Binky's food chart, which lists carb contents of many popular foods:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html

Karo can be mixed into any food to make it higher carb. Since thats the only way I could increase Latte's carbs due to dietary restrictions imposed on herself and by me, I dont really know what foods would be best. I think LC (low carb) is anything under 7%? MC (medium carb) would be 7-12ish%, HC (high carb) 12+%???? All cats will react differently to the carbs. For some LC/MC can bump numbers up. For others HC might not do enough, and karo needs to be added. Its kind of a trial and error. If you need to feed to bump numbers up, make sure to mark on your ss what you did so you can refer back to it and learn for the next time. Also, if you have to feed to bump numbers, only do a tsp or so at a time. You will not want Whiskers to fill up or vomit from too much richness.

Maybe good to put a question mark and add ? to condo title. Someone can clarify what % carbs is considered LC/MC/HC.
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 what % carbs is considered LC/MC

hi cheryl. carolyn already gave you some excellent advice. initially, you want to look on janet and binky's charts for foods in the 15% - 18% carb range to use as "hc" to pull whiskers' numbers up. like carolyn said, note what happens when and where in the cycle you give hc on your ss. we have a saying around here. Every Cat Is Different (ECID). some kitties experience a bump in numbers from lc. others need food with 24% carbs or even karo to bump the numbers higher. you'll have to figure out what works best with whiskers.

now that you're seeing blue numbers, it becomes more important than ever to at least get that "before bed spot check" every night. for some reason, lantus and levemir kitties often have a lot of action at night. when we don't get at least one spot check every night, we're missing half the picture when using a tight regulation protocol. lack of spot checks at night could turn into risky business. what do you think? do-able?
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 +3 149 what is LC/MC/HC food?

I'll second Jill's comments about the evening spot checks. Even if all you can get is a before bed test, then it is extremely important that you do that. With Whiskers' new lower numbers, you really need to know what is going on. Lots of our kitties have more action at night than during the day, so the evening spot checks can help you keep her safe.
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 +3 149 what is LC/MC/HC food?

Hi Cheryl! You've gotten some great advice from these ladies - they are in the know, and you can trust hat they tell you.

I too think that the nighttime spots are important . I know for my Mannie he is more apt to have an active low cycle in the PM than he is during the day. The last three nights are a good example - we had mid yellows during the day, but at night - we were blues and green, with intervention needed at night to keep the numbers up.

I too think that food is a trial and error type of thing. You'll need to try some and see how Whiskers responds. I can't really recommend one over another - but have found FOR US that FF Gravy Lovers works really well as an HC food - lots of gravy. And do note it on your SS so that anyone reviewing it, or helping you will know what you've done/tried/fed/etc.

It is so cool that Whiskers has a 200 amps today - after a while you get used to them, as you will when he posts his first blue, and then his first green. It is an exciting time! perfectly normal, perfectly wonderful! :-D

have a great day - :-D :-D
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 +3 149 +6.5 228

Nice numbers Cheryl. Isn't it exciting to see those lower numbers. Harley dropped to 109 this AM - I panicked but all is good and afterward I was excited that he achieved that. You will become a pro in no time.

Pattie
 
Re: 01/30 Whiskers AMPS 225 +3 149 +6.5 228

Hi ((((Patti and Harley))))

You got the avatar posted, boy that was fast !!! :mrgreen: .

It it exciting to see these lower numbers in our furbabies :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .

i'ma gonna rush over to your condo!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top