01/30 Dimmu AMPS 320, +2.5 369, +6 396, BG keeps on climbing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dimmu & KL

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Dimmu didn't get out of pink for more than 24hrs. Before we started insulin treatment, we used to test him once every week 1 1/2 to 2 hours after his meal, and more when he seemed off. We never have numbers higher than 350 with most results under 300 and in the mid 200's.

He was very tired yesterday and slept under the bed most of the time. He's been drinking a lot more than normal, too. Could this still be the bounce and he's body trying to adjust to insulin?
 
It can take 3 days to clear a bounce. Your situation is complicated because you just began insulin on Jan. 27th and Dimmu hasn't had time to get his body adjusted. Tonight will be the 6th cycle on the 0.75U dose. Because Dimmu is such a large cat, his dose may need to be increased sooner than at the end of a week (as generally recommended when beginning Lantus). @Wendy&Neko has experience with fast-tracking a dose and I hope she will be on the board later today to give you her opinion. In the meantime my suggestion would be to hold the 0.75U dose for at least one more cycle and preferably for another day or two. I'm tagging a few other members to get their thoughts:
@Marje and Gracie
@Chris & China
@Dyana
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Beginning insulin is always a scary time. You will need to adjust, just as Dimmu does!
Hang in there! You are doing great.
 
Thank you, Ella.
The number is down a bit @+8.5.

We have learned from our previous holistic vet to always give the cat's body a fair chance before any intervention. But Dimmu's numbers are messing with my head... It is indeed a scary time.

I was planning on completing at least 10 cycles on 0.75U as many of you have suggested previously, but the TR protocol suggests increasing earlier for kitties experiencing high flat curves. His curve from the last 36 hours seems pretty flat to me, but I will keep testing and collect more data and report back.

Any thoughts on how/when we should increase are welcome and appreciated!
 
You do want to give kitties enough time on a dose to see how he is doing, but not stay overly long if in high numbers. Glucose toxicity, where they become used to high numbers, can be a concern.

If you are home and can monitor tomorrow, and you don't see blue tonight, I think you can increase to 1.0 units tomorrow morning.
 
You do want to give kitties enough time on a dose to see how he is doing, but not stay overly long if in high numbers. Glucose toxicity, where they become used to high numbers, can be a concern.

If you are home and can monitor tomorrow, and you don't see blue tonight, I think you can increase to 1.0 units tomorrow morning.

Thank you, Wendy.

PMPS 318, +2 349. I will be around to monitor him coming days. His general well being was better then yesterday, it's good to see him little more active like this, it brings some relief albeit the high numbers. I hope he keeps the spirit up for the dose increase tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top