01/30 Baby G AMPS 252 PMPS 138

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous

Hi everyone,

We have a low PMPS. Dosing ideas?

Also, I am now working a job to where I cannot come home for lunch and monitor as closely anymore, so that is something else I am considering with her doses.
 
161 rising. I think I'll try 3.75 (almost full dose) since home tonight.
Question, I know we typically want the same dose every cycle due to the depot but her internal med vet suggested maybe different doses for am and pm. I'm starting to wonder if that may be a better option for us since her day and night cycles seem so different. Any thoughts on that? Probably a nay but thought I'd see your guy's input, if anyone has tried that or seen success with it.
 
I would have gone for the full dose. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle is going to look like you shot the full dose anyway. That plus a delay can act a bit like a reduction, so that's a double reduction.
 
Also, on the different doses AM and PM, bad idea with our dosing methods. Plus, being a cat, she'd still likely go lower at night.
 
I would have gone for the full dose. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle is going to look like you shot the full dose anyway. That plus a delay can act a bit like a reduction, so that's a double reduction.
True, I forgot about the delay aspect of it.
That's the thing too is if she has lower preshots when I have to leave for work, I won't even be able to stick around and delay; I will have to make a decision instantly, shoot, and go. I have to get better at dealing with the preshots.
 
Does she have food available in an autofeeder while you are gone? Shooting lower numbers when you can monitor (night or weekends) will give you data and confidence about what to do when she gives you a lower number in the AM. Sometimes it is a smaller dose, or just leaving out high carb food.
 
She doesn't like the autofeeder, unfortunately.
Yes sometimes I'll just leave out a little extra dry food. Like last Sunday, for instance, she was in the blue early in her cycle but I had to go to work, so I just left out some more dry and thankfully she was fine.
 
Back
Top