? 01/28 RICO PMPS 368 ADVICE ON DENTAL PROCEDURES NEEDED!

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
Last edited:
Neko's first dental, she started the day at 452. And still seeing lots of over 500 with the odd over 600 sprinkled in. She was no where near regulation yet. But her vet was comfortable doing the dental in spite of the higher numbers. We see lots of caregivers whose vets are not comfortable doing dentals when cats have higher numbers. But the problem is they need those dentals to get regulated. If there are any dental vet specialists near you, see if you can get a referral there instead. They are used to dealing with more complicated and older animals. Sometimes there will be general practice vets who take an interest in dentals who might be willing to do it. Or if there is a university near you with a veterinary school, they might also be an option. Bottom line, he can have a dental in his sorts of numbers, you need to find a vet willing to do it.
 
Neko's first dental, she started the day at 452. And still seeing lots of over 500 with the odd over 600 sprinkled in. She was no where near regulation yet. But her vet was comfortable doing the dental in spite of the higher numbers. We see lots of caregivers whose vets are not comfortable doing dentals when cats have higher numbers. But the problem is they need those dentals to get regulated. If there are any dental vet specialists near you, see if you can get a referral there instead. They are used to dealing with more complicated and older animals. Sometimes there will be general practice vets who take an interest in dentals who might be willing to do it. Or if there is a university near you with a veterinary school, they might also be an option. Bottom line, he can have a dental in his sorts of numbers, you need to find a vet willing to do it.

There are no vet dentists in our town and the nearest Veterinary University is 210kms away from where I live. However, since I'm visiting the capital in two weeks, I took your advice and contacted two dental specialists. I submitted all info and I'm waiting for their replies. Thank you!
 
I just updated our information on Dental Procedures. It should help you discuss with your vet the dose before the procedure, feeding before anesthesia, etc.

One big thing to note is that anesthesia can cause the BG to drop even after the procedure is over and the cat has been awakened. This tends to happen less if the vet uses the newer anesthesias like Alfaxalone

Thank you! I've already read the info about Dental Procedures and just went through it again but I didn't find anything about dosing, anesthesia medication etc... Which of the links is it in???
(You must think I'm stupid but I really can't find tis info!) :D
 
Thank you! I've already read the info about Dental Procedures and just went through it again but I didn't find anything about dosing, anesthesia medication etc... Which of the links is it in???
(You must think I'm stupid but I really can't find tis info!) :D
It’s in a chart in post 11 in that thread. It shows protocols for diabetic cats. It doesn’t address the anesthesia type but I know from experience and discussion with our board certified veterinary anesthesiologist that alfaxalone has less impact on the BG post procedure.

And I don’t think you are stupid!
 
It’s in a chart in post 11 in that thread. It shows protocols for diabetic cats. It doesn’t address the anesthesia type but I know from experience and discussion with our board certified veterinary anesthesiologist that alfaxalone has less impact on the BG post procedure.

And I don’t think you are stupid!

Found it! Thanks again! I'll do my h/w before I talk to the dentists! ;)
 
Back
Top