01/27 Blackie PMPS 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62085&p=672823#p672823

No, I didn't do any midcycle tests yesterday , but I'm conserving strips right now, and am trying to build up the stock of strips, in case this is going to be a long, long road for us both. I know her well enough that she'll be in the :mrgreen: s, and I'm focusing more on the PS #s, and I'm home in case anything happens.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 01/27 Blackie AMPS 142

Hi guys .. I like how well you know blackie, and how well she works her juice .. numbers are always looking lovely! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 01/27 Blackie AMPS 142, +4 62

from the Relaxed Lantus Forum:
Yesterday, I didn't do any midcycle testing. I'm trying to conserve the strips, and I'm also trying to stock up on them, too. Besides, I know her well enough to know that she's going to be :mrgreen: , and I watch her like a hawk, too. I know one of the signs of hypo should she go that far. I'm focusing on the PS #s anyway.

Is it necessary to test so often if you know your kitty?

Should I continue to do the mid cycle testing, or can it be on every other day, or so?

hi angela. i brought your question over here because i think the answer to your question is important.

what is your goal with blackie?

if you're happy keeping her in the range she's in now (which is very nice), you can probably safely narrow testing down to 3 times a day. as long as she has food available to her she'll most likely feed herself when she feels herself dropping lower than usual. i say probably because most do, but there is a chance she won't. it's just something to be aware of. she could also drop lower than usual if she vomits or eats less than usual, but you said you'd be watching her like a hawk so that shouldn't be a problem.

blackie's been on the same dose for about 2 months now. she's maintaining beautifully, but the range hasn't come down any further. if you'd like to pull her numbers down into the normal range for more hours in each cycle to afford her the best chance of remission you'll probably have to increase the dose. if you increase the dose, slacking off on testing won't be safe.

a word of caution...
we've found most lantus/lev kitties who are on a low carb wet diet don't act any differently when their BG is 30 or 50. i know alex doesn't.


just my thoughts...
have a good evening!
 
Re: 01/27 Blackie AMPS 142, +4 62

blackie's been on the same dose for about 2 months now. she's maintaining beautifully, but the range hasn't come down any further. if you'd like to pull her numbers down into the normal range for more hours in each cycle to afford her the best chance of remission you'll probably have to increase the dose. if you increase the dose, slacking off on testing won't be safe.

To increase her dose would mean that she'd go below 50, and possibly below 40, which would mean that I would need to decrease the dose if she hits any # below 40. Again. Past history with a snack between +5 and PMPS, or vice versa, means that her PS #s go high. I tried that, and it didn't work for her. The data on her 2011 SS shows it. From December 13, 2011 - December 16, 2011 she had a snack at AMPS +8 and again at PMPS +4, and on December 17, 2011, her evening PS went right up to almost 190.

My goal is to hopefully get her diet controlled. She's not active (ie. running around, or playing or anything). If she does play, it's for a few seconds, and it would be like batting a paper ball, or something. The only activity that she does is tear a strip into someone, and then go lay down, and preen. That's it. I thought that if a kitty was more active, they would need more calories, and less activity, less calories. She had more calories in the past, and her activity level didn't change at all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top