01/26 Noogi AMPS 148 +4 63 +5 76 +6 99, general queries

Helen + Noogi

Active Member
Hi, New member Helen here, just completed first spreadsheet, would welcome any comments. Specific questions below.

Noogi was diagnosed Oct 2024, only started to get under BG under control end of the year. I started home testing then, and am beginning to feel confident to take more control over his treatment now (up til now been under close supervision of vet). As you can see on chart I have had a couple hypos, and have adjusted dose once or twice. He was sick for a couple days mid-month where he has no insulin. Restarted at 2u and seems fairly stable on that dose.

I have realised two things in the last few days
- his AMPS numbers might be high as I usually feed him 4 or 5am and only test at 6am. Am going to try to remedy this. This mornings AMPS for example was lower than usual, and I think this is closer to his 'real number'. Am going to try to give him a bigger midnight snack so he doesn't pester me for food so early. His PMPS is probably a better indicator of where his BG is really at before insulin.
- I have been feeding him food too high in carbs (refer my post on main forum) and will be going more low carb in weeks ahead.

Queries:
1. Not sure what protocol I am and/or should be following. Does this look like tight regulation?
2. There are a lot of dark green numbers. Is this okay or should we aiming for blue?
3. Does a reduction of his dose look like it might be appropriate sometime soon, especially as we transition to new diet? And if so, when? I'm using syringes where I can do 0.5u changes, not 0.25u.
 
Hi Helen, I'm going to let some of the group experts answer your questions, but I wanted to say welcome--I'm sorry you and Noogi have to be here, but this is a helpful and supportive group that I know you'll appreciate being a part of.
 
Also, go to the edit title option and you'll see a drop down box with "prefix" in it; select the question mark to flag that you have questions you need answered. Once you get some answers, edit the title again, and remove the question mark.
 
Welcome @Helen + Noogi :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Way to go, first time I've seen a new member with almost everything already setup (spreadsheet, signature, etc) Thanks so much, this helps a ton!

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA) @Christie & Maverick @Diane Tyler's Mom GA

I tagged a bunch of helpers for your questions, but @Marielle has good advice on editing your title and adding the question mark so your post stands out that you have some questions:

upload_2025-1-26_15-10-37.png



upload_2025-1-26_15-11-10.png



This makes your post stand out more!

upload_2025-1-26_15-12-54.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-26_15-10-37.png
    upload_2025-1-26_15-10-37.png
    238.6 KB · Views: 40
  • upload_2025-1-26_15-11-10.png
    upload_2025-1-26_15-11-10.png
    198.8 KB · Views: 39
  • upload_2025-1-26_15-12-54.png
    upload_2025-1-26_15-12-54.png
    168.2 KB · Views: 40
1. Not sure what protocol I am and/or should be following. Does this look like tight regulation?

No, looks more like SLGS so far. Might want to re-read the different dosing protocols for Lantus . The main differences are how long you hold a dose and the point where you reduce the dose. Also, for TR, you must be feeding only low carb canned or raw food. No kibble!

2. There are a lot of dark green numbers. Is this okay or should we aiming for blue?

Dark greens are great! Normal blood glucose for cats (with a human meter) are 50-120 and dark greens are from 50-99

3. Does a reduction of his dose look like it might be appropriate sometime soon, especially as we transition to new diet? And if so, when? I'm using syringes where I can do 0.5u changes, not 0.25u.

Depending on which dosing method you decide on (you can always switch if one doesn't work out for you for whatever reason), you'd either reduce if he drops below 50 (TR) or below 90 (SLGS) OR if he stays in normal numbers on the same dose for 7 days.

He did earn a reduction on TR when he dropped to 43 on Jan 4th and when he dropped to 41 on Jan 9 but you didn't take them (but since you're not giving 3U anymore, I'm just pointing out when you should have reduced if you're doing TR)

There's no such thing as a syringe with 0.25 lines so unless you use calipers, we just have to eyeball the 0.25 and 0.75 doses and try to keep them as consistent as possible.
 
Last edited:
Introduction post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...noogi-food-advice-please.297752/#post-3240172

Here are the 2 dosing methods it's up to you which one you want to follow.
When you decide please add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@Helen + Noogi
Chris explained each dosing method but please the link I gave you

I would advise you post everyday on the Lantus Board
Date Noogi AMPS # additional tests after that and continue with the PMPS and tests after that.
Then link your previous days post to it

To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post new thread





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it









austin-logo-240.jpg





So when you post tomorrow or whenever you will link your post from today to tomorrows post.
Only way I know how to explain it
 
Last edited:
Here's the link to your post on the Feline Health forum for background: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-helen-noogi-food-advice-please.297752/ We like to link the previous posts to make it easier for people reading.n

After reading the previous post, what did you settle on for feeding Noogi? If you want to follow TR for dosing, you have to feed only wet or raw low carb food. If there is anything above 10% carbs, you have to follow SLGS.

If you are using the BD Microfine syringes, there is a paper ruler that can be used to measure smaller doses.
 
Back
Top