01/26 Charlie AMPS 50 @0.25 (54)@0.75(76)@+2(56)+4(52)+6(42)+6.5(70)+6.75(70)

As long as you're going to be around to monitor - I'd shoot that drop.

He will let you know if he's had enough insulin...and may be ready to start the trial.
 
I’m almost ready to give you the OTJ trial directions. I’m not quite sure he will make it through the 7th day. Come on Charlie, one point less. If not surf a tad higher for your mom and your ears.
 
I’m almost ready to give you the OTJ trial directions. I’m not quite sure he will make it through the 7th day. Come on Charlie, one point less. If not surf a tad higher for your mom and your ears.

Sorry I don't quit understand. You don't think he will make it to day 7 because? one point less? You want him to go below 50? or surf a tad higher?( not sure what that means either) Sorry :banghead: hitting a wall with the information:D
 
Ok. I’ll root that he stay over 50 since it’s just one day left. But....it’s just a 49 you need. He’s only on a drop and lc food. Look how fast he came up the one time. Lol.
 
Okay, got it :) I'll stick around while I can though looks like you are managing things purrrfectly :cat:

Is this right:
+6.25 43 *low carb food and 6 freeze chicken bites
+6.5 70 *no food
+6.75 next test?

If you don't hear from me, you just want to manage Charlie like you did on 01/15. You did great then and are doing great now :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Okay, got it :) I'll stick around while I can though looks like you are managing things purrrfectly :cat:

Is this right:
+6.25 43 *low carb food and 6 freeze chicken bites
+6.5 70 *no food
+6.75 next test?

If you don't hear from me, you just want to manage Charlie like you did on 01/15. You did great then and are doing great now :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Great thank you!:bighug:
 
Also, I think I'm okay posting this - others will let me know if I'm wrong :p but here are the OTJ Trial instructions - you start at the next green pre-shot (so tonight if Charlie is green!).

Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
  • Good luck with the trial!!!
  • Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Tammy, I have to run now, but you are doing so wonderful - feel free to tag me or anyone else if you need help but I would guess that Charlie will surf to PMBG (PM Blood Glucose...because no shot :)).
 
He normally has low carb after his AMPS !/2 can Fancy Feast then another 1/2 can around +4,+9 then again after his PMPS. Then another 1/2 can at +4 and +8
 
That's what Elise was talking about! He dropped <50 which earns him a reduction. Congrats!!!
I saw the 42 @+6 in your title but looks like he is above 50 now. Great job. You may wanna add the other numbers to your title when you get a chance.
 
When you don't give a shot, we call it PMBG, blood glucose, not preshot. Good luck with the trial. :D
 
Back
Top