01/25 Vyktor +11 304 PMPS 263 +3 247 +6 169 - INC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Recap:
AMPS: 317
+6 263
+11 279
PMPS 272
+2 254
+4 211
+7 182
AMPS 155

In typical cat style he couldn't wait until our public holiday tomorrow - Go Vyktor Go :-D

I'm thinking that those numbers are very pleasing because it was a nice steady descent. I'm also thinking that an increase is off the table for now with that AMPS and I'm proud to report I didn't hesitate to shoot his full dose.

Now to make sure he stays safe. Work knows that Vyktor comes first so if I need to take the whole day off I will, again typical cat style I have a meeting at 10.30 - not complaining Vyktor you go for it buddy :-D

He only ate a few bites between his +7 and just prior to AMPS but conveniently had a good feed just before I shot.
So my question is how should I run today, am I right to got to work until +6 like normal or should I be staying home?

I expect a +1 would be up a bit because of the feed and his insulin doesn't seem to kick in until +3 or +4 with full effects not coming on until around +6 but is it too early in the dance for me to make assumptions like these?


Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61887
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

Second lowest I did a BCS (although really I think I should be able to say LCS since I just went from 2.25 down to 2.0 :smile: ) on a PS of 109 on 01/17 - no CS this time though :-D
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

great job, serryn! the typical answer whenever you shoot lower than you're accustomed to is to get a +2 so you can see where it's headed. if the +2 is about the same as the preshot, you likely will have a nice typical lantus cycle. if you see a serious drop, then you have to pay attention and monitor more.

i changed my signature block and got rid of the FSL Heartbreaker! you make me laugh every time you say that! :lol:

hope you're having a wonderful day!
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

What if there's food involved, he's looking for more food now so I gather that may push his BG up for a couple of hours in itself.

I can't claim the credit for the heartbreaker tag that was Linda, but I think it is very apt so have taken in on for myself. I'm glad you can still laugh about it, we'd be stuffed if we couldn't have laugh about these things...
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

everybody feeds at preshot, so we assume there's food involved in a +2. i think it still shows valuable information. it's your guidance for the rest of the cycle.

i'm not quite to the point of laughing, except at the name. feels like there's too much at stake and i'm kicking myself for not getting on it sooner . . . on the other hand, you decide the best you can at any given point in life, with what you know at that point. i'll feel better when i see him back under 200.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

oops that did come out wrong of course there is nothing funny at all about punkin's numbers being so much higher than you thought what I meant to say was that we'd go crazy if we couldn't find things within bad situations to laugh about :oops:
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

oh no no - i didn't think anything of it. i thought you were talking about the FSL being the heartbreaker - and that term IS funny. i knew what you meant - don't worry about it! ;-) :YMHUG: i can't tell you how much i've appreciated you checking in on us.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155

Very Nice AMPS Vyktor :mrgreen:
and Nice Hooting, Serryn!
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194

I'm thinking these results say I'm okay to go to work until +6 - is that correct? If not I can stay.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

Hi, I saw where it was your lowest shot. If he is looking for food, he could be dropping. I'm going by what Maggie does when getting low.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

I hope Vyktor had a good day today. I know how worried you are about going to work. I am the same way! You are lucky to have an understanding workplace - my manager is understanding and asks me everyday how Sid is doing :smile:
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

Ann & Maggie11 said:
If he is looking for food, he could be dropping. I'm going by what Maggie does when getting low.

I put down more at +1.5 but he hasn't touched it yet. He is looking very relaxed and clearly thinks I've gone a bit bonkers fluttering around him the way that I am :lol:

I'm thinking if he's got food available it should be safe for me to leave for about 3 hours, be back to check his +6 and review from there?
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

put down more at +1.5 but he hasn't touched it yet. He is looking very relaxed and clearly thinks I've gone a bit bonkers fluttering around him the way that I am


:lol: :lol: You can always leave a little high carb for him if you think you will worry those three hours. It would be like a little ice cream to him. That would spike his cycle though.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

I don't know how sensitive he is to carbs yet, he's had nothing but LC since testing began. I'm guessing there's a chance I might find out later on today though nailbite_smile
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

Usually, your +1 reflects a food spike. The +2 number, in an "ideal" curve is about the same as your pre-shot. If I had to guess, my hunch would be that Vyktor is heading up. He's been in blues since last night and he may be starting a bounce. If he's not inhaling food, I suspect he's fine and you're fine to go to work. If you're concerned, leave food out.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 - Go to work?

Serryn:

Very nice AMPS for Vyktor today. Typically, if we see a +2 that is lower than the AMPS, we anticipate an active cycle. I like that his +2 is a little higher than the AMPS. I'd try to leave just some MC down if you can but if you are REALLY worried and you need to go to work, then leave the HC.

It's better to be safe because we don't actually know what Vyktor might decide to do while you're at work.

ETA: Sienne and I posted at the same time with the same thought. My suggestion on the MC was just for YOU to feel more comfortable. I agree with her, actually, that with the +2 as it is, he's probably not going to come down to a number that would be worrisome.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 - Go to work?

It is just amazing how Sienne can predict it - up he goes and I'm off to work. Thanks Marje too, don't have a range of carb levels just high and low unfortunately Binky's list no good for the Australians and the answers I'm getting from the food manufacturers (when they bother to respond) vary - I like to get the same answer more than once before I will believe them!
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 - Go to work?

I'm glad you feel better about leaving him. This is great data for the future!!!
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 - Go to work?

Have a good day at work, Serryn. Vyktor will be fine. :-D
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 - Go to work?

Hi Serryn, I'm glad you decided to go to work. Next time this happens you'll be in a better position to know what to do. Do you have an auto feeder?

Whatever time it is in Perth, I hope you're having a good day/evening and that it has gotten a little cooler. Those temperatures in the 100s (Fahrenheit) must be brutal!

Vyktor is looking good.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 +6 236

No auto feeder but I free feed him so he does have plenty of food out everytime I leave. Sometimes he's finished it all when I get home again but these days I don't leave him for more than 5 hrs at a time (at the most) so he should never be out for long.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 +6 236

it's a whole new world having a diabetic cat, isn't it?! can't leave the house for more than 5 hours at a time . . . i know i worry about punkin too. glad you got to go to work today. i only got the autofeeder this past weekend but i already love it! i can't leave food out for punkin because he eats everything the second it's put down. there's no "saving it for later" unless it's out of reach!
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor AMPS 155 +2 194 +3 221 +6 236 +11 304

Hi Serryn, so glad you made it to work, and Vyktor did good while you were gone. I also free feed Maggie, and she does well as she eats when she runs low. Have a good sleep, right, nighttime for you?
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor +11 304 PMPS 263 +3 247

Serryn said:
I know that means no increase tonight but does his PS being under 200 mean I have to start counting cycles again before a dose increase or am I still just be waiting for him to be bounce free? E.g if he goes down into the blue tonight but has a PS over 200 tomorrow morning do I increase then?

With a bounce, you're not counting cycles in the same way that you do with a dose change. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. It can also clear within one cycle. The idea is that you don't want to increase a dose during a bounce. If you don't realize your cat is bouncing and you increase, you could accidentally put your cat over what is a good dose. You really don't need to consider the pre-shot. There are some cats that clear a bounce and the cycle is a flat yellow or flat pink. Basically, you want the spike in numbers to resolve and, hopefully, numbers are back in roughly the same range as they previously were.
 
Re: 01/25 Vyktor +11 304 PMPS 263 +3 247 +6 169

Looks to me like we might be there given that he is back on the blue floor tonight, just a little bouncette this time (good work Vyktor!) but having nearly increased once before when I shouldn't have I'm not game to go up without my LL permission slip. I'm still not getting it :sad: very frustrating for me, I'm not usually so slow.

Should I increase in the morning because he's not in a bounce anymore (assuming I don't wake up to a pink number) and we know that he hasn't hit green on this dose as yet and therefore he's not going to? I think there's a fault in that thinking though because if it's as simple as that I don't understand why, given that we have not hit the green floor on this dose we couldn't increase in a bounce knowing that it was a bounce but also knowing that the current dose hasn't got us where we want to be when he's not bouncing. I get why we wouldn't increase if a kitty is bouncing from a green number but not so much why it wouldn't be done if a kitty hasn't seen the green floor on a dose. Could Vyktor end up going lower on this same dose and therefore I should wait it out until he stops bouncing at this dose alltogether?
 
The idea is only in part, that increasing on a bounce can cause you to be over a good dose. One of the things that I often see is that people who are new to Lantus have a hard time differentiating a bounce from high numbers. In theory, if your cat is dropping from reds to yellows and bouncing back up to reds, increasing on a bounce might not be a problem. However, not everyone sticks around LL and if the bean goes off on their own thinking that it's fine to increase if the numbers are high, regardless of a bounce, as the cat's getting better regulated, there could be a problem. The other issue is that doses need to settle -- whether it's from a dose change or a bounce. There are times that the bounce clears and you're in lower numbers than you were pre-bounce. Remember, we're dealing with cats. It's their job to be unpredictable and to keep us confused.
 
Hi Serryn!! I don't know that I've posted in Vyktor's condo before, but I have taken the time to read them every so often to see how he's doing. I love your name!!! Very unusual. You really seem to have a good attitude and wicked sense of humor with all of this and I commend you for that. That really is half the battle. You also ask very good questions!!! I look forward to following along and reading about your and Vyktor's FD journey!!

BTW....I would give my left arm right now (well, maybe) to be in Australia right now to watch the Australian Open in person. I love my tennis!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top