01/25 J.D. PMPS 440 - Vet Called

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
565 PMPS (TOR)
347 +2.75
329 +6.5
364 +8

J.D. was purring up a storm as I gave him a good loving and face and head rub when we went to bed. Late at night (around 4:00am), he seemed to not feel as good. I did find (unfortunately) a spot in the litter box, that was not even that big, that looked like pee, but upon close inspection was brown :sad: At 4:30am, he got his TID bupe.

I gave him more R this morning, and he didn't want the LC FF that was offered (neither cat did), but he ate some FF Medleys. He has to eat to get his Clindamycin. I found out that there is a drug interaction between bupe and cyproheptadine (and mirtazapine), so he will have to wait for any appetite stimulants until he is off the bupe. Hopefully, we can stop the bupe soon, maybe tomorrow? I am going to put a call into the doctor this morning (this is his last day this month in the U.S.) and ask about when to stop the bupe, and tell him about the Clindamycin and the water poo. When the bupe stops, the constipation should stop, too. I am hoping that the new super strong probiotics will help him to have firmer poos, once the bupe is discontinued.

He seemed better this morning (more normal). Came to me when called. He's not liking whenever I call him, that I have some med in my hand.

I am trying to give Ginger some extra love too, as J.D. is getting extra doses of attention, and she just looks at it all with down cast eyes.

He and Ginger finished off the can of FF Medleys, and both kitties are having a good snooze right now.


I'm hoping his BGs will come down, today, too :)
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546

Morning Dyana ~O)

Happy to see J.D. seems to be progressing, even if the numbers are stubbornly high. First things first though ;-)
It's hard sometimes when the others get jealous of the attention the "patient" gets. I know that downcast look :sad:
Glad they're enjoying their snoozes, and I hope J.D. sees some better #s today :smile:
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546

FWIW, the bupe is not causing any constipation given the diarrhea. It looks like the AB has overridden and problem with constipation the AB may cause.

Did you find out if separating the appetite stimulant and bupe with enough time will counter any interaction? I would definitely talk to the vet about this since it's a combination that's routinely used with pancreatitis.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546

Come on down JD! I hope you get to talk to the vet and get some answers. Poor Ginger. They do get their feelings hurt. I'm glad she is getting some extra love as well, but how exhausting for you! Have a great day Dyana!
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546

Sienne and Gabby said:
Did you find out if separating the appetite stimulant and bupe with enough time will counter any interaction? I would definitely talk to the vet about this since it's a combination that's routinely used with pancreatitis.
That's a good point. I will ask about that. I am hoping that we can discontinue the bupe by the time I go back to work on Monday (that's when I may be giving an appetite stimulant, as I leave for the long work day).
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271

Thanks Deb. He did what you said :-D It's so nice to see yellow.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271

:-D :-D Yea! Now, let's see a nice slow steady drop!

BTW... Spot was 184 at his pm +4 :shock: last night. I had a nice talk with him this morning and told him that it would be nice to see something under 125 and he gave me a nice 112 at amps :-D plus a teeny tiny little hard poo in the box!

Today is a good day, lol
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271

Much better, J.D.! Sending you tons of recovery vines and tons of calming vines to your bean. You're doing a great job, Dyana. Hugs to you.
Liz
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271

Hi Dyana,

I hope that all the meds can get straightened out with regard to when and how much to give. Hope your vet will provide good advice. Nice to see J.D. coming down in his bg this morning. Good boy!

Have a good day with your kitties and give Ginger some extra-special scritches.

We are keeping those healing vines coming your way. "Better and better every day in every way".

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271

Hi Dyana. Nice to see J.D. drop down to a yellow number. I hope you'll be able to drop the bupe after talking with the vet. It's hard not to give the kittie with the problems more attention but I believe when we do give the civvies some attention they appreciate that much more.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271, +4.75 228

Slow and steady, but in the right direction.

A vet tech called and said the vet said to "stop the ABs and give the bupe until done". I have 8 more syringes of 0.37mls of bupe left :shock:

I asked her to please have the doctor call me.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271, +4.75 228

Morning guys nice to see JD coming down today!!! Hope you get the answers you need re the vet. What a week you have had. Hope you are able to enjoy the weeknd. Happy Fursday!
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS 546, +3.25 271, +4.75 228

Nice sunshiny yellow for J.D....poor baby. Shadow usually sees lower numbers around +4 with the nadir finally at +8 on Lev.
Hope you will have a good day...taking care of J.D. and his issues and then trying to soothe Ginger....
a Mother's job is never done!!! Hugs to you Dyana...you are doing such a wonderful job!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

:-|

I gave him some more R.

I've been waiting for the doctor to call me back for almost 5 hours. I just called again, and the vet tech said he told her he would call me back after surgery in about an hour to an hour and a half.

I think I'll take a nap
sleep-027.gif

Maybe, right after I take the cats outside for a walk in the freezing cold. It's supposed to snow later.
Maybe the walk will help J.D. to poo. He hasn't all day.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

Your dealing with lots of things, I feel you .. so many medication really make them feel stressed and they just wanna run and hide from us, but its all for their good. his BG is really high too, hope he comes down really soon. Ginger hopefully will understand that J.D. is not feeling well. I remember my other cat Franky used to fight with Noni a lot because she has to eat different food.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

Your dealing with lots of things, I feel you .. so many medication really make them feel stressed and they just wanna run and hide from us, but its all for their good. his BG is really high too, hope he comes down really soon. Ginger hopefully will understand that J.D. is not feeling well. I remember my other cat Franky used to fight with Noni a lot because she has to eat different food.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

Your dealing with lots of things, I feel you .. so many medication really make them feel stressed and they just wanna run and hide from us, but its all for their good. his BG is really high too, hope he comes down really soon. Ginger hopefully will understand that J.D. is not feeling well. I remember my other cat Franky used to fight with Noni a lot because she has to eat different food.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

At least he did some trotting (running away from me :lol: ) on our walk. I haven't seen him trot in months.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. AMPS=546 +3.25=271 +4.75=228 +6.25=169 +9.25=

Rainbow Boy!! Just an FYI Cyproheptadine made Moonie constipated, but may not work that way for JD
Hope he feels great soon--Hugs & Love from us
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. +9.25 515, +11 409 - Vet Called

The vet called and said he was confused because I had told him (through the vet tech) that J.D. had diarrhea, and I responded I don't know because it seems more like constipation. It's hard to tell. He did not go on Tuesday. He had water poo on Wednesday. He did not go on Thursday. He had a little water poo in the box early this morning. He has not gone since. Doesn't diarrhea usually make you go multiple times per day, especially right after you eat? J.D. normally poos at least once per day. So, I'm just guessing the best I can.

He said that he had told me to discontinue the Clindamycin because I had reported the problem of diarrhea :?

I said to him, I thought you wanted him to be on the full 14 days of ABs because of the extent of the dental work, and he said yes, but if there is a problem.. He thought I had stopped the ABs yesterday, and I told him I had just skipped the morning dose, and had resumed them last night again. I told him I had bought the powerful probiotics, and have given them to him last night and this morning after the ABs, and there hasn't been a (whole lot of anyway) diarrhea today (just the little bit this morning). He said soft poo is fine. He had soft but formed poo on the Saturday and the Sunday before the dental as he was started on the ABs on Friday night. Anyway, for now, it's back to the full 14 days of ABs.

When I asked about the vet tech telling me to use the bupe until it was finished and I told him I still have 8 pre-filled syringes left, do you want him on pain meds for 12 days? The vet said he should have the pain medication for at least a week, and he said to giving him one syringe TID should use them up. I reminded him that we had halved the dose because of his wobbiliness and leaning over when standing. He said to continue the buprenex through Sunday.

J.D. has been sleeping a lot today, but he sure perks up when treats come out.

That's all I have to say. I think he could still use some healing and feel better vines.
 
Re: 01/25 J.D. +9.25 515, +11 409 - Vet Called

awww, poor J.D. I hope he feels better soon and can get back to some nicer numbers, too.

Wishing you a warm and cozy evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
More feel better vines!!

Dyana -- it's possible that J.D. cleaned himself out with the diarrhea. Since he didn't have that much of an appetite and he had a whopping case of diarrhea, there may not have been much in his GI track for him to poop. Now that he's eating a bit better, you should have a better sense of whether you're seeing diarrhea or constipation.
 
Hi Dyana,
Sorry your going through it with JD. I'm w/Sienne. I think he cleaned himself out.
I'll be think of you guys, praying JD heals quickly. bcatrun_gif
 
Hi Dyana, just wanted to check on you two. Sending lots of feel better, sleep well, poo, and get better vines and prayers. You two are my rosary for tonight. XOXO mary and ollie
 
Thanks Mary. :YMHUG: We could use it.
I can use the help with a good sleep, and J.D. can use the healing and "normal" poo vines.
 
Well dumb old tired mamabean accidentally gave him his probiotics one hour earlier than planned.
He got the ABs at 6:45pm and the probiotics at 7:45pm. I was looking at the clock wrong :shock:
At least all meds for tonight are done!
 
I'm sorry you and JD are going thru all this Dyana. And then the confusion with the vet, too. Wow, you must be exhausted. Sending tons of feel better vines to JD and strength and get some rest vines to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top