01/25: Harry AMPS: 254, +5 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34880

Hello!

Harry has been acting more hyper, which is great, and Diana - thanks for the suggestion about shooting Harry when he's eating...that may be a better time to do so. And more-so for mom, who I don't think will appreciate running after Harry or trying to get him out from under the bed for 1/2 hour at least!

Good call about the fructosamine(not getting one done after we come back from our trip).....don't really have the money to waste anyways. And you're right - what's in the past, is in the past. I'll just focus on his BG testing when we get back and hopefully it will be fine.

Harry seems to be in the yellow or blue quite often now, MUCH better than the pinks / reds / jumping down to greens when I first started this fiasco. But I will keep crossing my fingers that he won't need insulin much longer!! The vet suggested that I go from 1 unit twice a day down to once a day when I reduce Harry's dose again in the future, which I don't agree with. Isn't it better to still give Harry the insulin twice a day, but reduce it down to .75 of a unit, then to .5, etc??
Ha - doesn't take much for me to say "no way" to what the vet says, given that there are CAT OWNERS here on this site which have the experience of not guessing, but having actual realistic info about what has worked for their cats in the past and for dosage!!

Anyways. Harry's happy, hubby is back home and he snotted him with glee and batted at his legs. So it was a welcoming for Harry and hubby!! ...And I am SURE happy to have the help (when I need it) for doing his BG's (and more importantly the insulin shots!!) now.
 
I like your thinking better than your vets! Lantus is a 12-hour insulin in cats. In humans, it can work with one dose per day. Because a cat's metabolism is faster, they need an injection twice a day.

I'm glad that you learned about shooting when Harry is eating. I think that's what most of us do. Gabby won't let my petsitter test, but she will let her shoot -- probably because there's food involved!

Hopefully, you'll be able to work in some PM spot checks. If you think you can get them on a regular basis, it may be time to raise Harry's dose. If you do raise the dose and you will be home, it would be helpful to get a curve, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top