01/25 Eddie AMPS 295 +8 65 PMPS 45 +12.15 59 +12.5 61 +12.75 61 +1 97 +5 119 +8 349

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello,
I've been at work all day and just got home to test @ +8. Here is the big dive from AMPS 295 to +8 65. So glad I was able to get a test and it just happens to be at the snack time on work days (AM +8) so I've fed two TBSP LC + 1/2 tsp HC.

Here's yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-24-eddie-amps-412-5-335-8-5-346-pmps-367-8-360.273402/

I'll check again and hopefully all will be well by PMPS.

@Wendy&Neko Speaking of "moving parts".... Right?

@Bandit's Mom Bhooma, just a heads-up in case we have a dramatic night...
 
Great catch today! :eek: I'd be wondering what he'd been doing during those cycles you couldn't catch another test. Six cycles ago was a blank one on the spreadsheet, as apparently was last night. Anything different in Eddie land to think there was another reason he went low today?

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Great catch today! :eek: I'd be wondering what he'd been doing during those cycles you couldn't catch another test. Six cycles ago was a blank one on the spreadsheet, as apparently was last night. Anything different in Eddie land to think there was another reason he went low today?

Good luck with the reduction.
No, last night I did get a PM +8 360, I just didn't enter it until this afternoon when I entered today's readings because I knew I had to get back to sleep to function at work this morning. Nothing different about Eddie other than the moving parts we discussed.

I've been in conversation with Tina Owen and Linda Martin of WSU and here's a couple of things they said:

1. We were talking about the CT scan before the SRT and what might be discerned from that re: post SRT. Tina Owen said " I don’t think by looking at the Ct and the tumor we can make many predictions about the endocrine function and how that will play out. The endocrine function is the trickiest part to predict and we hope to get some control over that part as the tumor shrinks but it can be variable, as you are seeing. With the tumor shrinking and hopefully not growing we hope there is some improvement in the endocrine function and therefore the insulin requirement."

2. Linda Martin was looking at the spreadsheet and said "He’s a difficult one because he likely still has his tumor secreting some growth hormone and he’s on pred. As long as these two factors are in play, he probably won’t be perfectly regulated. Hopefully things will be better once you can start weaning him down on the pred."

3. I asked about glucose toxicity and Linda Martin said, given the variables at this point, "I don’t think we need to be overly concerned. You should actually pat yourself on the back. I think you’re doing an awesome job managing Eddie’s diabetes."

That was a nice vote of confidence as sometimes I feel as if I'm bumbling along. :) Anyway, we'll take the reduction tonight and ride out whatever part of the cycle we're in. Gotta say seeing that +8 65 was a bit of a jolt!!

Thanks so much!
 
Regarding what Linda Martin said, that's the reason I was asking how long he's going to be on the higher dose of pred. Thankfully sounds like only a few weeks more.

Also the point about glucose toxicity, it happens, not a lot we can do about it but get to doses where he's seeing some green. And he's on a lot lower dose than he was before SRT, so that's a major win.:) Trying to remember, didn't he also have some teeth issues? That is another one of those moving parts that makes regulation hard.
 
I’m sort of wondering what he did during the day on the 22nd. That was shortly after the increase from 14 to 15u. Is it possible he went low and had been bouncing since, finally clearing it today? Or not. :confused:

Bet that 65 woke you up fast. Good catch!

Edited to add: By the way, what are his stools like these days? I think I recall he’d had some issues at one point… (a UTI is the another thing to rule out).
 
You can't shoot unless he's over 68, at a minimum, and that's only if he's come up without food. And yes, a BCS would be appropriate if he's higher enough. Mostly because it's a good way to drain the depot which is clearly too large. A skip is also an option.

Note for lurkers, this is for Eddie only, who is on a higher dose and possibly seeing some SRT action.
 
@Wendy&Neko Ok, really need help here.
You can't shoot unless he's over 68, at a minimum, and that's only if he's come up without food. And yes, a BCS would be appropriate if he's higher enough. Mostly because it's a good way to drain the depot which is clearly too large. A skip is also an option.

Note for lurkers, this is for Eddie only, who is on a higher dose and possibly seeing some SRT action.

Ok, he's just hit 61 without food. I'm going to test agin in 10 mins and depending on where he is, I'll either do BCS or skip.

Thanks!!
 
Ok, retest, he's still at 61 (+12.75) with no food, so I'm skipping shot but will watch him. Going to feed him his regular dinner of LC but am adding HC to it. Sound ok?

@Wendy&Neko @JL and Chip

Talk about WAKING UP FAST!

Thanks for your help.

Please correct if I'm wrong but if all goes well overnight and I test him in the morning and his numbers are and he can have insulin, I'm going back down to 14. Thoughts appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Yes, you can add a little HC to get him up over 68, sounds like a good plan. And also yes, a 1 unit reduction.
 
Glad you’re going to keep testing tonight.

Did you happen to get in any tests between the AM+8 of 65 and the PMPS of 45? I’m wondering if he went even lower in that window. Given that Lev can have downward pressure late into the cycle, and that Eddie was already below normal BG range, I would have tested to make sure the food was enough to bring the BG up.

Also, for future reference, any time I see a 45 on an AT, I would feed or go to syrup immediately (not “wait and see”). I don’t care if you’re nearing PS or not, that’s waaay too low on an AT. Commonly quoted 68 as a “take action” number means exactly that to me … take action now (which I interpret to mean do something to bring up the numbers, like feed or administer syrup). I’ve seen a cat in low numbers seize and die. Especially with acro in the mix and the large depot, it’s always better to err on the side of safety and get those numbers back up ASAP.

Just my two cents. I’ll try to check on you guys later. :bighug:
 
Glad you’re going to keep testing tonight.

Did you happen to get in any tests between the AM+8 of 65 and the PMPS of 45? I’m wondering if he went even lower in that window. Given that Lev can have downward pressure late into the cycle, and that Eddie was already below normal BG range, I would have tested to make sure the food was enough to bring the BG up.

Also, for future reference, any time I see a 45 on an AT, I would feed or go to syrup immediately (not “wait and see”). I don’t care if you’re nearing PS or not, that’s waaay too low on an AT. Commonly quoted 68 as a “take action” number means exactly that to me … take action now (which I interpret to mean do something to bring up the numbers, like feed or administer syrup). I’ve seen a cat in low numbers seize and die. Especially with acro in the mix and the large depot, it’s always better to err on the side of safety and get those numbers back up ASAP.

Just my two cents. I’ll try to check on you guys later. :bighug:
Just got a +1 after all that and he's @ 97, so I'l check again by setting an alarm. So glad he decided to take action during the "day".
 
Back
Top