01/22 Mumf PMPS 274

MumfsFriend

Member Since 2021
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-18-mumf-pmps-381-dosing-help.258004/#post-2902251

Hello friends, I’m looking for some help regarding dosing. I posted a few days ago trying to figure out if I should try TR. haven’t come to a conclusion yet.

Mumf has been on SLGS. In the past two weeks, we’ve had two dose reductions because he went below 90. One of the reductions I’ve already walked back because it wasn’t working out. The second reduction seems to not be working out either. I haven’t held it for an entire week but he’s been in the low 300s to mid 200s all day. So I’m thinking I should go back to the last working dose. But that dose also sent him into low numbers.

I’m hesitant to go full TR because of various issues like anxiety (!), cost of those dang test strips, work schedule. I am however off work for a bit so I wouldn’t mind trying some modification, if it’s out there. Once I go back to work I won’t be home for most of the day until the PMPS. Is there some modified cross between TR and SLGS? Some type of custom dosing for scaredy-cats like me?

I’ll be happy to start posting daily numbers, I just need to finally get the hang of it. Early mornings are early lol.
Thank you :)
 
Right now you aren’t following either method which makes dosing advice difficult. You are currently testing enough for TR. How long will you be at home? You could give TR a try and see if you can get Mumfs regulated and then decide from there whether to stick with it or go back to SLGS when you go back to work. . If you do it would be wise to post daily and ask for advice before shooting if lower than you are comfortable shooting. Also ask for advice before increasing or decreasing. When there’s a bounce you need time for it to clear and then see if the dose is working after a reduction for example.
 
I guess I am kind of following my vet’s version of SLGS.. hence for instance the lower no shoot number.
For now I know I’ll be home until the beginning of February. If my foot doesn’t get better by then I will probably be home for another two weeks.

I’m just kind of terrified about the low numbers in TR. like when I see people shooting a full dose at a very low pressure number, I can’t even imagine. but I mean, I’ve learned to do a lot of things scared. I’ve had to start giving myself heparin injections with this foot injury, and you know, I was terrified of that and I did it scared and it works. ;)

if I decide to give TR a try, should I increase his dose tomorrow or should I wait a few more days to see what happens?

Right now you aren’t following either method which makes dosing advice difficult. You are currently testing enough for TR. How long will you be at home? You could give TR a try and see if you can get Mumfs regulated and then decide from there whether to stick with it or go back to SLGS when you go back to work. . If you do it would be wise to post daily and ask for advice before shooting if lower than you are comfortable shooting. Also ask for advice before increasing or decreasing. When there’s a bounce you need time for it to clear and then see if the dose is working after a reduction for example.
 
If you decide to do TR you can increase in the morning unless you see blue tonight. If you see blue you could stick with this another day to see if you see green. Shooting low on a dose isn’t any different with a high or low dose if the cat is on the dose needed.
What is your vet’s no shoot number?
 
In the past my vet had me give 1.25 units above 150, below 150 she had me give one unit. Then she was kind of ambiguous about the point where you give half a unit or a token unit or none at all. Up to now the no shoot has been 120.
I make a lot of decisions myself because she’s not always available.

If you decide to do TR you can increase in the morning unless you see blue tonight. If you see blue you could stick with this another day to see if you see green. Shooting low on a dose isn’t any different with a high or low dose if the cat is on the dose needed.
What is your vet’s no shoot number?
 
Isn’t the Roomp&Rand protocol also TR-ish? Because my vet is familiar with that and many of the things that she has told me are in line with it. But other times she contradicts herself. It’s not easy Lol

If you decide to do TR you can increase in the morning unless you see blue tonight. If you see blue you could stick with this another day to see if you see green. Shooting low on a dose isn’t any different with a high or low dose if the cat is on the dose needed.
What is your vet’s no shoot number?
I
 
Isn’t the Roomp&Rand protocol also TR-ish? Because my vet is familiar with that and many of the things that she has told me are in line with it. But other times she contradicts herself. It’s not easy Lol


I
It is based upon R&R. SLGS was created here. We used to have a relaxed TR which is what I followed but it was discontinued.
 
It is based upon R&R. SLGS was created here. We used to have a relaxed TR which is what I followed but it was discontinued.

I can tell that there’s a lot I still need to learn, I need to read some more studies as well. Because what you said about being able to shoot at a low-dose when the dose is right for the cat, that just blew my mind. I had a completely different assumption there.

So I guess I should also take this time at home to do some more reading. I mean, I majored in some thing science-y so I can go ahead and read some studies I guess.
 
One thing to remember is FD is not always logical and cats react so differently to insulin than dogs or people. It’s frustrating but the good thing is cats can and do often go into remission. The sooner you can get them regulated the better the chance of remission which is why more cats in TR go into remission than on SLGS. It’s still possible with SLGS though.
 
OK, we’re gonna take this chance. If it’s too much and too scary for me I can always go back to what I’ve been doing. But it’s time for something new. My sugar cat deserves it. :)
Thank you so much, I’ll be posting daily numbers now!

One thing to remember is FD is not always logical and cats react so differently to insulin than dogs or people. It’s frustrating but the good thing is cats can and do often go into remission. The sooner you can get them regulated the better the chance of remission which is why more cats in TR go into remission than on SLGS. It’s still possible with SLGS though.
 
Good luck Jana with the decision of moving to TR, i really believe TR gives a much higher chance of regulation and remission :bighug::bighug: we will be rooting for you two :cat: the thing is that you get used to TR, it takes a lot of guts to shoot your first lower preshots but when you see that their cycles flatten out you will get used to and even addicted to it. Ask for advice here every time you are in doubt, the admins and the experienced people here are doing an amazing job at guiding and helping us keep our kitties safe :woot::woot:
 
Yay, thank you so much. I feel like I get so anxious that I just talk and talk and talk and really I just need to act. ;)

Good luck Jana with the decision of moving to TR, i really believe TR gives a much higher chance of regulation and remission :bighug::bighug: we will be rooting for you two :cat: the thing is that you get used to TR, it takes a lot of guts to shoot your first lower preshots but when you see that their cycles flatten out you will get used to and even addicted to it. Ask for advice here every time you are in doubt, the admins and the experienced people here are doing an amazing job at guiding and helping us keep our kitties safe :woot::woot:
 
OK, we’re gonna take this chance. If it’s too much and too scary for me I can always go back to what I’ve been doing. But it’s time for something new. My sugar cat deserves it. :)
Thank you so much, I’ll be posting daily numbers now!
You’re in good hands!!! I said the same thing when we started, if TR isn’t working for me, I’ll go back to SLGS… but we never went back!!

Good luck! Your best friend with TR is the forum, HC/MC food and syrup (just incase). With testing, you can control low numbers, remember that. It took me Gus getting a 31 to see that. Greens might be scary at first, but you will start to crave them :D
 
Thanks! You know, it’s funny, I just looked back over my spreadsheet and I realized that over the past few months I’ve actually been a lot more daring when it comes to shooting numbers that I hadn’t seen before. Then he went into low numbers, I couldn’t reach my vet and didn’t feel very supported by her so I got cautious.

You’re in good hands!!! I said the same thing when we started, if TR isn’t working for me, I’ll go back to SLGS… but we never went back!!

Good luck! Your best friend with TR is the forum, HC/MC food and syrup (just incase). With testing, you can control low numbers, remember that. It took me Gus getting a 31 to see that. Greens might be scary at first, but you will start to crave them :D
 
Thanks! You know, it’s funny, I just looked back over my spreadsheet and I realized that over the past few months I’ve actually been a lot more daring when it comes to shooting numbers that I hadn’t seen before. Then he went into low numbers, I couldn’t reach my vet and didn’t feel very supported by her so I got cautious.

See… you can do it :) I showed my vet the protocol and he supports it but I come here for my advice and guidance with TR :) While I love my vet and he’s very knowledgeable… and more of a ‘new school’ vet … he doesn’t live and breathe FD.. you’ll learn a ton here and might become more knowledgeable than your vet on FD ;)

My RTV (who works with my vet) is one of my oldest, bestest friends… her cat is also a diabetic and the other day she looked at me with these eyes and said how proud she was and that I probably know more about this disease than she does.. that made my day. Note that I’m still learning!!!
 
My vet is very knowledgeable too, and she runs a practice that only services cats. However, we can practically only work via telephone because my cat is so feisty, he will not let anyone else touch him. So if they were to draw blood, they would have to put him under for that to happen. So I can’t rely fully on my vet. I can only take him in for pressing matters, for instance when he had to have his FORL surgery. So I’m going to be making all the decisions and taking all the responsibility, that’s just how it is. But that’s probably how it’s always going to be with FD

See… you can do it :) I showed my vet the protocol and he supports it but I come here for my advice and guidance with TR :) While I love my vet and he’s very knowledgeable… and more of a ‘new school’ vet … he doesn’t live and breathe FD.. you’ll learn a ton here and might become more knowledgeable than your vet on FD ;)

My RTV (who works with my vet) is one of my oldest, bestest friends… her cat is also a diabetic and the other day she looked at me with these eyes and said how proud she was and that I probably know more about this disease than she does.. that made my day. Note that I’m still learning!!!
 
Back
Top