01/22/13 Chester AMPS 214 (!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB & Chester

Member Since 2012
I got nervous this morning. Chester tested at 214. I checked him again after about 15 minutes and he tested 226, so it's not a fluke. We haven't done anything different with his food yet (I will be switching to YAZC later this week). I know that's actually a really good number, but it's out of the norm for the 400-500s we normally see. I felt nervous about giving him his full dose, so I backed him back down to 1U to be safe. He's eating fine and seems as happy and healthy as ever.

Was that wrong?
How do you guys handle it when your cat gives you an oddball low number?
Since I backed him down, should I keep him at the lower dose for a day or two, then work back up?

My brain has been very busy lately and it's just worn out. I'd rather have Chester ride high a few more days than deal with a hypo cat on top of everything else. Is that wrong of me?
Thank you for your help and support.
 
You did fine what you did is what we affectionately refer to as a Big Chicken Shot. :lol: :lol:

Now you can do one of twwo things..1) stay at the 1u for a week or so and see if his numbers get better or at least level out. (which I probably would do especially if you are going to change his food to a lower carb one) or 2) go right back to where you were on the next shot.

As far as what I would do since I can only speak for myself..with Autumn I would have gone ahead and shot the full dose and just kept an eye on her. But with that said I also have months and months of data on her as well as I'm a stay at home wife and fur mom so I can keep an eye on her. Eventually you will want to get to a dose that you feel comfortable being able to shoot low to stay low. But there is absolutely nothing wrong if you can't be around (either physically or mentally) to monitor to reduce the dose on those days just to be on the safe side.

Remember better a few days high than a moment too low.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks. I'll probably keep him low for the next stretch of days while we switch the dry over to YAZC. Better safe than sorry. He shouldn't be eating much dry food anyways but I'm sure he's munchin' at midnight...That way, if there's a BG drop, we aren't completely caught out with too high a dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top