? 01/21 Mowgli AMPS 512 +3 482 +6 338 +9 405 PMPS 425 +3 426

Jaime & Mowgli

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone. My name is Jaime and this is my first post since joining. Thank you all in advance!

My mother and sister are the main caretakers of Mowgli ever since I moved out of the family home, but I have always been responsible for Mowgli's diet and health choices considering I used to work at a pet store and was more knowledgeable. As a result, I will be the one trying to guide them in their management of his diabetes.

Anyway, we are a couple weeks into his treatment following TR. I'd like it if someone could verify if we are on the right track.

My thought was to bump his dose up tomorrow morning. Would you agree? If so, would you suggest 2.25 units or 2.5 units?
 
Hi Jamie! Welcome:bighug::bighug::bighug:! You are in the best place to help Mowgli and it looks like you are already doing an excellent job :bighug:

Let's see if I can ask some questions to help gather info and I'll tag some more experienced folks :)

Do you know the circumstances for his diabetes diagnosis?

Looks like he has pancreatitis - is he on any meds?

Perhaps @tiffmaxee or @Wendy&Neko can stop by to peek at your SS and read Mowgli's history.
 
Welcome to you and Mowgli. Pancreatitis likely led to diabetes. It will also keep the bg up until you find the best way to treat it. Max had chronic pancreatitis for a few years before he became diabetic. I’m pretty sure he had it before he was diagnosed. How are you treating it? For Max inappetence was the first sign. I see Mowgli is still vomiting. What is he getting for nausea? Ondansetron was my drug of choice, a human drug. Cerenia is the other one used for vomiting. What are his other symptoms? Are you giving any pain medication? Small meals fed often is important for pancreatitis. If they eat too much at one time they feel sick and nauseous.

I would increase his insulin tomorrow morning . With nadirs over 300 we often increase by .50 . Is it possible to set an alarm tonight for +6-7 to see if the nadir is under 300. Many cats drop lower at night so getting tests at various times helps give the full picture. On the night of 1/14 an extra test might have shown that he went lower.

Here’s a link to lots of information on pancreatitis.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.83108/
 
Thank you for your responses!

Mowgli was diagnosed after we noticed he was drinking more water than usual and was very ravenous about food (normally he has eaten his food slowly and even left some for later). He has always been on a raw diet (11 yrs), yet got obese over the last year and that's when his symptoms started showing up. I suspect that my mother's household got lackadaisical with allowing Mowgli to get into food that he shouldn't have for too long (he's got a knack for stealing all kinds of human food off the table). I suspect that is the root cause of all of this. I have since communicated this to the household and no more food will be left out moving forward.

Since starting this journey we have transitioned to feeding him very small meals throughout the day to curb his appetite.

As far as his vomiting goes, I am told that it is pretty infrequent and usually follows a bout of constipation. Is the constipation a symptom that should be treated?

Our vet diagnosed Mowgli with Pancreatitis but said that she didn't recommend treatment since he didn't exhibit many symptoms. I'm not sure if that's good advice. He still has great appetite fortunately.

We will try to get more tests done on the PM cycle moving forward to get a better picture of his numbers. We will probably up his dose on his PM shot today.

Thanks again!
 
Have a look at the primer for pancreatitis when you have time. Lots of good info. There is a blood test for it called the SpecFPL but only is done when symptoms are present. Also if you go to Lisa Pierson’s site she has a good formula for safe weight loss.
 
I just read the primer on pancreatitis and it was very informative. We will definitely keep an eye out for symptoms should they occur. The vet only tested for pancreatitis after the diabetes diagnosis and she suggested it just to get a complete picture and not because he was showing many symptoms. He is eating just fine and shows no sign of pain.

As far as his weight goes, he currently weighs 13.5 lbs and the vet says we should try to maintain him there. About a year ago he weighed about 16 lbs and through portion control we got his weight down to where it is today.

Are there any recommendations on managing his constipation?
 
Hello and welcome. Since you are following TR, you should be increasing every six cycles/three days, as long as you are seeing nadirs over 200. I agree with Elise that you could try a 0.5 unit increase, as you've only seen a under 300 once.

A tip on testing, we actually find it quite useful to mix up the times you test each day. We use the analogy of a jig saw puzzle, trying to fill in the gaps allows us to see more of the puzzle.
 
The site that Susanne gave you is great. I used Miralax which you will read about there. Adding extra water to the food and a teaspoon of canned pure pumpkin once or twice a day might help too.
 
Back
Top