01/20 Vyktor AMPS 263 +6 272 +11 299 PMPS 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Vyktor doing much better and has stopped with all the peeing. He went 4 times before lunch yesterday which was freaking me out a bit, I was wishing he could give his pees to Scruffy.

Running late for work, will come visiting later and once again thank you to everyone for their encouragment. I was going to say you have no idea how much it helps but really I guess you all do!

Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61460
 
Re: 01/20 Vyktor AMPS 263

Yep, we all understand how valuable the LL support is. :smile: We are going through the same thing with lots of peeing. :roll: Vyktor is definitely heading in the right direction!
Liz
 
Re: 01/20 Vyktor AMPS 263

hi serryn! yes, we all need the encouragement, don't we?! about your question in punkin's condo - the best i can suggest is that if you see better numbers on a new vial or pen, you know your lantus was gone. if the numbers continue as they were, the old lantus is probably still ok.

the last lantus we had that was bad, had a lot of tiny, tiny bubbles in the pen. not like a regular big bubble, but teeny ones. when they drew up into the syringe you couldn't get them to coalesce into a bigger bubble that could then be expressed out of the needle.

does that help?

and vyktor! time to stop the bouncing!
 
Oh dear think I did a partial fur shot tonight. I thought he was distracted enough not to pin him down as he had his head firmly planted in his food bowl but he twisted. I didn't smell the insulin but think I felt a bit of wet. I think he probably tore his skin a little with the twist too - serves him right!

I don't think he visited the blue floor today but the flat yellow had me excited anyway thinking this might indicate some action to come. Probably stuffed that idea if it was a fur shot but am pleased to find that I'm not stressing about it just a bit of a sigh and move on. I guess this indicates I'm starting to get into the swing of things a little better. I was thinking today that I've got to try to stop letting Vyktor's latest blood test dictate my mood. I've been taking the tests and then waiting that 5 seconds for the reading holding my breath and feeling like I'm waiting to hear whether I've won a prize that I desperately want. Good number and I'm happy, bad number and instant disappointment :roll:
 
I hear you on waiting for the test result and how it effects how you feel.

I have only give a couple fur shots, but always smelled the insulin when it happened. If you don't smell insulin, you probably got it all in.
You know not to shoot any more insulin, until the next shot is due, when you give a fur shot, right?
 
Serryn, I'm posting to your thread so you can access LBs SS. Click on Little Boy bottom left. I am not giving normal dose coz he's not eating enough for me to be comfortable shooting the normal dose. I will ask Vet to send the blood test for analysis tomorrow.

On the subject of your thread my vet said that there are a few layers under the skin and sometimes a shot can go into one of the layers that is slower to clear than other areas.
 
Serryn,

I added some columns to Weezer's SS that calculate the average of each cycle and for each day. Of course, that's not the data on which we would base dose changes, but it has really helped me with developing some perspective beyond the last test number.
 
i know what you mean about the cat's BG numbers making your day . . . must've been the first couple of months that every morning when i woke up i went to check and see if punkin was still alive. but here he is, 13 months later, still kicking! and eating everything in sight, of course! :lol:

my guess is that's why people call it a marathon, not a sprint. you can't sustain the emotional zingers of daily ups and downs without changing perspective on it. we do the best we can - and without us our cats wouldn't be alive. that makes me feel somewhat better.

hope you have a great day, serryn! scritches to vyktor! cat_pet_icon
 
Every time I see Vyktor's avatar picture, it reminds me of this...
Ann & Tess posted this awhile back...but I can just see Vyktor as the leader :-D

129113373983581210.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top