01/20: Harry update, AMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34237

So, Harry has gained weight to now be 13.5 pounds, which is good. His attitude has been...mean. Hubby has been out of town for the last week and will be until the 24th, which means I'm on my own for all of this. And with Harry giving me more scratches than I can almost count, whipping his head around every time I slightly pinch his fur for the insulin he bolts and runs and HISSES....SO much easier when he was thinner, making the skin fold easy to pick up and he didn't have a problem with it. But now, it seems like every time he needs his shot he gets very mad and spits....if he were a 2 yr. old, he'd be throwing up from being so upset. Poor Harry. I tempt him with treats, pets, BUT with me cat sitting another cat for these nest 10 days (2 times a day, couple houses over) he must smell him....and gets MORE upset. Haven't been doing the evening testing as I would like to, tried a few times but he either runs or swats and bites. Like usual.

It also seems that since I've dropped his dose to 1 unit his numbers haven't been as good as it was at 1.25 units.....should I bump it up then to the 1.25 twice a day? Considering this.

This last week has been a struggle. I am still thinking about giving Harry to my mom for the time we will be away, having her give him shots daily but no testing, and mayyybe doing the fructosamine test when we get back. But not sure yet. Money is still very tight, so hiring a kitty caretaker while we're gone is possibly out of my price range. (as sad as that sounds)...But I'm still thinking of options at this point, always happy to hear ideas on what I could do.

Funny stuff.....dealing with my cat who's really pissy, and then going over to the other cat (Fuzz's) house who's sweet, SUPER friendly, and happy to have any attention he can get. He's also cuter and doesn't bite. Why can't I have him instead?? Oh well. You can't trade your cats. Or, if you care about them why wouldn't you deal with it. (sigh)
 
chatcat24 said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34237

So, Harry has gained weight to now be 13.5 pounds, which is good. His attitude has been...mean. Hubby has been out of town for the last week and will be until the 24th, which means I'm on my own for all of this. And with Harry giving me more scratches than I can almost count, whipping his head around every time I slightly pinch his fur for the insulin he bolts and runs and HISSES....SO much easier when he was thinner, making the skin fold easy to pick up and he didn't have a problem with it. But now, it seems like every time he needs his shot he gets very mad and spits....if he were a 2 yr. old, he'd be throwing up from being so upset. Poor Harry. I tempt him with treats, pets, BUT with me cat sitting another cat for these nest 10 days (2 times a day, couple houses over) he must smell him....and gets MORE upset. Haven't been doing the evening testing as I would like to, tried a few times but he either runs or swats and bites. Like usual.

It also seems that since I've dropped his dose to 1 unit his numbers haven't been as good as it was at 1.25 units.....should I bump it up then to the 1.25 twice a day? Considering this.

This last week has been a struggle. I am still thinking about giving Harry to my mom for the time we will be away, having her give him shots daily but no testing, and mayyybe doing the fructosamine test when we get back. But not sure yet. Money is still very tight, so hiring a kitty caretaker while we're gone is possibly out of my price range. (as sad as that sounds)...But I'm still thinking of options at this point, always happy to hear ideas on what I could do.

Funny stuff.....dealing with my cat who's really pissy, and then going over to the other cat (Fuzz's) house who's sweet, SUPER friendly, and happy to have any attention he can get. He's also cuter and doesn't bite. Why can't I have him instead?? Oh well. You can't trade your cats. Or, if you care about them why wouldn't you deal with it. (sigh)
I'm glad Harry has gained some weight. That is a good sign, isn't it?
Have you tried shooting his insulin while he's busy eating his meal? I've heard a lot of people say that their cats don't even notice the shot, when they're focusing on eating their food.
I did not take a look at your spreadsheet yet, so will leave the dose advising up to others with more experience.
I think doing the fructosamine test might be a waste of your hard earned money, because it will only tell you what was in the past while you were gone, and what's over is over. Maybe, I'm wrong :roll: It's good that you are testing, and coming to this board for help. Keep asking questions, and we'll keep helping you and offering support. I'm glad you have your mom that can help you with the insulin while you're away. I don't know when you're leaving or for how long, but usually people reduce the dose a little while the cat is in someone else's care who doesn't test but only shoots.
Sending mellow, happy, affectionate, appreciative? vines :) to Harry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top