01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 PMPS 398

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 Do I give our regular dose?

If you have a question re. whether to shoot because you have a low pre-shot number, it's best to not feed. Otherwise, you will see a food spike and not know what the actual number you're shooting is.

If you stall, is your schedule flexible enough tomorrow to manage a late shot? Do you have extra strips and HC in the house in case you need them?

Please bookmark or keep Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shots handy.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 Do I give our regular dose?

Cheryl! Wow.. you have to be so happy :-D
This is exactly the progress you have been chasing! So excited for you! Looks like Sienne has addressed your question too. (((Whiskers)))
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 Do I give our regular dose?

Yes, I'm off tomorrow as well. I have lots of of strips. I don't have high carb food, but do have Karo syrup. She has finished eating about 10 minutes ago. Since she is above 100, as indicated in dealing with low pre-shots, do I go ahead and shoot.

Yes, I'm so excited, and I don't know what to do.

P.S. am still reading. Also have it bookmarked.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 Do I give our regular dose?

What was your last test and when was it? It could reflect a food spike. I don't want to have you shoot and have Whiskers' number tank.

Also, you can only move shot time 30 min. per day. How will that factor in for Wed?
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 Do I give our regular dose?

Our last test was the AMPS 111. It was 25 minutes ago. It is not a problem for tomorrow as I will be home.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 +.5 408 Do I give our regular do

Alright, I just did a +12.5 408. No shot yet. Could our AMPS been a fluke, a meter error. Or is this rise normal for no shot after food?

Do I go ahead and give her normal shot now? 1.75 units
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 +12.5 408 gave shot

I gave shot as I didn't feel we could wait any longer. Normal dose 1.7 5 units.

So discouraged and confused. Going to clean the pee and litter boxes, than calling vet.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 +12.5 408 gave shot

My guess is you had a wonky test at your usual AMPS. It happens. Sometimes there's not enough blood or too much blood or the stars are incorrectly aligned. Many times, if I get what I think is a weird number, I'll retest. In fact, it happened yesterday. Gabby was in the yellows, I tested and got a 40. I retested and got a yellow number.

Just an FYI - you shot at +12.5. That's your AMPS. You can move the shot time back earlier by 30 min. tonight to get back on schedule.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 111 +12.5 408 vet question?

Hi Sienna,

Ok, we will go back to our normal schedule tonight.

I'm glad to know wonky numbers can happen. Not so discouraged anymore.

What a ride. I was so excited to see a low number. We will keep trying.

Thank you.

P.S Whiskers is laying down next to me and purring loud. That is really nice.
Also the vet it out (probably for lunch) and will call me back. I want to ask about
kidney infections. I think this possible for Whiskers. I do not think it is idiopathic interstitial cystis, as the amount of urine she produces is a lot.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 vet question?

Just a little housekeeping...

The 408 should go in your AMPS spot on your SS. You can move the 111 to the PM +12 from last night or list it in the Comments section.

I think asking the vet about the possibility of a kidney infection is a good idea. Also, keep in mind that the Zymox may be elevating numbers.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 vet question?

Sienne is absolutely right.. I remember telling you that the Zymox did raise Baby's #s & to look at her SS when you received the RX, however compared to the other options this seemed like the best option for an eardrop/Diabetic kitty.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238

you and whiskers will get there, cheryl...
hang in! you've worked so very hard in such daunting circumstances...it'll show.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 The vet called.

The vet called. He said it is possible to have a kidney infection, but he really feels it is because she is not regulated. Spending so much time in the 300's, occasional 400's and rare 500's. He feels that is why she is urinating outside the box (or behavioral). I told him she had a biopsy (benign) last fall, and the hair has not grown back. Again because she is not regulated.

He asked how the Zymox HC was working on the ear infection. I told him we just started it Friday night, but that her ears did not look as gunky.

Mentioned trying a different insulin. I told him I had just gotten a new supply of Lantus, so we will stay with lantus.

So frustrating, I feel in my gut is something more, and will go to the U of M next week for a second opinion.

grumpy_cat I feel like a crazy cat lady.
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 The vet called.

If you're a crazy cat lady, you're in very good company. Frankly, you live with Whiskers. Trust your gut. The worst that can happen is that you're wrong and everything is fine. And if you're right and get the 2nd opinion, Whiskers will get the treatment he needs and you can tell your regular vet, "I told you so."
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 The vet called.

we may be crazy, but we care!! and there are so many folks here with great knowledge.

i agree you should trust your instincts...
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 The vet called.

me too - trust your instincts. sorry for the meter problem this morning. I hope you guys have a great evening!
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 The vet called.

Hi Chery,
I am glad you have an appointment at the U next week. I think you are doing a great job and the numbers are really coming down. I think you do need to trust your gut as the others have said....you do know best.

Pattie
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 The vet called.

Keep on truckin', Cheryl. It's a good idea to go to the vet at the Univ. We all may be crazy, but we love our kitties!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/17 Whiskers AMPS 408 +3 238 +5 214 The vet called.

I have been called a Crazy Cat lady all the way back to my early rescue days and of course now with breeding and showing that has not changed but thats OK its a label I can live with :mrgreen: good luck with getting the second opinion
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top