01/17 Eddie AMPS 353 +4.5 403 PMPS 304

0.25 unit increases do nothing at his size of dose, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already pretty good. 15.5 wasn't that great.

How are the dental plans coming along? Any thoughts on getting him on pulse antibiotics again?
 
0.25 unit increases do nothing at his size of dose, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already pretty good. 15.5 wasn't that great.


How are the dental plans coming along? Any thoughts on getting him on pulse antibiotics again?

This is quite challenging. You'll recall how folks were saying 16u is too much when I went to increase from 15u, which wasn't, as you point out, that great. Ok, so not to go to 16u I try 15.75u and now here we are.

As for dental, I cannot take Eddie to the coast until spring as we will not travel either the Connector or the Coquihalla. As for the pulse antibiotics, you'll recall that got clawed back when he ended up in emergency clinic last August, then he was on Clavaseptin and ended up again in emergency in November 2023, was put on Cerenia and Mirtazapine and finally Cabergoline. There are many variables and Eddie's responses are, of course, unique to him. I'm concerned that putting him back on antibiotics will result in dehydration, diarrhea and loss of appetite. As it stands, I will have to figure out how to get him a cardiology exam prior to any dental he might receive and of course, given what happened to Blue in regards anesthesia, I am terrified about Eddie.

Every once in a while my thoughts cycle around the I-don't-know-what-to-think to the well-this-is-interesting and it seems we're getting somewhere. I am having to stand down in expecting many things with the exception that I want him to live his best life and I guess now that means I'll go back to 16u and will see that it's too much or that the Cabergoline with 16u does something else unexpected.
 
No constipation or diarrhea? No change in food?
Do you think he’s fully emptying his bladder these days?

It probably wouldn’t hurt to grab a urine sample and check for a UTI. Even free-catch would be a start. Sometimes UTIs can sneak up without a lot of symptoms.

In recent weeks I think you’ve been reasonable and measured, as well as patient, and tried to limit introducing too many variables at one time. It can be head scratching for sure, but the data leads where it leads I guess. 16u was too much then, but things change and maybe it’ll work better for him now. (When I find that elusive Cat Acro Code Book, I’ll forward it your direction :confused: )
 
No constipation or diarrhea? No change in food?
Do you think he’s fully emptying his bladder these days?

It probably wouldn’t hurt to grab a urine sample and check for a UTI. Even free-catch would be a start. Sometimes UTIs can sneak up without a lot of symptoms.

In recent weeks I think you’ve been reasonable and measured, as well as patient, and tried to limit introducing too many variables at one time. It can be head scratching for sure, but the data leads where it leads I guess. 16u was too much then, but things change and maybe it’ll work better for him now. (When I find that elusive Cat Acro Code Book, I’ll forward it your direction :confused: )
Hi JL, pretty sure he's emptying his bladder. He has quite a fulsome stream in the kittybox but I'll see if I can do something about a test. His issue is that if I take him to the vet for even free-catch he will totally void in the carrier and then they have to keep him in clinic to get enough urine by cystocentesis.

Thanks for noticing my restraint. I've been trying to just keep a lid on over-concern. And, you're right, what happened a few weeks ago may no longer pertain. So, I've gone back to 16u. I realize that that may not signify in terms of high dose but I'm still trying to hold the fort.

I would love to lay my hands on that elusive Cat Acro Code Book! :cat::D
 
Good luck with 16 units this time. What was true about 16 units over 2 weeks ago might no longer be true now.
 
Back
Top