01/17 Eddie AMPS 299 +8 292 PMPS 394 +7.5 326

From yesterday:
the only reason I'm having questions is to do with Cabergoline being added to the mix. The effects are less predictable than pre-Cabergoline days.
I disagree, he wasn't that predictable before cabergoline and after SRT either. Cabergoline in the picture and working, generally doesn't mean having to increase to dose unless you've been too cautious and lowered the dose too much. You still dose based on the nadirs. If you are getting nadirs in the range you want, you leave the dose as is. And when the bounces happen, be patient and wait for the bounces to clear. They are temporary.
 
From yesterday:

I disagree, he wasn't that predictable before cabergoline and after SRT either. Cabergoline in the picture and working, generally doesn't mean having to increase to dose unless you've been too cautious and lowered the dose too much. You still dose based on the nadirs. If you are getting nadirs in the range you want, you leave the dose as is. And when the bounces happen, be patient and wait for the bounces to clear. They are temporary.
I appreciate that you disagree but even from the beginning everyone is reminding me to be alert to sudden changes as a result of Cabergoline. It's not so much as getting nadirs in the range I want. It's the unpredictability of the cycle. I mean look at January 5th. He went from PMPS 379 to 54 and 56 at PM +8.5! And, more recently, I think I may have lowered dose too much when we went from 19u to 17u
 
Last edited:
Sudden changes means sudden needs for less insulin, not increases. You've also got possible residual SRT changes still occurring.

Eddie's "unpredictability" isn't that bad. Neko was known to go from 400's down to earning a reduction and back up to 300 in a single cycle. And that's with a human meter where the 400's would be a lot more. And I've seen worse in cats.
 
Sudden changes means sudden needs for less insulin, not increases. You've also got possible residual SRT changes still occurring.

Eddie's "unpredictability" isn't that bad. Neko was known to go from 400's down to earning a reduction and back up to 300 in a single cycle. And that's with a human meter where the 400's would be a lot more. And I've seen worse in cats.

I wasn't saying the change meant more insulin but I was pointing out an occasion of unpredictability as a result of which, I took him down 2u. That's all I'm saying. I also get it about the SRT. At other times though, an increase has been appropriate. But really what I'm saying, given that ECID, I'm looking at Eddie and what is or might be happening with him, especially since Nov 17 when he started Cabergoline. If you look at those months you'll see he was going up and down from 18u to 16u to 14u and back up again and then down to where we are now. And, where that is might mean staying steady or an increase or, who knows, by tomorrow morning maybe another decrease.
 
And you changed shot locations. It's possible he was getting poor absorption of the insulin due to thickness where you were shooting him, and now that you are shooting someplace new, he's getting more of the insulin where it needs to be.
 
Back
Top