01/17 Blackie PMPS 158, +3 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87102&p=933056#p933056

Question: Given that dose increases are based on the nadirs, and not the PS #s, should I even consider giving her a 0.25u increase this evening, and just continue doing what I've been doing and reduce each 7 days? I've been working hard at keeping the kitchen floor clean to hopefully eradicate the contraband crumbs, and her mid cycles are still a bit up there, though. Her nadirs are excellent. I appreciate the advice, and thank you in advance.

WCR: Weight = 10.79 lbs. Considering raising her dose to 1.50u PMPS after I receive any input/advice. I know that I didn't give the fat a chance to do anything. I can't see those fat/skinny doses nearly as well as I can with the 0.25u. 0.25u, I see them better. The ptoential increase is due to my adding more food to her diet to help maintain her weight. I've learned this in the past... The more food I added, her PS #s started to go up. So... back up a bit we go in order to hopefully bring those #s down a bit, and then maybe I can get her back on track to begin reducing her doses again. Still working on diet controlling her. All I can do is keep trying, and working on it.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

No advice from this beginner, but hopefully someone with more knowledge will come along and answer your question. Hope you're doing well, Angela. Lovely pre-shot number and nice +3. Do you expect him to dip too much further to nadir?
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

Hi guys, I will leave the dosing advice to the experts. Nice drop today!!! I would say with that drop Blackie is telling you he doesn't want more juice,lol. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

I would stick with the f1.25 for now.
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

My trouble is I really can't see where the 1.25 fat is, so I'm not 100% sure if I'm giving 1.25 fat, or 1.25u. Hence my question to raise her dose to 1.50, or keep it at 1.25 for a bit longer. I know if I raise it, her nadir may or may not drop any further. I've got 5.5 hours before her next shot (it's currently 12:30 p.m. my time, which is CST).
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

Have you tried counting drops? Draw up the 1.5 u and count how many drops until you get to 1.25u. When you draw her dose, draw 1.5 u and squeeze out one less drop than you counted to 1.25. That will give you fat dose. Just be consistent in the drop size. Do you have a good magnifier? I like the visor w/ extra loupe.
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

I just practiced with using water, and tried to get the drops to be as close to the tip of the needle as possible in size. It resulted in 6 drops from 1.50 to 1.25. I'll keep her on 1.25f, and see what she does after 6 cycles. Thanks, Ann. I appreciate it. :smile:
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie AMPS 171, +3 68

Good luck with whatever you decide on the dose. I hope you can bring Blackie's pre-shot numbers down. She's looking good today.
 
Re: Question: 01/17 Blackie PMPS 158

PMPS 158, 1.25u, 0.85 oz. Evo 95% C&T

Turns out, I'm fat/skinny challenged. I tried to remember to make the drops consistent only to result in inconsistent drops, and back down to 1.25u. I ended up making them too small, and counted way too many. I'm frustrated as all get out right now, and will leave her at 1.25u, and go up to 1.50u Saturday morning. At least I can see the lines. I even use my extremely old pair of reading glasses with Mag-Eyes, and I've got the 2.75(?) lens for them for this instance (plus a weaker lens for cross stitching along with my reading glasses). She doesn't respond well with fats/skinnys anyway, which is probably a good thing.
 
Re: 01/17 Blackie PMPS 158

Hi Angela,

Sounds like you are ready to learn to use the calipers! Here is Marje's illustration: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&hilit=calipers

When you get your dose to what you know is correct, measure it with the calipers. Then lock the calipers in place and read the number. It takes some practice, but it works. Once you have your calipers set for your dose, you leave them locked and you don't have to re-set them until you change your dose. With the Terumo syringe, I calculate that 1 drop = .11 mm on the digital calipers. (So you can easily re-set the calipers when you have to go up or down a drop in dose.) But your drops may be larger or smaller than mine, and you may be using a different syringe, so you might have to do some experimenting to determine how big your drops are when measured on the calipers. In any event, with the calipers you can get the dose closer than you can by eyeballing. We use the 4-inch digital calipers sold by Harbor Freight:
http://www.harborfreight.com/4-inch-digital-caliper-47256.html

Good luck! enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top