01/15 Sam Siam pmps 79

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

look at Sam go!

I looked back over your last couple of condos. Have you tried low carb food to see if that will slow the drops?
For most cats once they get down to small doses, low carb is enough to put on the brakes (it doesn't take a lot of carbs to overcome so little insulin). What I would do is to see if you can slow/stop those drops with LC food. When he is dropping at +2, feed a couple of tsp of low carb and test in 30 minutes to see what happened. If he's still dropping, you can always increase the carbs. If he keeps dropping to below 50, then give him the reduction he earned. If you're having to keep feeding high carb and karo to keep him up, then his insulin dose is probably too high.

While we do usually want to keep cats on insulin as long as possible, we do have to give reductions when they are needed. If you have one of those cats that doesn't hold reductions well, that is when you have to start getting creative with carbs. So far Sam has been holding his reductions just fine, though. He is a newly diagnosed cat, so as long as he is doing well then it is ok to let him move down the dosing scale. If his progress stalls, then we look for a new plan.
 
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

:lol: :lol: :lol:

In the NW, we all laugh about "white-knuckle week"
when everybody who has ever driven in snow suddenly FORGETS HOW!

and HOORAY for Libby's advice...
GO, SAM...GO!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

Thanks Libby for such detailed advice! I have been trying to get on a better schedule of feeding Sam in the mornings. I give him his regular lc food at shot time, a little more at +1 & +2. Haven't made it to +3 yet (except today) as I'm usually at work. This morning I decided to sorta let him ride it out to see what would happen. I did put a couple drops of honey in his am food. Didn't get a +1 cause, well, "snow day, sleep in day"! ;-) When I checked him at +2, even though he was in the 50s I decided to let him go with just a bit of his regular food. At +3 he was still in the 50's but he rode it out ok without any more hc stuff. I will try him tomorrow on just his regular lc food as you suggested. I'm definitely looking into an automatic feeder. Especially if he actually gets OTJ it will help to keep him regular.

I don't want to reduce him too quickly, but it's been a bit of a job worrying each morning about a low bg. As Marjorie pointed out (and I had never thought of this before), it's good to reduce slow so as to help his little pancreas heal. Everybody has a bit different opinion so I get a bit confused as to how quickly to reduce. I am planning on reducing to .25 & then to .1, giving him 5-7 days on each. What do you think about that? Should I go the full 7 days with each just to be sure?

Again, thanks for everything everyone. Sam is doing amazing because of you!!

And Celi, that's why I'm staying home today...love the "white knuckle week" saying! So true!! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

If you have trouble tracking down an automatic feeder, you can also freeze food into "catsickles." You mix LC food with water so it's soupy. You then can freeze it in ice cube trays. Obviously, if you get a feeder, you can also put the catsickles in there if you want.

I like Libby's suggestion. I would try to hold off on adding any HC/honey/Karo at pre-shot. The ideal Lantus curve is pretty flat. And, Celi's right -- it can be a bit nerve wracking but give it a try without the carbs. If you need to bump up the numbers you can but you also may want to let Sam get the reduction. If he doesn't drop below 50, then you can wait a week before reducing.
 
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

I would give him 7 days on each dose as long as he is surfing in the 50s, at least. Whenever he drops below 50, reduce, even if it hasn't been 7 days yet. Make sense?

The thing that made me comfortable when Lucy got to this point was knowing that she could control her own curves with low carb food. I always left out low carb when I went to work, and because I knew the low carb was good enough to keep her numbers safe, I knew I could leave and she would be ok.
 
Re: 01/15 Sam Siam amps 106

Very reassuring! It was good to see it for myself as well this morning that he can surf right through on his own. I won't give him any hc stuff tomorrow & see if he stays the same. It feels better knowing he will take care of it himself. I think I will try the catsickles too! Great idea since when I put down extra food to last and make it soupy, he just slurps it up right then! Just hope he doesn't use the catsickles as hockey pucks! Gotta luv these kitties. Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top