01/15 Buddy: 156 Is this a red flag? PM + 3 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

sulile

Member Since 2012
Can someone take a look at Buddy's spreadsheet. His number keeps going down which is unusual. I just increase his dose from 2.0 to 2.25 with his 7:30 PM dose today. He has gone from a high of 438 this morning to 140 now. I'm worried he will crash again....this is so scary. I can't believe that the 2.25 Units I gave him 2 hours ago has caused this decrease. It doesn't usually start working that fast does it? Trying to get him to eat now.

Susan
 
Re: 01/15 Buddy: Is this a red flag?

This kind of drop is possible.

Definitely feed Buddy now. Re-test in an hour. Just in case you should need it, do you have high carb food and a stock of strips if you need to be monitoring and steering the curve?
 
Re: 01/15 Buddy: Is this a red flag?

I wanted to post a reply but I also wanted to provide a bit of explanation.

The drop from the 400s is entirely possible. My kitty has dropped from the 400s to the 40s in one cycle and bounced back to the 400s by the next shot. There was information on Buddy's SS that can help you to have an idea of what's going on. If you look at your AM +10 to your PMPS, while it's not a big drop, the numbers were coming down. You did great by getting a PM +2. Again, you're seeing a drop that's just a bit more than meter variance -- not big, but enough of a drop that I'd pay attention. These are not dangerous numbers by any means. I know you're nervous, though. I'll be stopping back to see how you and Buddy are doing. I'll make sure other people are around if you need a hand.

It will help if you edit your subject line to keep Buddy's numbers visible on the board. That will help us to keep track of what's going on this evening.
 
Re: 01/15 Buddy: 156 Is this a red flag? PM + 3= 156

Thanks so much for your support and encouragement. I just retested at PM +3 and he's gone back up a bit to 156.

When do you start getting the smooth, flat curves that I keep reading about with Lantus?
Surely going from 438 at AMPS to 140 is not what I was hoping for.
Isn't the ideal to be somewhere between 80 and 150 all of the time?

I guess I worry so much because Buddy had a hypo episode in November where he had gone down to 20. He was on Humulin then and the vet never figured out why it happend. He had been well controlled on the Humulin for a couple of years.

Susan
 
There's no real answer to your question. A lot depends on the cat and they are notorious for not reading the rule book (and if they do happen to read the book, they tend to want to prove it's wrong).

Tight regulation is keeping your cat in the normal BG range (50 - 120). It is what we aim for. Not all cats get there but many do.

I know you're apprehensive. I can tell you that Gabby has thrown me a number in the 20s but she's been completely asymptomatic. We really do believe in monitoring so if numbers are dropping, between your glucometer and high carb food, you have control over the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top