01/15/2011 Chipie AMPS 484

Status
Not open for further replies.
Could someone please give me some advice on Chirpie's insulin...the numbers are so high, and not coming down at all...Please advise!
 
Better than those 600's Susan. Understand your concern, those numbers need to come down soon.

All these view's and no "experienced" lantus adviser to give Susan some guidance/advice/ questions?

Hang in there
 
Bump.

Chirpie is eating Sophisticat...Entree, very low in carbs, and good in protein, and Sophisticat Chicken and Egg, low in carbs and high in protein, and BG 96% Chicken, and 96% Tuna, both very low in Carbs and high in protein. All these foods are under 5 grams of carbs. These were recommended to me, and are on Binkys list.
 
Susan --

I'm presuming you gave a shot this morning -- there's no dose in the AMPS column.

Based on the protocol, I'd suggest you increase Chirpie's dose by 0.5u.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
well, that sounds like a good idea..
maybe print out's of the protocol and the other stickie's that will come in handy.

but anyway, whatever you decide, and what ever your schedule, hopefully you will be able to monitor as you have been.
don't forget your evening checks.
hang in there Susan, it does get easier.
 
Thank you everyone...I will take your advice...this is the most stressful thing I have ever done. I am doing a +3 and +6 tonight. Yes, I did shoot this morning, and yes she is on 2 units of Lantus. All she is doing is sleeping, all the time. Not active at all today. I just don't understand allot of this..it is so confuing to me. I just know how horrible she is feeling. Thank you. Susan
 
Are there questions we can answer? There's a huge volume of information to absorb at the beginning. Frankly, it's overwhelming. If there's anyway we can help you to grasp the concepts, please let us know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top