01/14 Sputnik PMPS Off Scale High +2/572 - Dosing Help

Sputnik & Jill & Darwin

Member Since 2023
Hi Folks, we were advised in our last post to keep Sputnik's dose at 1.5U, but we're seeing very high or off scale high at the AMPS and PMPS much of the time. We've had a couple mid-day results in the 100-199 range, but mostly he's considerably higher than that.

Should we be going up to 1.75U?

Thanks!
 
He seems to be diving and then bouncing from that sharp drop. Does he get small meals in the first part of the cycle? Food can help slow the drop in numbers which in turn can reduce bouncing.
Bouncing can be caused not just by him dropping to numbers that his body is not used to, but also by sharp drops in his BG.
 
He has access to Fancy Feast pate and eats throughout the day, other than 2hrs before the AM and PM shots.
He has access to the food, but he eats most of it all at once right after the shots. I'll try holding back food and spacing it out. He's just so hungry by the time the shots are given, it's hard to hold back food. He's so skinny! But if it helps regulate the sugar levels, then it is worth it.
 
We dose based on how low the dose is taking the kitty. When following SLGS, you want the nadirs, or low points, to be in the 90-149 range, which he seems to be hitting. The high numbers are just bounces from the insulin finally getting him into better numbers than he's used to. It's also possible there's a fast drop happening, which can also cause a bounce. As he sees more and more of those better numbers, the bouncing will settle down.

Good luck with the food experiments. If you don't have an autofeeder to space meals out (highly recommended), then try taking some of his meal allotment, adding some water, and freezing them into catfoodsicles. Leave one of those out and it'll force him to wait until later in the cycle to eat.
 
Back
Top